When to Up the Dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

geekgirldany

Member Since 2013
Okay, so I started the new insulin and thus far there is no noticeable drop. I know it is 2 am but worried about him, so got up to take the nadir. I gave him .40 at PMPS. I would think it would go right back to what it was previously, 9 days ago.

Should I go ahead and up the dose to .60 or let him go on .40 until Friday morning?

I apologize, I've forgot about how long to wait before upping the dose. The vet wanted me to do .30 AM/PM for 4 days and see how he is. I feel like I should be giving him more.

Would appreciate advice.

Very worried about this sudden change in his numbers. What medical conditions could cause this to happen?

Again, thank you all, I know I am posting quite a bit this week.
 
Last edited:
Is that units of insulin? Or milliliters of insulin? (My phone won't show the spreadsheet)
 
Can you monitor? I think you'd be okay to up it if you can be home to monitor. Just in case since it is a new bottle. We usually wait 3 cycles or so to change the dose, but like everything else, it depends on the cat. With Gypsy, I got the point where I changed her dose every cycle because she was always changing her numbers!
 
BJM, the .40 and .60 that is what I call the conversion from U40 insulin to U100 marks on the shot. Did I say that right?

Rachel, yes I will be around to watch him. That is how I was doing Catee previously... his numbers were changing often as well. I was finally able to get him down to .40 in the morning and .20 in the evening. Sometimes no shot in the evening. The vet seemed not to like that I wasn't giving him equal dosages.

I reread the Prozinc stickit on the forum, looks like I probably shouldn't have done that but seemed to work for Catee.

I believe I will do the .60 and stick with that for a few days.
 
What was unclear is if you were saying the markings on the syringe, or the number of units of insulin. Always note units so it is clear.
 
I am confused also. Are you giving .6 units by drawing up 1.5 on the U100s?

Giving a different dose every cycle works for some cats, but Rachel may be right. Sticking with one dose for a couple days may work better.
 
Ok. That helps.

I understand your worry that this vial isn't working as well. But the insulin is working because he is in still in the 200s. I like the idea of trying .6 for a few cycles. But it would be nice if somehow you could get that daytime nadir so we know how low the insulin actually takes him.

I remember that he eats dry DM, right? And you were a little concerned that they changed their formula and have more carbs. That could be part of the issue.
 
Just add the words 0.2 units, 0.4 units, etc.
- putting the zero in front makes the decimal more obvious and reduces errors of measurement.
 
Yes he eats the Purina DM, I am still concerned about them changing their formula.

I will get a daytime number the next two days. Will probably be at +6 though as that is when I can get a chance to come home to test him. I will work it out where I can test him. Previously he went low around +5.

I will do that from now on BJM.... thank you.

Thank you all for the help. I am very grateful.
 
Would appreciate a spreadsheet check. Please note that the first number is Alphatrak the second number marked by R is Relion. I will be using Relion numbers from now on when talking about his Blood Glucose.

Catee is in the 150s to 170s Preshot (I am using the relion numbers) going into the 100 to 120s nadiar slowly since he has been on the 0.6 units.
Would appreciate any input. He has went up if you compare previous Alphtrak numbers but.... I think he is okay isn't he?
 
I think so. When you consider that he eats dry food that is higher carb, i think he is doing great. He's on a tiny dose and staying below the renal threshold. I wouldn't want to shoot under 150.
 
Thanks Sue... looking back at his Previous Alphatrak numbers, I wonder if I might have been giving insulin when it wasn't needed.

The vet said he wanted him at 200 preshot and mid to low 100s nadiar.... based on Alphatrak numbers I assume.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top