Why is advice here counter to what the vet is saying?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bruce Blount

Member Since 2024
My vet has taken blood, and has prescribed a certain dose of insulin. He has not mentioned daily BG testing. Why is the advice I get here counter to what he says? No disrespect intended - (I am just confused), who should I trust?
 
Hello and welcome! Home testing is the only way to know for sure how low the dose of insulin is taking your cat (therefore avoiding hypoglycemia.) I suppose if the vet prescribes a dose of insulin that is too low and is still keeping the cat in blood glucose numbers that quite a bit higher than what is normal/healthy then your risk of a hypo event would be reduced. But again, how would you even know this if you don’t test your cat? In between vet curves, anything could happen. Cats’ insulin need do not always stay static- they can change frequently in many cats. That’s why we follow tested protocols here that specify when to safely increase and when to safely decrease the insulin doses. It is also why we use spreadsheets to track the blood glucose (BG) — we can see how low (nadir) the dose takes the cat during a 12 hour cycle. We can make adjustments based on that information. I also help a lot of ProZinc users over on the ProZinc forum. You should look around over on that forum and acquaint yourself with the dosing methods, etc. I also would be happy to help you with dosing if you wish to get up to speed on testing and start a spreadsheet. I definitely would caution you to not change his diet until you are home testing or using a Libre sensor because Wicked will need less insulin when you transition to low carb (less than ten percent carbs) food. What was his Fructosamine number at diagnosis? What other BG information do you have? Has the vet run a curve and what were the results of that curve? One problem with vet curves is that you are only basing dosing decisions on a single day’s information. Stress from being at the vet can significantly raise the cat’s BG so deciding upon a dose based on those vet-acquired numbers could lead to an overdose. In addition, the cat could be bouncing at the time the numbers are taken. Bouncing just means that the cat’s BG would be high for a time — up to 3 days— due to the release of stored forms of sugar from the liver and the release of other hormones that work to increase BG. This phenomenon occurs in response to lower BG numbers than the cat is now (being diabetic) used to. It also can occur due to rapid drops in BG due to insulin.

There are also some particulars about ProZinc dosing and when you may need to shoot a reduced dose of insulin based upon the cat’s preshot BG test. With home testing, we test before every insulin shot in order to ensure that it is even safe to administer the dose.

It is fine to ask questions! There are people here to help.
 
I would encourage you to review these guidelines from the American Animal Hospital Association on the treatment of diabetes. These guidelines largely support the information we provide. This board has been in place for over 25 years. We do our best to stay current with information about feline diabetes. Given the number of people who subscribe to this board, there is usually someone who raises a really good question that gets many of us researching. Several members have access to medical and veterinary libraries at major academic medical centers/universities. The vets who are in private practice may not have that resource accessible to them. The members here are a cross section of professionals -- there are MDs, vets, vet techs, scientists, nurses, and a lot of curious people who read and do research to learn more about feline diabetes. It is an incredible community of people who ask questions and provide feedback. It's more than what one vet can do.

Vets can have an impossible job. They are expected to know everything about every illness in any species whose caregiver walks in the door. I would have no idea how a vet with a multi-specialty practice stays current. Trying to get the required continuing education credits may mean that a vet hasn't been attentive to a "common" problem like diabetes for years. A good example is that many vets in the US are still prescribing Vetsulin. It's not been endorsed since 2018. In contrast, we're all about feline diabetes all the time.

Many vets don't tell people about the importance of home testing. Usually, their rationale is that "your cat will hate you." If you were to take a poll of members here, you would not find that to be the case. To be honest, if a vet told someone to not test their cat at home and the cat became severely hypoglycemic and died, I would hold the vet responsible. There is enough information published in vet journal dating many years back that supports home testing. Just as a comparison, could you imagine a pediatrician telling parents to not test a diabetic child? Human diabetics routinely test their blood glucose levels. The reasoning is the same -- you need to know if those levels are too high or too low and make adjustments to the insulin dose. There are any number of vets who take the position that they are the only people who can adjust an insulin dose and it's, "my way or the highway." It's not what happens with humans -- people adjust their insulin doses all the time. (Just a personal example... I made a major move along with my diabetic cat. When I relocated, I found a vet who had a specialty cat practice. She took one look at my spreadsheet and stated that there was no need for her to adjust Gabby's insulin dosing. I was doing a fine job with diabetes management.)

The other issue is that insulin needs change. A cat has a distinct advantage compared to a human. Cats can go into remission. If your cat's pancreas is healing and you are not tapering back the insulin dose, there is a very high likelihood that you will overdose your cat. Home testing is the best and the only way to know if your cat is in safe numbers. In my opinion, you run an unnecessary risk to your cat's wellbeing if you are not testing.

I don't know if your vet is up to date with contemporary thinking about managing feline diabetes. At a cynical level, having caregivers bring their cat to the vet's office for a curve on a routine basis is expensive. It's a way for vets to make money. Telling caregivers that feeding a prescription diabetic diet that they can only purchase at the vet's office is also a way to make money -- it's also wildly inaccurate in that there is nothing requiring a "prescription" in a prescription diabetes diet (and in fact, the carbohydrates in many of the dry foods are outrageously high) and there was a class action law suit that the pet food manufacturers lost. Vets need to make a living. But, there are things that any of us can do at home to keep our cats safe and healthy. Part of what a vet provides should also be education. It frustrates me to no end that people walk out of an appointment with their vet without any knowledge about how to manage their cat's diabetes.
 
I think another big reason the advice here doesn’t always align with your vet is that vets have to struggle just to convince a patient to give insulin shots in the first place. I would say the people who end up on this forum are the extraordinarily dedicated pet parents. Many people would be unwilling to do home-testing and would struggle to even maintain a consistent 2-shot a day schedule (my experience is with Lantus). I believe most vets view it as a win just to get someone to consistently give insulin shots. For my Bell, the vet initially wanted me to give a single shot a day, which doesn’t make sense for the insulin I was using. When I pushed to do 2 shots a day, they were more than fine with it. I think they’ve come to understand I am a client who they don’t have to worry about convincing to give treatment to a diabetic cat, and that has helped establish a trust in how I manage Bell’s diabetes, even if it isn’t the norm for them.

I can speak personally that the people on this message board have been right every step of the way with Bell. If you take a look at most cats’ spreadsheets here, you’ll see that their insulin needs and blood glucose numbers can change pretty significantly. There are days where Bell’s BG can be low (50s and 60s) and the very next day be up in the 300s and 400s. If the vet relies on a single curve to determine dosage, they could be way off, depending on the day.

I would also echo what Sienne has mentioned that vets have an impossible job. Just because your vet’s advice may be, frankly, wrong in certain cases, does not mean they are a bad vet. A lot of vets only have a day or two training in school on feline diabetes. They may only see a handful of diabetic cats a year. Unfortunately, home testing is not the standard advice from vets. I really wish they would at the very least provide it as an option to clients…
 
I would encourage you to review these guidelines from the American Animal Hospital Association on the treatment of diabetes. These guidelines largely support the information we provide. This board has been in place for over 25 years. We do our best to stay current with information about feline diabetes. Given the number of people who subscribe to this board, there is usually someone who raises a really good question that gets many of us researching. Several members have access to medical and veterinary libraries at major academic medical centers/universities. The vets who are in private practice may not have that resource accessible to them. The members here are a cross section of professionals -- there are MDs, vets, vet techs, scientists, nurses, and a lot of curious people who read and do research to learn more about feline diabetes. It is an incredible community of people who ask questions and provide feedback. It's more than what one vet can do.

Vets can have an impossible job. They are expected to know everything about every illness in any species whose caregiver walks in the door. I would have no idea how a vet with a multi-specialty practice stays current. Trying to get the required continuing education credits may mean that a vet hasn't been attentive to a "common" problem like diabetes for years. A good example is that many vets in the US are still prescribing Vetsulin. It's not been endorsed since 2018. In contrast, we're all about feline diabetes all the time.

Many vets don't tell people about the importance of home testing. Usually, their rationale is that "your cat will hate you." If you were to take a poll of members here, you would not find that to be the case. To be honest, if a vet told someone to not test their cat at home and the cat became severely hypoglycemic and died, I would hold the vet responsible. There is enough information published in vet journal dating many years back that supports home testing. Just as a comparison, could you imagine a pediatrician telling parents to not test a diabetic child? Human diabetics routinely test their blood glucose levels. The reasoning is the same -- you need to know if those levels are too high or too low and make adjustments to the insulin dose. There are any number of vets who take the position that they are the only people who can adjust an insulin dose and it's, "my way or the highway." It's not what happens with humans -- people adjust their insulin doses all the time. (Just a personal example... I made a major move along with my diabetic cat. When I relocated, I found a vet who had a specialty cat practice. She took one look at my spreadsheet and stated that there was no need for her to adjust Gabby's insulin dosing. I was doing a fine job with diabetes management.)

The other issue is that insulin needs change. A cat has a distinct advantage compared to a human. Cats can go into remission. If your cat's pancreas is healing and you are not tapering back the insulin dose, there is a very high likelihood that you will overdose your cat. Home testing is the best and the only way to know if your cat is in safe numbers. In my opinion, you run an unnecessary risk to your cat's wellbeing if you are not testing.

I don't know if your vet is up to date with contemporary thinking about managing feline diabetes. At a cynical level, having caregivers bring their cat to the vet's office for a curve on a routine basis is expensive. It's a way for vets to make money. Telling caregivers that feeding a prescription diabetic diet that they can only purchase at the vet's office is also a way to make money -- it's also wildly inaccurate in that there is nothing requiring a "prescription" in a prescription diabetes diet (and in fact, the carbohydrates in many of the dry foods are outrageously high) and there was a class action law suit that the pet food manufacturers lost. Vets need to make a living. But, there are things that any of us can do at home to keep our cats safe and healthy. Part of what a vet provides should also be education. It frustrates me to no end that people walk out of an appointment with their vet without any knowledge about how to manage their cat's diabetes.

I just love everything that was explained here, if I would have not home tested my Corky from the beginning of his diagnose, Corky would have died!, I trust this Forum blindly, and I mean blindly, for advice, dose increases and reductions, feeding instructions, everything, there are so many members here knowledgeable and willing to assist at any time of day and night, with me as a witness, that I am extremely grateful, just seeing Corky's spreadsheet from the moment I followed directions on how to keep Corky safe, to this date, it speaks for itself.:bighug::cat::cat:
 
I think another big reason the advice here doesn’t always align with your vet is that vets have to struggle just to convince a patient to give insulin shots in the first place. I would say the people who end up on this forum are the extraordinarily dedicated pet parents. Many people would be unwilling to do home-testing and would struggle to even maintain a consistent 2-shot a day schedule (my experience is with Lantus). I believe most vets view it as a win just to get someone to consistently give insulin shots. For my Bell, the vet initially wanted me to give a single shot a day, which doesn’t make sense for the insulin I was using. When I pushed to do 2 shots a day, they were more than fine with it. I think they’ve come to understand I am a client who they don’t have to worry about convincing to give treatment to a diabetic cat, and that has helped establish a trust in how I manage Bell’s diabetes, even if it isn’t the norm for them.

I can speak personally that the people on this message board have been right every step of the way with Bell. If you take a look at most cats’ spreadsheets here, you’ll see that their insulin needs and blood glucose numbers can change pretty significantly. There are days where Bell’s BG can be low (50s and 60s) and the very next day be up in the 300s and 400s. If the vet relies on a single curve to determine dosage, they could be way off, depending on the day.

I would also echo what Sienne has mentioned that vets have an impossible job. Just because your vet’s advice may be, frankly, wrong in certain cases, does not mean they are a bad vet. A lot of vets only have a day or two training in school on feline diabetes. They may only see a handful of diabetic cats a year. Unfortunately, home testing is not the standard advice from vets. I really wish they would at the very least provide it as an option to clients…
Thank you for echoing my points about the problem of relying on curves done at the vet, it helps for people to take a look at the BG variability on your spreadsheet and that of others.

Actually, from what we have heard from vets here and those in vet school, it’s not days of training but only a few hours of talking about it — and it’s generally dog-related, which is not very applicable to cats.

You are right about vets having trouble convincing some clients to treat their cat’s diabetes. Many cats are surrendered when the diabetes is diagnosed. When my diabetic cat was also diagnosed with Acromegaly and I was inquiring about treatments, my vet said she’d never had a client who opted to treat. She should have known better since I had been a client there for 13 years! I always do everything possible for my cats.
 
I just love everything that was explained here, if I would have not home tested my Corky from the beginning of his diagnose, Corky would have died!, I trust this Forum blindly, and I mean blindly, for advice, dose increases and reductions, feeding instructions, everything, there are so many members here knowledgeable and willing to assist at any time of day and night, with me as a witness, that I am extremely grateful, just seeing Corky's spreadsheet from the moment I followed directions on how to keep Corky safe, to this date, it speaks for itself.:bighug::cat::cat:
Yes, Maria’s cat Corky is one of our ProZinc success stories. He is now very well-regulated and spends most of his time in normal, healthy blood glucose numbers. I have helped Maria with her dosing since just about the very beginning of her Corky’s diabetic journey. Others here have also been extremely helpful to her. You should take a look at Corky’s spreadsheet and see what’s possible. Maria deserves so much of the credit because we can only make suggestions here and explain things, she’s the one who has to implement them and do all the hard work of testing and feeding to keep Corky safe and help get him to a state of being well-regulated on ProZinc.
 
Yes, Maria’s cat Corky is one of our ProZinc success stories. He is now very well-regulated and spends most of his time in normal, healthy blood glucose numbers. I have helped Maria with her dosing since just about the very beginning of her Corky’s diabetic journey. Others here have also been extremely helpful to her. You should take a look at Corky’s spreadsheet and see what’s possible. Maria deserves so much of the credit because we can only make suggestions here and explain things, she’s the one who has to implement them and do all the hard work of testing and feeding to keep Corky safe and help get him to a state of being well-regulated on ProZinc.
Proud of my Corky And what these member in their dedication to this Forum have done for him and his health, something that my cats’s Vet did not:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Hello and welcome! Home testing is the only way to know for sure how low the dose of insulin is taking your cat (therefore avoiding hypoglycemia.) I suppose if the vet prescribes a dose of insulin that is too low and is still keeping the cat in blood glucose numbers that quite a bit higher than what is normal/healthy then your risk of a hypo event would be reduced. But again, how would you even know this if you don’t test your cat? In between vet curves, anything could happen. Cats’ insulin need do not always stay static- they can change frequently in many cats. That’s why we follow tested protocols here that specify when to safely increase and when to safely decrease the insulin doses. It is also why we use spreadsheets to track the blood glucose (BG) — we can see how low (nadir) the dose takes the cat during a 12 hour cycle. We can make adjustments based on that information. I also help a lot of ProZinc users over on the ProZinc forum. You should look around over on that forum and acquaint yourself with the dosing methods, etc. I also would be happy to help you with dosing if you wish to get up to speed on testing and start a spreadsheet. I definitely would caution you to not change his diet until you are home testing or using a Libre sensor because Wicked will need less insulin when you transition to low carb (less than ten percent carbs) food. What was his Fructosamine number at diagnosis? What other BG information do you have? Has the vet run a curve and what were the results of that curve? One problem with vet curves is that you are only basing dosing decisions on a single day’s information. Stress from being at the vet can significantly raise the cat’s BG so deciding upon a dose based on those vet-acquired numbers could lead to an overdose. In addition, the cat could be bouncing at the time the numbers are taken. Bouncing just means that the cat’s BG would be high for a time — up to 3 days— due to the release of stored forms of sugar from the liver and the release of other hormones that work to increase BG. This phenomenon occurs in response to lower BG numbers than the cat is now (being diabetic) used to. It also can occur due to rapid drops in BG due to insulin.

There are also some particulars about ProZinc dosing and when you may need to shoot a reduced dose of insulin based upon the cat’s preshot BG test. With home testing, we test before every insulin shot in order to ensure that it is even safe to administer the dose.

It is fine to ask questions! There are people here to help.
I understand what you are saying - I actually agree with what you wrote. Today, I was able to get a blood sample 5 hours after insulin - 170. So - here is my question. He ate only dry food for years - I am SLOWLY changing that over to wet food (no carbs). I give him 1 can of wet, ( 3 oz ) and 1/4 cup of dry.

Here is my question - being that his BG numbers are above the suggested target range of 80 - 120, Do you feel it is safe for me to switch to all wet food - and he not go low?
 
Corky was raised on MeauMix dry kibbles free feed since he was 8 weeks old he was diagnosed January 3, 2022
when he came home from 8 days of hospitalization, I was never told about low carb foods, he was not eating and I was force feeding him at home the same food liquified, I was told by the hospital Vet that the normal BG for a diabetic cat was between 200-300 ,:banghead::bookworm: I still listen to the recorded instructions, until I found this Forum is when I began to understand everything, it was so confusing and overwhelming at first, my nerves were a reck, sleepless nights, and everything that comes with a newbie. When I understood the need for low wet carb foods between 0-10%, I immediately transitioned, not knowing the danger it could cause, yet all cats are different, they all are a pandora's box, gladly, both cats were transitioned without any side effects, it is highly recommended to transition slowly, and you are doing that, try to take that 1/4 cup of dry away bit by bit, knowing that you should test after dosing every 1/2 hour to make sure the BG does not lower dangerously without you knowing, before you know it as you start seeing your Spreadsheet's numbers for the day you will start to see a pattern, and you will know you are doing the right thing.
I would freak out and leave my house if Corky's BG was 150 or less, especially on AMPS/PMPS, I would bombard posts after post wanting counseling, yet today I dose even on the 80's but it took a long long time to accept that the green number is where he should be, he's pancreas are healing, and emotionally so am I, I blindly take every suggestions from these knowledgeable members, and not once going on 3 years were they wrong, I read all the post of all members every day, I learn, take note, is a process to trust, but is a great one, I was told Take a step back, breath in and breath out, and I said, Trust.
:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
I understand what you are saying - I actually agree with what you wrote. Today, I was able to get a blood sample 5 hours after insulin - 170. So - here is my question. He ate only dry food for years - I am SLOWLY changing that over to wet food (no carbs). I give him 1 can of wet, ( 3 oz ) and 1/4 cup of dry.

Here is my question - being that his BG numbers are above the suggested target range of 80 - 120, Do you feel it is safe for me to switch to all wet food - and he not go low?
I would still follow the recommendation to make the food transition over about a one week period. Has it already been a week that you’ve been transitioning to the low carb wet food? I would like you to be able to get consistent tests (I mean that you feel comfortable and fairly confident in getting tests so that we can be sure he will be safe.) If you can get the two preshot tests and at least one mid-cycle test in that would be very good.

It is fantastic that you got a successful BG test! And a blue number too (the 170). That’s not bad. Congratulations! Now if you can get a spreadsheet set up you will really be able to see patterns and trends. It’s actually a very helpful tool. I remember when I looked at one of them at first and said … no way am I going to be able to deal with that! I was wrong. Of course, now I am looking at other people’s spreadsheets all the time in order to help them with their cats!
 
Last edited:
I would still follow the recommendation to make the food transition over about a one week period. Has it already been a week that you’ve been transitioning to the low carb wet food? I would like you to be able to get consistent tests (I mean that you feel comfortable and fairly confident in getting tests so that we can be sure he will be safe.) If you can get the two preshot tests and at least one mid-cycle test in that would be very good.

It is fantastic that you got a successful BG test! And a blue number too (the 170). That’s not bad. Congratulations! Now if you can get a spreadsheet set up you will really be able to see patterns and trends. It’s actually a very helpful tool. I remember when I looked at one of them at first and said … no way am I going to be able to deal with that! I was wrong. Of course, now I am looking at other people’s spreadsheets all the time in order to help them with their cats!

Here is the link to the Spreadsheet, if you need help let us know, and a link to create your signature so you can help us help you:bighug::bighug::cat::cat: You Got This!!;)

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
 
He already has a signature set up, but now hopefully a spreadsheet! :) we have people here who can set one up in a jiffy of you encounter any problems.
I already have the spreadsheet in place, I need to learn how to work it, or if I can find the where the link is.
Also, I looked online to find out how much to feed a 20 pound cat...it told me 6+ cans! (I currently feed him 1 can, plus 1/4 cup of dry food twice daily). so - is the 6 cans TOTAL? (he would get 3 cans twice daily?)
 
Hi Bruce, I’d check some other calorie calculators. For reference, I feed my 18 lb guy a little over 300 calories a day, which is 3 to 4 cans of FF pates at 90 calories each.
 
There is a formula for calculating calories on Dr. Lisa's website on feline nutrition. It's buried in the section discussing obesity and safe weight loss. The formula she uses is: Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70.

If you feel that Wicked is at a good weight, the formula would calculate out to 342 calories. Many of the low carb foods are lower in calories due to the lack of carbs. (Things like rice, potatoes, etc. act as fillers and bump up both the carbs and the calories.)
 
I already have the spreadsheet in place, I need to learn how to work it, or if I can find the where the link is.
Also, I looked online to find out how much to feed a 20 pound cat...it told me 6+ cans! (I currently feed him 1 can, plus 1/4 cup of dry food twice daily). so - is the 6 cans TOTAL? (he would get 3 cans twice daily?)
Wow. Six cans! Too much food -unless they’re very tiny cans! Is he overweight or is he just large. Has your vet given you an ideal weight for him?
 
Wow. Six cans! Too much food -unless they’re very tiny cans! Is he overweight or is he just large. Has your vet given you an ideal weight for him?

if you go to Corky's SS at the end of each day you will find remarks, there I place data of all he eats during the day, he eats Fancy Feast Pate 3oz cans and he eats 1/2 can for each meal, that would be AMPS/PMPS and the meals for 12:00PM and 10PM (1/2 can) also a snack @ +2 of 1% ham, Corky is a very large cat, he is in an ideal weight of 16.5lbs, and still I weigh him every month (I became obsessed when diagnosed and had lost 8.5 lbs in less then two months) and he weight 17.01lbs on Dec 28, I also weigh my other cat as well, better be safe then sorry. Just food for thought below is the link of a food calculator I use often:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
Cat Food Nutrition Calculator | Elizabeth C Scheyder
 
I already have the spreadsheet in place, I need to learn how to work it, or if I can find the where the link is.
Also, I looked online to find out how much to feed a 20 pound cat...it told me 6+ cans! (I currently feed him 1 can, plus 1/4 cup of dry food twice daily). so - is the 6 cans TOTAL? (he would get 3 cans twice daily?)
Bruce congratulations on getting a blood test done!

to fill out the spread sheet start at the left side. The first column is the date. Next is “AMPS”—AM PreShot. This is the test result you got in the morning before he eats and before his shot. The next column, the blue one, you type the number of units you gave. The next 11 columns are hours after the shot.

+1 is a result tested one hour after the shot. +2 is two hours after and so on. You don’t need to test every hour. Just the times @Suzanne & Darcy recommends. Some people have all the squares filled—they usually have a continuous monitor on their cat so aren’t pricking an ear but just getting the results from the monitor onto their phone. You don’t need to test that much.
Sometimes people without monitors have several tests in a row. That is usually because their cat had lower numbers so they were keeping a close eye on them. On everyone’s signature there’s a blue link to their cat’s spread sheet. You can click on it to see examples of how sheets are filled out.
If you type a blood glucose number into the spreadsheet it will turn the square a color that corresponds to that number’s group. For example 170 would turn blue as 100-199 is blue. If you don’t test right at an hour or 2 etc after the shot you can write the time as a fraction (you may see people writing 170@ +2.5 which would be the result of 170 taken 2 and 1/2 hours after a shot). Don’t worry about that for right now.
Then the next column is PMPS (PM pre shot) and eleven more columns for those hours after the shot. I’ll attach a picture of part of my spread sheet but you can click on anyone’s to see theirs. Once you start filling yours in you will get the idea but please ask questions.
Good luck to you and Wicked
upload_2024-12-29_16-22-38.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-12-29_16-22-38.png
    upload_2024-12-29_16-22-38.png
    101.6 KB · Views: 195
Bruce congratulations on getting a blood test done!

to fill out the spread sheet start at the left side. The first column is the date. Next is “AMPS”—AM PreShot. This is the test result you got in the morning before he eats and before his shot. The next column, the blue one, you type the number of units you gave. The next 11 columns are hours after the shot.

+1 is a result tested one hour after the shot. +2 is two hours after and so on. You don’t need to test every hour. Just the times @Suzanne & Darcy recommends. Some people have all the squares filled—they usually have a continuous monitor on their cat so aren’t pricking an ear but just getting the results from the monitor onto their phone. You don’t need to test that much.
Sometimes people without monitors have several tests in a row. That is usually because their cat had lower numbers so they were keeping a close eye on them. On everyone’s signature there’s a blue link to their cat’s spread sheet. You can click on it to see examples of how sheets are filled out.
If you type a blood glucose number into the spreadsheet it will turn the square a color that corresponds to that number’s group. For example 170 would turn blue as 100-199 is blue. If you don’t test right at an hour or 2 etc after the shot you can write the time as a fraction (you may see people writing 170@ +2.5 which would be the result of 170 taken 2 and 1/2 hours after a shot). Don’t worry about that for right now.
Then the next column is PMPS (PM pre shot) and eleven more columns for those hours after the shot. I’ll attach a picture of part of my spread sheet but you can click on anyone’s to see theirs. Once you start filling yours in you will get the idea but please ask questions.
Good luck to you and Wicked
View attachment 72109
To add on what SmallestSparrow said, if you were to test every 1/2 hour, you can place the data in the same square, the first BG for that hour then you would type a / the BG for the other 1/2 you would put the BG and the time, example @+4- 68/80@10:30 then go to the 3 dots on the right of your the spreadsheet click, you will see a cup with a drop click and choose the correct color of the BG at that time(see Corky’s SS). You are doing great, before you know it, it will be like a walk in a park!!! :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Wow. Six cans! Too much food -unless they’re very tiny cans! Is he overweight or is he just large. Has your vet given you an ideal weight for him?
But until his glucose levels are regulated, he may need it. You should see his appetite level off when that happens. Then you can help him slim down if he needs to get to an ideal weight.
 
But until his glucose levels are regulated, he may need it. You should see his appetite level off when that happens. Then you can help him slim down if he needs to get to an ideal weight.
I agree. It really depends upon the cat. I don’t think I am supposed to say this, but I let my Darcy eat as much as he seemed to want to eat (although I did control the timing of the food to most food in the early portion of the cycle.) When he was unregulated, his appetite was huge, poor boy, but he had lost quite a bit of weight initially and he really needed it. Later on, when he was getting good numbers, his appetite was more normal. So that’s part of the reason I wanted to know if Wicked is overweight or underweight - according to the vet — and if the vet has given an “ideal” weight.
 
When a diabetic cat's glucose levels are not regulated, their body cannot process the nutrients from food properly. That is why they still lose weight while eating more food. When the levels get under control, so does thei hunger.
 
@Bruce Blount
Hi Bruce
If you have the spread sheet you can enter the test(s) that you have like yesterday’s (and I think you have at least one other). Then if you need help putting the link in your signature I can walk you through it or if you ask @Bandit's Mom (did Bhooma make your spread sheet?) she can do it for you. Once it’s set up it will become easier and easier to enter your results. Starting out it seems like an impossible task with all these foreign terms but once you start you’ll be surprised how much easier it is each time.

When I first came here I was “what’s all this pmps + stuff”. In a couple of weeks entering results you’ll be rattling off “oh my +2 was the same as amps so I went shopping and won’t check again until +6” like you grew up with these terms
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top