Why are Squallie's BG numbers so crazy?!?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
I just tested Squallie for his PMPS and his BG was 480! I thought maybe I'd contaminated the sample somehow so I tested again, it was 524! I don't understand, his numbers the rest of the day have been pretty good, for him, anyway. Why did it shoot up so high tonight? He's eating Evo dry and Fancy Feast pate, so that shouldn't be contributing. I really just don't get it. I feel very discouraged right now.
 
Lucy, what is his behavior like? Purring? Playing? Grooming? Litterbox? If those things are all good then I would suggest that maybe the meter needs to be recalibrated or maybe it needs a new battery. ??? This was the problem one time when I had weirdo numbers that didn't agree with the cats behavior. so it's maybe worth a try. ??
 
Lucy, what is his behavior like? Purring? Playing? Grooming? Litterbox? If those things are all good then I would suggest that maybe the meter needs to be recalibrated or maybe it needs a new battery. ??? This was the problem one time when I had weirdo numbers that didn't agree with the cats behavior. so it's maybe worth a try. ??
His behavior doesn't seem particularly unusual, he's lounging on the brick hearth, which is where he can almost always be found. He ate his dinner, not purring but he hasn't, much, since this whole sticking-with-needles-and-lancets-thing began. He might be a little grouchy, but that also could be me looking for something where there is nothing. I'll check the battery in the meter-it's only a month old, but you never know...Hope it's not calibration, don't even begin to know how to recalibrate this meter, if it's even possible.
 
Usually an indicator will come on to tell you when the battery is low on your meter. I'd suggest testing for ketones in the urine to be on the safe side.

I've noticed Squallie has had some high numbers in recent weeks. I am wondering if Vetsulin is the right insulin for him or if a more gentle, longer lasting insulin such as Lantus, Levermir or ProZinc would be better.
 
Last edited:
You could try calling ReliOn's customer service and determine if your meter is faulty or not. Usually an indicator will come on to tell you when the battery is low. Meawhile, I'd suggest testing for ketones in the urine to be on the safe side.

I've noticed Squallie has had some high numbers in recent weeks. I am wondering if Vetsulin is the right insulin for him or if a more gentle, longer lasting insulin such as Lantus, Levermir or ProZinc would be better.
I've been following him around for two days trying to catch him in the box so I can test for ketones; slick old man is very wily and keeps managing to sneak off to pee when I'm not looking! I've wondered about the Vetsulin, too. It doesn't really seem to be doing a stellar job with Squall, but I'm not sure how to broach this with my vet. I don't think she would be open to trying a different insulin.
 
Well, it doesn't look like the Vetsulin is helping Squallie. Perhaps you could show your vet information from FDMB about other insulins and see if she would be receptive to you trying another insulin. If not, I'd recommend finding another vet.
 
Well, it doesn't look like the Vetsulin is helping Squallie. Perhaps you could show your vet information from FDMB about other insulins and see if she would be receptive to you trying another insulin. If not, I'd recommend finding another vet.
Sadly, it may have to come down to another vet. I like my current vet very much and she's not too far away, which is convenient, but I need to do what's best for my sweet kitty.
I just tested him again (+2) and his BG was down to 392. I'm going to try and stay up to test him throughout the night.
 
Well, at +4 hrs his BG was down to 159. It's come down over 350 pts in hrs?!? Now I'm worried it will keep dropping and go too low. I am also very worried about ketones, but I haven't seen him use the litter box and I only have the test strips for urine, not blood. He seems okay, but I'm staying up to monitor him just the same.

BG is 76 at +6 hrs, so it's dropped more than 400 pts.
 
Last edited:
Squallie's spreadsheet looks typical for vetsulin. Vyktor was started on that too as it was the only insulin the vet had experience with. I took in a copy of the lantus TR protocol and Vyktors spreadsheet and insisted that we change. The vet couldn't argue that the results we were getting we're not what we wanted and that the protocol was scientifically sound so he didn't put up an argument about changing...
 
I've wondered about the Vetsulin, too. It doesn't really seem to be doing a stellar job with Squall, but I'm not sure how to broach this with my vet. I don't think she would be open to trying a different insulin.

It's harder for vets to argue against solid evidence. You've got the spreadsheet BG numbers OK, Lucy, but you can build a more solid evidence base for an insulin Tx change if you also do some secondary monitoring of food and water consumption, weight changes, (lack of ) activity, sociability/alertness/engagement, low mood, crankiness, hiding, etc., and make a comprehensive but concise log of them each day in the Remarks column of Squallie's spreadsheet. In particular, it can be very helpful to observe whether there are significant differences in Squallie's clinical signs over a cycle before onset of insulin action, during its period of peak effect, and also when the dose is wearing off. Over a relatively short period of time it should help you to identify whether there is a pattern of negative effects that can be tied to the Vetsulin; and you can share the documented findings with your vet when arguing for a switch to a different insulin. (See the early part of Saoirse's spreadsheet to get an idea of things I noticed when she was being treated with Caninsulin (UK brand name for Vetsulin): might give you some ideas of what to check for.)

.
 
Squallie's spreadsheet looks typical for vetsulin. Vyktor was started on that too as it was the only insulin the vet had experience with. I took in a copy of the lantus TR protocol and Vyktors spreadsheet and insisted that we change. The vet couldn't argue that the results we were getting we're not what we wanted and that the protocol was scientifically sound so he didn't put up an argument about changing...
I'm afraid my vet would not be receptive to my questioning her; actually, I'm just afraid of my vet, period.

Ha! Finally caught Squallie peeing and got a test strip under his bum - negative for ketones!
 
It's harder for vets to argue against solid evidence. You've got the spreadsheet BG numbers OK, Lucy, but you can build a more solid evidence base for an insulin Tx change if you also do some secondary monitoring of food and water consumption, weight changes, (lack of ) activity, sociability/alertness/engagement, low mood, crankiness, hiding, etc., and make a comprehensive but concise log of them each day in the Remarks column of Squallie's spreadsheet. In particular, it can be very helpful to observe whether there are significant differences in Squallie's clinical signs over a cycle before onset of insulin action, during its period of peak effect, and also when the dose is wearing off. Over a relatively short period of time it should help you to identify whether there is a pattern of negative effects that can be tied to the Vetsulin; and you can share the documented findings with your vet when arguing for a switch to a different insulin. (See the early part of Saoirse's spreadsheet to get an idea of things I noticed when she was being treated with Caninsulin (UK brand name for Vetsulin): might give you some ideas of what to check for.)

.
Thank you for the advice, I guess I probably wouldn't have thought to record things like that, more likely to have just remembered them as vague ideas. Unfortunaely, Squallie doesn't really seem to change demeanor, he's always pretty much just Squallie. I have seem several changes for the better since he started insulin, but not much in his day-to-day behavior after that. Sometimes he seems more lazy/dozey than other times, but even that is hard to tell because he is lazy by nature. I do notice changes in his eating patterns occasionally but I think that depends on whether or not he likes the particular food put in front of him. Since I'm with him 24/7 maybe I don't notice more subtle differences?
 
Since I'm with him 24/7 maybe I don't notice more subtle differences?

I'm with Saoirse 24/7 too but I was amazed at what I started learning about her when I started really looking. For example, her coat condition can change from silky soft to dryish within the space of an hour! Also, the texture of her saliva was different depending on how high or low her BG was running. I eventually got to the stage where I would have a rough idea of her BG based on where and how she was sitting/lying; no need to break out the glucometer.

Mogs
.
 
Lucy, what is his behavior like? Purring? Playing? Grooming? Litterbox? If those things are all good then I would suggest that maybe the meter needs to be recalibrated or maybe it needs a new battery. ??? This was the problem one time when I had weirdo numbers that didn't agree with the cats behavior. so it's maybe worth a try. ??

Luna's behavior never reflects her #'s. #'s are (typically) crap but she's always her normal self.

Would Squallie perhaps be a good candidate for Lantus insulin? I've heard that vetsulin can be quite sporadic in comparison, especially if you can't find a 'stable' dose.

Check out Genghis's SS from the Lantus forum. He just switched from caninsulin (vetsulin) to Lantus and is having fantastic results after having extremely sporadic #'s for awhile:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1BE4deIGCYC4C9aHwrd5llsRXEUVnrmpX1Yux2kvin-o/pubhtml
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top