Deb and Dr Fish
Member Since 2015
Hello!
Has anyone here tried the Whole Foods brand of cat food called "DeckHand"? I've been feeding it to my diabetic cat Dr Fish for a little while because it has the highest protein content of any cat food I've encountered on this journey, and the fact that it's pretty much all tuna fish seemed like a good idea given his needs.
But lately he's been exhibiting increased signs of uncontrolled glucose, including constant food-seeking and meowing, and lots of water drinking and peeing.
He is on NovolinN insulin, which we buy at Walmart for $25 a vial where I live. He has been getting 9 units twice a day. After reading a bit on here and around the web I'm wondering if perhaps he is getting too much insulin for this low-carb, high-protein food?
He used to eat the Fancy Feast classic cans, 2 in the am and 2 in the pm (small cans) and take 9 units. I feel like a bad mommy admitting this given what I've read and what I know, but when I switched foods I didn't change his insulin dose. He had one low glycemic event during the change, but acted fine afterwards. The event happened after he ate my other cat's dry food and I gave him a tiny bit of extra insulin that day. I figured it was because of that.
I did a couple blood tests today to see if he's in his healthy range and sure enough, he way high. About 6 hours after his injection his BG was at 394; 2.5 hours later he was at 472. It's clearly too high, but I'm not sure if I should increase his dose (he seems to be getting more than most of the cats on these boards) or if I should actually cut it in half...?
Any thoughts or advice or similar experience would be greatly appreciated. And in particular, if anyone has any experience with this brand of cat food I would love to know whether it is, in fact, a good thing to be feeding him.
Thanks everyone!
Has anyone here tried the Whole Foods brand of cat food called "DeckHand"? I've been feeding it to my diabetic cat Dr Fish for a little while because it has the highest protein content of any cat food I've encountered on this journey, and the fact that it's pretty much all tuna fish seemed like a good idea given his needs.
But lately he's been exhibiting increased signs of uncontrolled glucose, including constant food-seeking and meowing, and lots of water drinking and peeing.
He is on NovolinN insulin, which we buy at Walmart for $25 a vial where I live. He has been getting 9 units twice a day. After reading a bit on here and around the web I'm wondering if perhaps he is getting too much insulin for this low-carb, high-protein food?
He used to eat the Fancy Feast classic cans, 2 in the am and 2 in the pm (small cans) and take 9 units. I feel like a bad mommy admitting this given what I've read and what I know, but when I switched foods I didn't change his insulin dose. He had one low glycemic event during the change, but acted fine afterwards. The event happened after he ate my other cat's dry food and I gave him a tiny bit of extra insulin that day. I figured it was because of that.
I did a couple blood tests today to see if he's in his healthy range and sure enough, he way high. About 6 hours after his injection his BG was at 394; 2.5 hours later he was at 472. It's clearly too high, but I'm not sure if I should increase his dose (he seems to be getting more than most of the cats on these boards) or if I should actually cut it in half...?
Any thoughts or advice or similar experience would be greatly appreciated. And in particular, if anyone has any experience with this brand of cat food I would love to know whether it is, in fact, a good thing to be feeding him.
Thanks everyone!