Amanda and a Loudogg
Member Since 2017
Good morning everyone,
A little background: I have been having issues with a bouncy kitty after what I call his pseudo-remission. We have been trying different doses to see if it breaks through and gets him back into the blues around nadir. So far, nothing I have tried seems to help, as it appears he is either bouncing or the dose isn't working enough. We recently tried lowering the dose again and just raised it up to 0.5 from 0.25.
After last night's lingering stay at 300 and this morning's AMPS of 325 (which he hasn't had such a high number since just after his diagnosis), I really started looking more at his spreadsheet. Excepting 1 time where his pancreas decided to work, Lou has not had a BG value within the normal range at all in the last month. In fact, it's rare that I can even get him into the blues during a cycle. I am really concerned about the effects of these prolonged stays at higher BGs, especially now that he's going over 300 more. I have been trying to research glucose toxicity this morning, and I am not sure at what point/number Lou would qualify. Is there anything else I should try at this point or is it time to talk to the vet about other insulin options?
A little background: I have been having issues with a bouncy kitty after what I call his pseudo-remission. We have been trying different doses to see if it breaks through and gets him back into the blues around nadir. So far, nothing I have tried seems to help, as it appears he is either bouncing or the dose isn't working enough. We recently tried lowering the dose again and just raised it up to 0.5 from 0.25.
After last night's lingering stay at 300 and this morning's AMPS of 325 (which he hasn't had such a high number since just after his diagnosis), I really started looking more at his spreadsheet. Excepting 1 time where his pancreas decided to work, Lou has not had a BG value within the normal range at all in the last month. In fact, it's rare that I can even get him into the blues during a cycle. I am really concerned about the effects of these prolonged stays at higher BGs, especially now that he's going over 300 more. I have been trying to research glucose toxicity this morning, and I am not sure at what point/number Lou would qualify. Is there anything else I should try at this point or is it time to talk to the vet about other insulin options?