? Which type of u100 syringes have the smaller markings for using with u40 insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jasper Blue and Jay

Member Since 2019
I called walmart and they said they have syringes "that hold 100 units" so I'm assuming that means the u100...

They said they are 31 gauge...which is smaller than I'm used to but I'm sure it will be ok ... I didn't ask how long the needle is... I'm worried about a short needle because he has long hair... I dunno...


But most importantly... I have been trying to find info on syringes and some old posts here talk about the u100 having "half unit markings" ...

But I need smaller than half units...


Does anyone know what brand or type specifically I need to ask them for?

The woman on the phone didn't even know if they carried syringes ...she had to keep asking someone else.

I don't have high hopes for success on this trip...lol
 
"that hold 100 units" so I'm assuming that means the u100...
No, that means the syringe holds 100 units of a U100 insulin (1cc). That is 40 units of a U40 insulin. U100 means the insulin has 100 units per cc.
The 1cc syringes are only marked in 2 unit increments. You want the syringes that hold 3/10 cc (holds 30 units of a U100 insulin) and that are marked in 1/2 unit increments. Some of the 3/10 cc U100 syringes are only marked in 1 unit increments
 
No, that means the syringe holds 100 units of a U100 insulin (1cc). That is 40 units of a U40 insulin. U100 means the insulin has 100 units per cc.
The 1cc syringes are only marked in 2 unit increments. You want the syringes that hold 3/10 cc (holds 30 units of a U100 insulin) and that are marked in 1/2 unit increments. Some of the 3/10 cc U100 syringes are only marked in 1 unit increments

This is so confusing.

The u40 ones I have are 3/10cc and only show half unit markings, that's why I need different syringes... to be able to give a smaller dose...

What are the ones that have smaller than 1/2 unit markings?
 
Some people use U-100 syringes to give U-40 insulin. If you are going to do that, you have to be careful to accurately convert the doses. For example, if you are wanting to give .6 unit of U-40 insulin with a U-100 syringe, you would need to go to the 1.5 unit mark on the syringe. Here is a conversion chart: http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm

You can find U-100 syringes with 1/2 unit markings (not smaller). Several of us get our syringes from ADWDiabetes.com. These are the ones I like, but there are other brands: https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/1289/monoject-ultra-comfort-u100-syringes-29g-3-10cc-1-2in-100ct
 
I was able to get 10 of the u100 syringes , identical gauge and length so that's cool but..

The teeny tiny dose still seem reallly hard to see/measure.
 
bit the bullet, went to Walmart (have a semi-soft spot for them because one of my dearest friends was a greeter there until he moved to hospice); was frustrated with my shakiness and difficulty seeing the markings on the syringes the vet sold me, took the empty bag and notations from this board of what others had found helpful; pharmacist looked carefully and what I came home with was ReliOn 3/10, 31 gauge, 5/16 -- they're U-100s of course, with half unit markings -- and get this, 100 of them for $12.56 -- plus local tax -- and yes, I know to use the conversion chart, thanks for posting the link where I could find it easily, FurBabiesMama ; also bought several of the test strips for the Confirm, I'm really liking this, even with a much smaller droplet from Catcat's ear this time, I got a reading!!! 261 PMPS .. it's a go for his evening dose in half an hour
 
bit the bullet, went to Walmart (have a semi-soft spot for them because one of my dearest friends was a greeter there until he moved to hospice); was frustrated with my shakiness and difficulty seeing the markings on the syringes the vet sold me, took the empty bag and notations from this board of what others had found helpful; pharmacist looked carefully and what I came home with was ReliOn 3/10, 31 gauge, 5/16 -- they're U-100s of course, with half unit markings -- and get this, 100 of them for $12.56 -- plus local tax -- and yes, I know to use the conversion chart, thanks for posting the link where I could find it easily, FurBabiesMama ; also bought several of the test strips for the Confirm, I'm really liking this, even with a much smaller droplet from Catcat's ear this time, I got a reading!!! 261 PMPS .. it's a go for his evening dose in half an hour


That's awesome, good job CatCat and mom! lol

Yeah I was only able to get 10 lol but they were only $1.26! Hopefully when we need more the vet can call...not sure how that works.

But now I'm trying to figure out the conversion and I don't see how to do .10 or .30 ...lol... at least they're cheaper anyway lol
 
That's awesome, good job CatCat and mom! lol

Yeah I was only able to get 10 lol but they were only $1.26! Hopefully when we need more the vet can call...not sure how that works.

But now I'm trying to figure out the conversion and I don't see how to do .10 or .30 ...lol... at least they're cheaper anyway lol

I have one word for you, courtesy of a math class: INTERPOLATION ... LOL ... also look carefully at how much volume the plunger rubber appears to take up when you look at the syringe, some have said it is close to .25 unit, looking only where the rubber touches the cylinder, not the curved dome of it, use your Mark 1 eyeballs, or those plus whatever reading glasses you need ... (she mumbles, peering through her 3.50 magnifiers)
 
I have one word for you, courtesy of a math class: INTERPOLATION ... LOL ... also look carefully at how much volume the plunger rubber appears to take up when you look at the syringe, some have said it is close to .25 unit, looking only where the rubber touches the cylinder, not the curved dome of it, use your Mark 1 eyeballs, or those plus whatever reading glasses you need ... (she mumbles, peering through her 3.50 magnifiers)

lol I'm using dollar store reading glasses and they work pretty well but man these small doses are *tiny* on there!
 
lol I'm using dollar store reading glasses and they work pretty well but man these small doses are *tiny* on there!
you said it! and since we seem to have a stable situation going here, I'm looking ahead, thinking we may go to a smaller insulin dose after the next checkup, and, like you, decided to get U-100 syringes so it's easier to see the smaller doses -- plus these have a smaller gauge needle, less bothersome for Catcat, though I've had good success dosing while he eats
 
reading through these and had a thought -- they'd sell you only 10 syringes because they were unsure if you were using them for something other than a cat -- hint: have several cans of catfood in your cart already (FF, SpecialKitty turkey&giblets, etc), plus a box of test strips, take your empty bag of vet-supplied syringes if you still have it, or a printout of vet's labs, and go to the "consultation" window if there is one -- around here pharmacies are careful since we have a huge military base in the area, even though our little town is predominately rural (cows, horses, sheep, chickens, llamas, alpacas) and a bedroom community for state capital and Boeing
 
they'd sell you only 10 syringes because they were unsure if you were using them for something other than a cat
There are state laws governing whether you can buy syringes or how many syringes you can buy without a prescription.

I think that for NJ 10 is the most you can get without a prescription. @JanetNJ is that correct?
 
This is from the FAQs on the Walgreens site:
Do I need a prescription to purchase insulin syringes?
In most states, insulin syringes are available without a prescription. Some states do have guidelines limiting the amount of syringes that can be purchased over the counter. For instance, Connecticut , Maine, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, and New Hampshire permit the sale of 10 syringes or less without a prescription. In California, 30 or fewer insulin syringes can be sold without a prescription and the maximum in Illinois is 20 syringes.

There are a few states that have age restrictions as well. Insulin syringes can be obtained without a prescription in Delaware, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and New Jersey by patients 18 years old and above and, in Virginia, you must be at least 16 years of age. Patients in Nevada and Maryland may be asked to furnish proof of their diabetes diagnosis.

Since state laws can change often, it is always best to check with your local pharmacy what may be required at the time of purchase.

https://www.walgreens.com/topic/faq/questionandanswer.jsp?questionTierId=700020&faqId=7700001
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top