? When you can't administer on time

20Merlin24

Member
Hello all,
We just moved and are still trying to settle in. I have not had time to update Merlin's spreadsheet and was just wondering - in general - how to deal with situations when you can't stick to the schedule. I have to leave the house for the day tomorrow 3 hours before he normally gets his shot. Do I just skip it? Give a tiny dose early....?

Oh, also, how do you know if it's time to just toss the current pen and start a new one? He seems to be testing higher than before and I see no reason why, except that maybe.
 
My new vet (who hasn't met Merlin yet, and is unfamiliar with Lantus) suggested I give his evening dose 1.5 hours early tonight, and then his morning dose tomorrow another 1.5 hours early. Is this a good idea?
 
Got a hold of original vet's office and they told me to give half dose WITH food in the AM and then just resume normal schedule in the evening. Any thoughts, anyone?

Also, I just finished updating Merlin's spreadsheet in case anyone has time to give some advice regarding what his dosage should be now that we're sort of halfway settled in our new area.
 
I would skip the AM shot. The basic idea with shifting shot times is that an early shot is like a dose increase and a late shot is like a dose reduction. Moving a shot by more than 30 min will have an effect on the depot and can cause a drop in numbers if you're shooting early. It's particularly problematic if you're not going to be home to monitor. I think it's safer to skip the shot tomorrow AM.
 
Oh, also, how do you know if it's time to just toss the current pen and start a new one? He seems to be testing higher than before and I see no reason why, except that maybe.
I use my pen to the last drop. If its kept in the fridge it will last till its gone. Ive never noticed any difference in numbers at the end of the pen or the beginning.
 
@JoM OK, good to know. I'll assume all is good. It has been refrigerated the whole time. Maybe it's just all the stress and confusion getting to all of us. Thank you!
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
He seems to be testing higher than before and I see no reason why, except that maybe.
I rather suspect he might be going lower than he's used to at some point, then bouncing. I don't see tests in the PM cycle, many cats go lower at night. When you can, a before bed test is a very useful one to get. Once you get settled in, and a few days after the skip, it's also time for that curve.

I agree the skip for tomorrow is best. In general, if you know plenty of time in advance and can do it, you can start gradually moving his shot up. You can do either 1/2 once per day, or 15 minutes earlier per cycle. There were a few times I had to move Neko's shot up quite a bit, and would start moving her shot up a week before to be ready for when I need to do the early shot.
 
@Wendy&Neko Yes, things are not yet back to normal. As it turned out, we are rescheduled for tomorrow so I will skip then. Last night he was at 125 so I skipped for that reason. This morning he's 232 at 1 hour before AMPS and 230 now...
 
Back
Top