Bojangles' Mom
Member Since 2015
Over the weekend, most of Bojangles tests gave readings in the high 100s or low 200s - she did go as low as 116 on a +8 reading. Should I still be giving a full unit? Is there a chart that helps us to determine what dose to give? I know it may be individualized to the cat and their reactions to the insulin. I should note my syringes only have full units, so giving less than a full unit is just by "eyeballing it". I did go slightly less than the full unit this weekend as I'm not online to receive advice from the board and my vet was closed by the time I measured the lower readings. Are there guidelines I can follow that will help determine the dose to be given dependent on the reading? She's only at most been given 1 unit 2x per day, but unsure of when 1 unit might be too much.
UPDATE: This is what my vet responded: Saturday's curve is actually exactly what we want to see. What the internists recommend is the following: continue current insulin dose if pre-insulin BG is 240-360 and/or the lowest reading is 90-180 (this is where she is right now). The dose is to be decreased to 1/2 unit if her pre-insulin BG is less than 180 (we're teetering on this) or discontinued altogether if the lowest reading is less than 54.
Would you agree with what the vet indicates?
UPDATE: This is what my vet responded: Saturday's curve is actually exactly what we want to see. What the internists recommend is the following: continue current insulin dose if pre-insulin BG is 240-360 and/or the lowest reading is 90-180 (this is where she is right now). The dose is to be decreased to 1/2 unit if her pre-insulin BG is less than 180 (we're teetering on this) or discontinued altogether if the lowest reading is less than 54.
Would you agree with what the vet indicates?
Last edited: