Which reading is correct, AlphaTrak or Freestyle Libre 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vicpug

Member Since 2022
I have decided to attach another Freestyle Libre 2 sensor to Penny at the Vet today. So we just had a redline reading of 3.4 (to my surprise ) on Freestyle , so I did a reading with AlphaTrak test strip (just to check) and clocked 8.2. 8.2 vs 3.4 - which one is correct or close? Frustrating.
 
The freestyle libre readings can be a bit unreliable once they go under around 80 we have found here.
So I would be inclined to test with a hand held meter if the BGs drop under 80 -100 (4.4. - 5.5)

can you draw a line in the SS across the page and put ‘using freestyle libre’ please so we are aware when we look at the SS it is the libre not the alphatrak meter. If you do a manual test to double check just note it was with the alphatrak.
 
I have similar issues with discrepancies between the sensor and my meter too. From everything I've read about that, if you have a concerning high or low number, best to double check with an ear poke which is more reliable. The sensor is more helpful when it comes to understanding trends but not actually making a dosing decision.
 
It is disappointing that the sensor shows discrepancies. It is NOT cheap. What is the best place on a feline to poke for a blood droplet? I normally go for the ear, but when we took Penny into the Vet a few months ago for a full day of testing, the Vet poked in the paw. The only way you can understand and make adjustments to dosage is via accurate data. Frustrating.
 
I've never used the paw; always the ear. Usually cats dont like their feet touched, plus I wonder how sanitary that would be, considering they walk around in their litter box.
 
SS updated, now just recording Freestyle Libre 2. Thanks all for help. Great to be able to download CSV data from Librelink.
 
Victor, Are you taking a preshot BG before giving the doses of insulin?
There are no AMPS or PMPS BGs recorded on the SS
It is really important that the preshot BG is taken to see if it is safe to give the dose..
Can you draw a line across the whole of the SS and colour it in so we can see clearly that you are using a sensor now please.

You don't have a dosing method chosen yet that I can see. Its important that you chose either the tight regulation or the start low go slow dosing method to follow as they have a different BG where you reduce the dose. Have a look at the two methods and when you have decided, can you please add that method to the SS and your signature please. If you are feeding any dry food at all you are only able to do the SLGS method
DOSING METHODS

Are you giving snacks during the cycles as well as the preshot meals?
Please make sure when the BG drops down into the 3s (50s) that you give a snack of low carb food and test again to see the BG is rising.
You don't appear to have a US SS set up along side the world SS. I will ask @Bandit's Mom to have a look at it for you. She will contact you.
 
For the preshot BG, should this be just a Sensor reading or take an actual ear jab reading?
 
The sensor is fine, unless it is under 100 in which case I would double check with the alphatrak meter. if the BG is under5 I would stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising.
Did @Bandit's Mom contact you yet?
You also need to put into the signature that you are using an alphatrak mete and a sensor please
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top