When will numbers improve?

WVCatMama

Member Since 2026
Hello. Will there be a point when the pre-shot 300s start going down into the 200s? We’re still pretty new trying to figure it out. Also, can an increase in the insulin dosage cause some soft stools? I’m noticing some soft stools but not all the time, and recently they seem to occur as we’re changing the dosage. I just get concerned when I see the soft stools after Faye’s infections earlier this year. She’s acting like she feels okay though and enjoys her bird feathers on a string, so that’s positive.
 
Hello. Will there be a point when the pre-shot 300s start going down into the 200s? We’re still pretty new trying to figure it out. Also, can an increase in the insulin dosage cause some soft stools? I’m noticing some soft stools but not all the time, and recently they seem to occur as we’re changing the dosage. I just get concerned when I see the soft stools after Faye’s infections earlier this year. She’s acting like she feels okay though and enjoys her bird feathers on a string, so that’s positive.
It’s good that she’s playful. That’s a good sign. I doubt if the soft stool is connected to the insulin dose. I noticed she had them today, and she’s been on the 1.5 dose for 6 days. What kind of infection did she have earlier this year? Remind me about it, please. Is there any particular food that you find is connected to it?

She is ready for an increase to 1.75 units. Will you be at home on Saturday to get some tests if you do the increase then? When we start getting her nadirs down, her preshot numbers should start to come down as well. I do hope so. It takes some cats longer than others. I don’t like seeing the pinks on her spreadsheet either.
 
Thank you for the feedback; glad to hear that as her nadirs come down, we should see the 300s come down some. She’s just going to be stubborn and take longer than others. 🤣 We also have a dog in the house so I wonder if that adds to her stress.

We thought maybe the Sheba pate was increasing her numbers some, so now focusing on just the FF pates for now. Hubby also gave her some sardine water yesterday while I was at work, and it was after that her stool was soft…so he’s going to back off that now. This morning, it was firming back up and I saw a finger length log in the box; so thinking the sardine juice was too rich.

She had an abscess rupture in February, which the vet cleaned out and had cultured. It came back with 3 different types of bacteria, and she was on three different antibiotics I remember one was E. coli, one bacteroides, and the other enterococcus avium, which was weird since she’s indoors. She did catch a mouse in late December / early January though so maybe contracted something from it.

I may not be home tomorrow…not sure yet but if so, will up her to 1.75. I may at least be home long enough to get a +3 and a +6 or near +6 check to see how it goes. If I can’t get it this weekend, will start her next weekend. 😌
 
Any BG tets today? I was just checking in on Faye.
Hi Suzanne. No mid-cycle tests today…was out in the yard much of today clearing brush. I did a curve yesterday though on the 1.75 and plan to get some a couple evenings this week (+2 and +4). I may get one before her 7:30 snack real quick. ☺️
 
She’s down to 89 at +5. I read if it’s below 90, to lower the next dose by .25. I won’t be home during the day tomorrow so going to do a 1.5 in am.
That is true about reducing the dose by .25 units IF you are following the Start Low Go Slow dosing protocol. If you are following the Modified ProZinc Method then you would not reduce the dose unless her BG drops below 50. There’s a better chance of remission with MPM because it allows the cat to spend more time in the “healing green” numbers, but we need to take into consideration your ability to monitor the cycles.What we should do is look overall at her numbers and see if the .25 reduction has been good for her or if it’s allowing her BG numbers to creep up.
 
Since I wrote the above message— I see that you increased her dose back up to 1.75. When you decrease the dose when the cat has “earned a reduction” that means that the new dose going forward is the reduced dose. You would hold the reduced dose for 7 days if following SLGS and a couple of days if following MPM, and if the reduced dose is not working then you go back up to the last good dose.
 
Since I wrote the above message— I see that you increased her dose back up to 1.75. When you decrease the dose when the cat has “earned a reduction” that means that the new dose going forward is the reduced dose. You would hold the reduced dose for 7 days if following SLGS and a couple of days if following MPM, and if the reduced dose is not working then you go back up to the last good dose
That is true about reducing the dose by .25 units IF you are following the Start Low Go Slow dosing protocol. If you are following the Modified ProZinc Method then you would not reduce the dose unless her BG drops below 50. There’s a better chance of remission with MPM because it allows the cat to spend more time in the “healing green” numbers, but we need to take into consideration your ability to monitor the cycles.What we should do is look overall at her numbers and see if the .25 reduction has been good for her or if it’s allowing her BG numbers to creep up.
Hi Suzanne; thank you so much for the explanations on when to change doses. I’m still trying to understand everything, and when to adjust, when not to adjust plus keep to my comfort level too. Today her pre-shot number just now was 239 so I reduced to 1.5 again because I’m concerned she’ll go hypo and I may not be home later to watch/test her. Normally if it’s 239 pre-shot, should I still give the 1.75 or could that cause it to go too low, especially since she’s finally seeing some lower numbers? What has your experience been? Everything is complicated when first learning. 🙃
 
You said:
Today her pre-shot number just now was 239 so I reduced to 1.5 again because I’m concerned she’ll go hypo and I may not be home later to watch/test her.

The problem is that we don’t know what happened after +2 so we don’t know if the 1.5 worked well for her or not.
 
I think you need to work on shooting the 1.75 as consistently as possible and try to monitor the cycles.

Obviously of she has a very low preshot (like a low blue) you probably would need to shoot a reduced dose, but I would try really hard to not skip shots entirely as that is allowing her to climb too high by the end of the cycle.
 
You said:
Today her pre-shot number just now was 239 so I reduced to 1.5 again because I’m concerned she’ll go hypo and I may not be home later to watch/test her.

The problem is that we don’t know what happened after +2 so we don’t know if the 1.5 worked well for her or not.
I wasn’t home.
 
Back
Top