Why are the levels rising?

Raquel-Mugzee's mama

Member Since 2020
We are in our 4th week of giving Lantus. Looking at the spreadsheet, Mugzee started to rise in the 3rd week, higher than where we started. I don't know what to think. Even with a .25 increase in Lantus, his numbers are staying in the black zone. We are feeding low carb, all wet food.
 
You are holding the dose too long. With SLGS you need to do a 12 hour curve every 7 days testing every 2 hours. Then if the nadirs are higher than 150 you increase by .25. You haven’t done a curve but you also aren’t getting Nadirs under 150.
 
Yep, he needs more juice. We started Lantus almost a month ago and have slowly doubled our dose in just four weeks and he's doing so much better. BUT we are doing TR.
Good luck! :)
 
I suspect that why you are seeing more black is that he is bouncing in reaction to lower numbers than he has seen for a while. As you increase the dose, those “low to him” numbers are lower, so he bounces higher. Also, there isn’t much data for the night time cycles. Many cats go lower at night. Since we decide how to change the dose based on the lows, it’s important to see some data at night. Even a test before bed can help fill in the picture. And if you can get a PM test after PMPS, you could switch to TR, if you wanted to. It allows even faster increases, provided you are testing enough to do so.
 
I will try to get some more tests at night. Wendy, would you say I need to do a curve now? I haven't done one yet and will need to make sure I know what to do, but I can do one if it will help, otherwise, I will start getting more readings at night too.
 
If you are following SLGS, you are supposed to do a curve every 7 days. A curve can be a good way to determine kitty's onset and nadir, as well as how low the dose is taking the cat. A curve means testing every two hours for a period of 12 hours, or every 3 hours for a period of 18.
 
I received an email from my Vet this morning. I had sent him an update on Mugzee and his spreadsheet. His response was, "Wow! I'm so impressed with your record keeping!!!" So, kudos to this group that impresses Veterinarians, lol. He did recommend an increase to 2 units and then do a full curve 7-10 days later. I am afraid to increase him that much all at once. How would you handle the increase? He also said it will take that long to take effect and that I can wait until then to do another reading. Not comfortable with that, what if he drops too low? So, I will continue to test him.
 
He did recommend an increase to 2 units and then do a full curve 7-10 days later. I am afraid to increase him that much all at once. How would you handle the increase? He also said it will take that long to take effect and that I can wait until then to do another reading. Not comfortable with that, what if he drops too low? So, I will continue to test him.
I would increase by 0.25 units to 1.5 units, and please, do test. I have seen probably hundreds of spreadsheets any it's not uncommon for cats to react to an increase and go lower on the first cycle of the increase. Your vet is wrong that it takes 7-10 days to "take effect". Trust your instinct.
 
And keep testing like you have been.

You may find it helpful to take a look at posts and spreadsheets from other new people. Beck (Philly's mom) has had a diabetic cat before, so in spite of the cat being new she is not. You will find a lot of new people have the same questions. I learned a lot by reading around.
 
Back
Top