When is it okay to let them go?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tinytowncatlady

Member Since 2021
This is a very very long post. It's not taken lightly and I've struggled with this long before Dexter's diagnosis of diabetes. This is a roller coaster and I don't know what is right for Dexter.

I am trying to get a decent amount of testing throughout today and tonight to get a good curve reading on Dexter's insulin and sugar readings. As I go back and edit this I realize that I've already missed several of the pre-planned testing times as I have been putting everything I'm feeling into words.

I'm struggling really really bad. I'm struggling for myself but I'm also struggling deeply for Dexter.

I scheduled an appointment for Friday with the vet to discuss his quality of life, diabetes diagnosis, changing insulin, what to do about his autoimmune and the need of steroids or an alternative.

Yesterday was an extremely difficult day for me. I spent a lot of the day crying and trying to see a light at the end of this tunnel.

I posted several times with questions concerning Dexter's diabetes but I haven't posted about his story and background.

This is very long but maybe I just need someone to say it is okay to let him go if I know he's suffering. I don't want his remaining days with me or years with me filled with him feeling tortured. He's already been through enough pain the past 3 years.

Dexter is 8 years old. He is my second oldest of seven cats that were all street rescues. He was 6 weeks old when he was rescued. Soon after we realized he was a very sick parasite ridden kitten.
I'd always been a dog mom to chihuahuas. I was just learning the world of felines. Dexter was our seventh rescue kitten. He spent multiple visits at Banfield for fluids from severe dehydration, multiple anti-parasitics and wormers. Then probiotics and a special high calorie diet for several weeks until he recovered.

When we moved an hour away we brought three of the cats with us and the others remained with my daughter. That was the end of 2013. In 2014 my youngest cat was three months shy of her fourth birthday when she died a horrible death from us saddle thrombosis on memorial Day. Dexter and dash my two male cats had a very difficult time with her passing.
My son had rescued a little kitten and we brought her into our family. Dexter instantly became her father and taught her how to be a cat. Dexter's third year he began putting on weight. I had already changed to mostly canned food with grain-free dry food as topper or treats. Hey loved playing with wand toys and could jump very high in the air even though he was a chunk.
I bought him an exercise wheel and he began using it regularly right away. He loves his wheel and walks and naps on it regularly. Even with his 15-lb body, he has been fairly healthy. He has had issues with black eye discharge that I refer to as eye boogers. This requires a warm wet cloth to loosen the crust on his eyes.
In July 2018, his entire face and ears erupted in weeping sores and blisters that crusted over. As the crust fell off so did his fur. Then I noticed multiple toenails had black crusting around them making it difficult to walk. After soaking his foot and removing the crust he had severe pus all around the nail beds. I didn't know what was wrong with my Dexter. All of my cats and my foster kittens were seen by our mobile vet that handles pretty much everything other than spay and neuters.
My daughter had recently taken her cat to a feline only practice so I figured if anybody knew cats they would be able to help. Dexter was examined from head to toe. The vet says she had never seen anything like that before. They may have done some blood work that day but I don't recall. If they did everything seemed normal. She wanted to check something and took him to another room where they shine a black light on him. She returned with a diagnosis of ringworm. This was based off of a tiny green dot located behind one ear. This was puzzling to me as there was no blisters or sores in that area. She said that didn't matter because that one dot was all that she needed as a diagnosis. She gave him an antibiotic injection and prescribed oral antifungal medication that had several warnings concerning dosages and complications. I was also to bathe him everyday for 2 weeks with expensive antifungal shampoo. Dexter cried and howled in pain because the soap burned his infected toenails. When he was not any better after a week and a half I called the vet and she told me to continue treatment and scheduled an appointment with a dermatology specialist for the following month. They did not know how much a visit would cost so I contacted the dermatology clinic to find out that an appointment was $300 plus the cost of skin scrapings that would be incubated for 30 days before they could diagnose or treat him. I could not let him suffer another 30 to 60 days so I canceled that appointment and took him to the mobile vet that it's in all of my cats and foster kittens in his veterinary clinic on wheels. 25+ years ago he decided to be a mobile vet because he wanted to go to the ones that needed him the most. It was never about the money but about his love for animals.
After checking Dexter out he said it definitely did not look like ringworm. Even though he didn't know for sure what it was, he said it appeared that his body was having an autoimmune response. Dexter was already tested for FIV and FELV and was negative. He said we could try a steroid shot to see if it would help his body stop attacking itself. Within 2 days the blisters started to go away and new fur began to grow. That shot lasted approximately 3 months. Then I noticed his toenails started becoming infected again. His eyes became very weepy and I took him back to Dr Herron after doing lots of research. From what I could find his symptoms closely matched an autoimmune disease pemphigus foliaceus. The course of treatment was pretty much steroids. There wasn't really a cure just treatment but the hope of remission. In order to be formally diagnosed with it it would require a skin scraping with an active pustule. I didn't see the need to go through all of that with Dexter if the treatment would still be oral steroids which we tried but couldn't get him to take. So one shot every few months seemed to keep things under control. When he would start having symptoms I would take him to My mobile vet and he would examine him and give him another steroid injection. A few times he needed an antibiotic because he had a slight temperature.
After my experience with the cat clinic I continued to use the mobile that for all of our veterinary needs. I had taken many foster kittens to him for shots and illnesses and he showed me how to inject lactated ringer solution. He said if I felt comfortable I could get the steroids from him and inject them myself when I see his symptoms coming back to prevent him going full-blown autoimmune attack waiting for him to return to my area. I still took extra back multiple times because of other symptoms. The last year his immune system has been attacking his gum tissue. His entire mouth becomes inflamed making him drool. He still eats but you can tell it's uncomfortable. Dr Herron said he probably could benefit from a teeth cleaning but he did not see any abscess or damaged teeth that would cause it. Also, it affected all of his gums not just one side. After researching last night I think this could be stomatitis? I will address with this with the vet on Friday since he is currently having this problem as his steroids have worn off.
I've had issues with inappropriate urination with several of the cats due to territorial issues and outside strays lingering around at night. Dexter was not the only one however, he preferred to use any paper, plate, puppy pad, or empty bowls to urinate in. He was also caught urinating and marking. Dexter is not your typical lap cat. He does like to be petted and loved on when he gets on your lap but he doesn't like being picked up or confined. Over the last two years he has requested for me to massage his underbelly while hovering over my hand on the arm of the chair. While he seems to like this you can tell it seem like something more. Like it was uncomfortable but it felt good in the moment for me to massage his stomach.
I set aside $500 of my stimulus money and found a vet with really good reviews and scheduled an appointment for Dexter. It was a drop-off appointment on April 6, 21. I requested full lab panels, x-rays and described all of the things that Dexter has been dealing with over the past several years. Even down to a small lump on his back that felt like a fatty cyst. The veterinarian called me about 2 hours after I dropped him off and said he did have throw exam and that Dexter did not need a teeth cleaning at this point he did have a little bit of tartar build up but his teeth looked good. No sign of any mass or tumors from the x-rays. His blood work did show that he has diabetes and a urinary tract infection both of which he prescribed medication for. He already knew cost was a factor because I told them I only had $500 to spend but I wanted every test possible to see if we could figure out if he had cancer or something that could be causing all of the other symptoms. He told me about the insulin and the cost. I told him I would like to at least try for a month to see if it would help him feel better. When I took him to the vet he was still fairly active and walking on his exercise wheel. I had just given him a steroid injection about 2 weeks before his new vet appointment. He was feeling actually pretty good. I was mostly concerned about him urinating so much. He said the diabetes could be from the steroids and that it's possible he could go into remission and not need insulin once we get his diet and sugar under control and the steroids out of his system.
He prescribed four units of Vetsulin twice a day with a low carb meal like classic fancy feast or friskies pâté and to avoid any dry kibble.
That day I changed his diet to Darwin's raw less than 1% carb diet. He really liked the food and even though he didn't like having the injections I was doing pretty good with the schedule.
He seemed to be more tired after he started the insulin. He didn't walk on his exercise wheel but he did come to me early morning and want me to rub his tummy. Any other time he avoided me because he was afraid he would get a shot. He was supposed to go back for his curve test two weeks after his diagnosis on 4/20. I started trying to find information regarding a raw diet and diabetes to see if that was the best diet for him. That's when I found felinediabetes.com and learned that four units was way too much for him to be starting and that I needed to be home monitoring him. I also learned that a curve test in the doctor's office would probably not be as accurate as doing one at home. I contacted the vet and told them I was going to start home monitoring and wait on the curve test because he was very stressed at his appointment previously. I do recall dimensioning that his glucose level could have been higher due to stress.
It has been a month now. I've learned so much about feel and diabetes and sugar levels. My relationship with Dexter has become very strained. Every time he sees me he hides. It doesn't matter that I'm giving him treats after he gets poked for a blood check. The shots seem to be even worse as he growls now when I try to lift his fur. He no longer is active at all. He hides and sleeps. I guess that's one of the reasons why I haven't poked him as much as I should because I can tell how much it stresses him and I already know how much he's been through the past several years. When is toenails for getting infected he had to suffer so much as I soaked his feet and gently removed the very hard black scabs that encapsulated his swollen infected toenails to release the puss and apply antibiotic while trying to soothe him as he was being held down for this torture.
It was a blessing when he no longer was having the infected toenails the last year.
But I knew as soon as he started loafing and drooling that he needed another shot.
The last time I talked to Dr Herron about Dexter was after my husband said we needed to just end his suffering because it wasn't fair to him. Dr Herron and I both agreed that as long as Dexter had some quality of life and had some days of enjoyment that it was worth letting him live. In my heart I felt like I would know when it was too much for him. I guess that's why I did take him to another vet for the full workup. I wanted to make sure he was not suffering from something even worse. I know it takes time for them to get their sugar regulated. I know it's important that I monitor him multiple times a day especially before his food and insulin injection. But I also look at him and I can see he's not happy. In the past month there's only been three or four times where I've seen him stretch out on his back in the middle of the floor or initiate any type of playfulness with his toys.
I finally decided yesterday to call the vet and schedule an appointment to discuss changing him to another insulin. I plan to get some good readings yesterday when I discovered that Dexter had climbed to the highest bookshelf in our house and I couldn't get him down for hours. When he did come down to eat he usually sits in his cage and feels fairly protected. As soon as he ate he disappeared again before I had a chance to give him his insulin. The first opportunity I had was at 6:00 last night to get another reading. This is probably due to trying to get multiple tests in the night before. He no longer feels safe anywhere in the house. Every time he finds a new hiding place, the one he is supposed to trust gently lifts him and takes him to a place where he feels tortured.
I have a lot to discuss with the vet on Friday. Dexter is not my only responsibility. I have seven cats and one foster cat. I already had to make a heartbreaking decision to rehomed two of my adopted rescue cats 2 months ago.
As I read your individual stories about your sugar babies, I feel like I'm a horrible person if I don't follow through with this daily torture.
I am torn between torturing him with this insulin and constant monitoring, euthanizing him, or eliminating insulin entirely and just seeing if his raw diet will give him some quality of life even though his bg will still be in the 300 to 400 range.
Even then, he's still going to suffer every month from his autoimmune disease. The steroids he needs will only make things worse.

My own health with chronic pain, fibromyalgia & depression make daily chores and my own self-care a challenge. I rarely leave my house and many times it's hard to even leave my recliner because I'm in so much pain. Thats only a tiny fraction of my concern about Dexters care going forward. His quality of life has always been my guiding voice. If he shows the slightest amount of joy it makes me want to fight for him. But I don't see that in him anymore. It hurts my heart to see him cringe every time I reach for him even when I just want to pet him.
It's not fair to do this to him just because I want him with me.

I've done the best I can at getting his BG levels even when I've had to poke him up to nine times for one drop of blood. I want to set everything aside and focus on just Dexter. But I can't there is still other things that I have to do and I'm not doing anything other than trying to help Dexter. I want to hope that a new insulin is going to be that miracle that will help make his life worth living.
I'm trying to eliminate my own necessities and medication to afford his vet bill and the Lantus or Levemir just to see my sweet sugar baby be happy again.

Meanwhile the past two days he has begun drooling His steroids have worn off. He's eating, but it's painful. He hasn't lost any weight from what I can tell. Even though I want to believe there is a chance that the insulin might help him, so far, he has gone downhill since he started insulin. Prior to that appointment he at least played with his catnip carrot or chased his siblings. He enjoyed grooming himself and the other cats.

I don't know if it's fair to continue putting him through this. Regardless of how much I love him and I want this to work. I don't want to continue torturing him. I also don't want to feel like I just cast him away and euthanized him because he was too much trouble. I know he's suffering. And even if the new insulin helps get his numbers under control, he still has the autoimmune disease that will continue to set him back every month.
When is it okay to say goodbye and not feel like I am horrible mom? He's only 8 years old but he's been loved and pampered his whole life. Why do I feel so horrible about making this decision to either continue or to let him go?

I've spent the last two hours dictating all of this to post and just realize that I have missed checking his levels.

He's sleeping in his cage.. the only place he feels safe right now and I have to go get him and test him once again because even though I feel like this might be the end I don't want to accept it.

For the last month even through all of the pokes, Dexter has woken me up in the morning sitting on the arm of my recliner Right before my alarm at 5: 30am
It was the sign that he still wanted to be petted.
This morning he didn't come to me. That broke my heart.

How do you know when it's time to say goodbye?
 
I am sorry you and Dexter are going through all this. :bighug:The decision is one that you will have to make, as you are the one there with Dexter, and the one who can see how he really is. We have a couple links from the Health Links forum that might help your decision making:
A personal story - my girl too started on Vetsulin/Caninsulin. The insulin didn't last long and she was in high numbers most of the time. It took a while, a lot of work on my part (and changing insulin) to turn her around. It really helped me that she was food motivated and took to testing quickly. She had almost 5 good years on insulin, but ended up with a lot of complications. Managing secondary conditions on top of diabetes is hard on the caregiver. You have my sympathy and respect for what you have done for Dexter so far. I can tell you care for him.:bighug::bighug:
 
I am sorry you and Dexter are going through all this. :bighug:The decision is one that you will have to make, as you are the one there with Dexter, and the one who can see how he really is. We have a couple links from the Health Links forum that might help your decision making:
A personal story - my girl too started on Vetsulin/Caninsulin. The insulin didn't last long and she was in high numbers most of the time. It took a while, a lot of work on my part (and changing insulin) to turn her around. It really helped me that she was food motivated and took to testing quickly. She had almost 5 good years on insulin, but ended up with a lot of complications. Managing secondary conditions on top of diabetes is hard on the caregiver. You have my sympathy and respect for what you have done for Dexter so far. I can tell you care for him.:bighug::bighug:
Thank you. Your reply alone just really helped my heart. I love my little dude so much.
 
We had a cat, Ferrari, who started stripping small spots of fur off her belly, when she was a few years old. There would be a red streak, as if she had scratched herself, but not torn skin, and she would lose the fur around the streak. Then it would clear up. Then the streaks got bigger, and branched, and the bare spots also got bigger. Vet was unimpressed (didn't care). Then it progressed to where she was stripping her entire belly. Then she was licking sores into her belly. And it would seem to cycle, getting worse then better then worse again. Finally got referred to a feline dermatologist. By the time we got the appointment, Ferrari was in a transition stage between raw and not-too-bad. Arrogant dermatologist said she was chewing off her fur and just stressed. Would not listen to us that the cat was not stressed (not my first nor only cat, honey) nor anything about the red streaks under her skin nor the raw spots, nor the cycling. Our local vet finally agreed to give her a steroid shot. Problem stopped, skin cleared, fur grew. For a couple of months or so. Then she started stripping again. Talked the vet into another shot. Good results again. Then it would return. Time was slowly shortening between needing shots. We had a discussion with the vet, understanding that the steroids would shorten her life, but she was so miserable when the effect wore off. Not only was she stripping her fur off her entire belly and inside all her legs, she was lick sores, but when you reached out to pet her, she would cringe away from your hand. Realized it HURT her to be petted! Giving and getting affection HURT! So we increased the frequency of the steroid shots to whenever she started to show signs of discomfort again. Within a day of getting a shot, she'd stop licking and chewing, and purr affectionately when you reached out to pet her. A completely different, happy, comfortable cat whenever she got that shot.
But the timing of shots kept increasing, and the speed of things going bad also increased, she'd lick her belly bare overnight when she was starting to need another one. Cringed and ran away from even a tiny head petting. It hurt her to be loved. It wasn't even lasting two weeks anymore. She was 13. All of our cats have made it to 19, before her. Two were able to pass away in their beds in our home. One we had the vet help along, as she had mouth cancer and it had reached the point where it was bad for her, but she was still 19 years old.
So we made the decision for Ferrari, because existing shouldn't hurt, and we couldn't keep her fixed from it any more. And it's been about two years, and I'm still crying as I write this. But existing shouldn't hurt. You shouldn't have to cringe when someone tries to love you.

Maybe stop all the poking and just hope he's okay enough on the new diet. And if he's not, maybe at least you can keep him, without all the testing and insulin shots, long enough for him to feel safe and loved again, first, before having to make that decision. You have done your best for him for 8 years. Let him know he's loved again, before he has to go.
 
I totally feel your pain. That's what I think I've decided. When I talk to the vet on Friday. I plan to discuss taking him off of everything let him have some time to be happy again and let him go after he trust my touch so I can hold him when the time is planned.
 
Dexter is not my only responsibility. I have seven cats and one foster cat. I already had to make a heartbreaking decision to rehomed two of my adopted rescue cats 2 months ago.

I feel like I'm a horrible person if I don't follow through with this daily torture.

Even then, he's still going to suffer every month from his autoimmune disease. The steroids he needs will only make things worse.

My own health with chronic pain, fibromyalgia & depression make daily chores and my own self-care a challenge.

If he shows the slightest amount of joy it makes me want to fight for him. But I don't see that in him anymore.

I think you know the answer already from what you've written. And what you wrote was very honest and took some real courage. My wife and I have lost nine in this home and three in the year before we moved here and the answer was always easy. It's not about money or your time or a lack of honest love. Like you our cats just got old, some had very unusual chronic problems, some passed within days of a diagnosis. Have a talk with Dexter tonight and he will tell you.
I know how very hard this is for you, you have all our Love.
Dickson
 
Oh Becky, I can't even type thru all my tears. Dexter has sure endured so much .
You have given him the best care for 8 years. You are not a horrible mom so don't ever think that. You only want that sweet boy to have some good quality of life.
I myself would not want to see him afraid and hide every time I came near him.
If you do decide on Friday to stop all meds and let him be happy and trust you again
I truly understand that.
I had to let Tyler's brother go last Oct kidney disease. It was not a tough decision for me because I didn't want to see him suffer , he was hiding and looked so sad.
It broke my heart , he was my heart kitty and my love.
So what ever you decide I support you .
I am also sorry that you suffer so much with your chronic pain condition and other health issues.
Is that Dexter's pic you have there?
Will be thinking about you and Dexter ♥♥♥:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I just want to thank everybody who responded. Through my tears I've read the replies and I've decided to stop treatment for diabetes at least for right now. I'm going to feed him his Darwin's raw diet which already seems to be helping his numbers. When I talk to the vet on Friday I'm going to find out if there's an alternative to steroids to help give him back the quality of life without causing more harm. If there isn't any other option then I will enjoy the time I have with him for a little while longer until he tells me he's ready. I have a lot of trust to earn back right now but I've been able to get some chin scratches in this evening and he even wanted me to spanky his bum. Yeah it's exactly what it sounds like. It makes him all the more special when he stands as high as he can on his back tippy toes while I pat his behind above his tail. Eventually he just crashes to the floor in total bliss. I'm just going to enjoy my sweet boy.
 
I hope this comes out right. If you choose to let Dexter live his life peacefully with you in the home where he feels safe and loved, no more trips to the vet, no more poking and prodding. If you do that and there is any issue with pain you can do what I've done several times, I've used transdermal BUPE because it's one less pill to jam into a cat that just wants some peace and quiet. Cats don't like to show pain so think about that time you broke an ankle and got sent home with Advil instead of something that would have helped. We did this with Nigel and Noah and their lives were so much more livable without the constant misery of a pain that never, ever stops.
It won't affect their numbers, constipate them or affect their appetites, you just tickle their ears. The mixture and dosage are always near the top of my profile or I can post them here later. Safe journey to both of you.
stamp_cat010.JPG
 

Attachments

  • stamp_cat010.JPG
    stamp_cat010.JPG
    8.2 KB · Views: 294
Ravan will be 19 yrs old in June. He's had diabetes for over 3 yrs, Kidney disease, high blood pressure & seizures. I use "Charlottes Web" CBD oil. 2 or 3 drops in baby food every day. It gets him to eat really good, & controls his seizures. I believe it makes the quality of his life a lot better.
He gets his insulin 2 x a day & he eats when ever & what ever he wants.:)
I allow my kitties to leave when it's their time . I chose not to make that decision for them. They die at home, with me.

images
 
Last edited:
This is the mixture of Transdermal BUPE I use, 0.16mg/0.1ml, one dose is 0.05ml . It comes from a compounding pharmacy in a bundle of syringes, the consistency of toothpaste. Clean the ears, squeeze out a blob and massage it in. I've seen cats try and lick it from another cats ears so watch for that.
As always clear it with your vet first and do not follow my dosing. It's not a long lasting drug so you can cut the dose in half and apply twice as often.
Noah was twice daily. Noah had a mouthful of rotten teeth that could not be pulled, too long of a story. In the end he just got old and was clearly uncomfortable so we doubled his dose.
Nigel had cancer that was diagnosed too late. We doubled his dose, then doubled it again. Even then he knew where he was and who we were, we just kept him away from the stairs.

Andy was every 8 to 12 hours or as needed, his leg was badly broken.
Sam got shaved this week, another long story, and has been licking himself raw. I gave him a 1/2 dose this morning and he stopped altogether.
Worse than dogs, cats will never admit to pain. Be smart, be kind.
 
Thank you for the replies. I went to the vet with him on Friday and he had not had any insulin for a couple of days. I kind of gave him a break from all the poking. He's still sitting around like a loaf and avoiding me. I have been able to pet him some when he's been out and about and he's also been brushed when he got close enough for me to brush him. I almost canceled the appointment with the vet but I decided to go ahead and keep it because I wanted a face-to-face consult concerning the test that were run on 4/6 when he was diagnosed with diabetes. I may have mentioned before it was a drop-off visit so I never met the vet in person. He talked to me over the telephone but when I picked up Dexter he was in surgery so one of the vet techs showed me how to measure his insulin and give it to him but really didn't have any other information concerning his case.
I brought my little storage tub with his BG meter test sticks Vaseline Neosporin lol All of that with me. So before the doctor came in I checked Dexter's and it was 490.
Definitely some of that was from stress.
He loves his raw food from Darwin's and I did discuss his raw diet with the vet. He said he will look into it but he usually gets his information from veterinary nutritionists journals. He did say he will go to their website and read about feeding raw. I asked him about just letting Dexter enjoy life the best he could without any pokes. He said that it still would not stop him from feeling bad from the diabetes because his sugar still going to be high. His autoimmune disease seems to include stomatitis. He said his gums do look like it could be stomatitis and the only real cure for that is to remove all of their teeth so that they do not have plaque. Unfortunately they would not be able to do that surgery They would have to refer me to a specialist. Hey wrote a prescription for lantus Pen cartridges with a dosage of 1.5 every 12 hours with food. He said if I decide to get it filled all he requests is that I please bring him back and let them do a curve at 2 weeks. He understands the numbers will be higher but it Will allow them to get the best curve and I won't be the one having to do the poking. He said it's not necessarily the numbers during a curved test but the actual curve. He agrees that home monitoring is definitely a good idea. Going back to quality of life for Dexter...
His mouth is inflamed but that won't stop him from eating. He loves his Darwin's. He doesn't feel good because his mouth hurts and diabetes doesn't help. If I give him the steroids that help the stomatitis, it will increase his BG levels which could put him into the critical range. The best option for him in order for him to actually have quality of life would be to remove all of his teeth and have lantus completely lower his levels permanently. But that also comes with poking daily and he's not very fond of that and has become very withdrawn. I didn't inquire about euthanasia so I know what the cost is for that. I actually downloaded the discount card in case I wanted to fill the prescription but the vet really wasn't sure how to write the prescription so the top of the prescription says veterinary and Dexter Johnson lol. He put his age as being six but Dexter's actually 8.
Says texture has really been hanging in the cage not really wanting to get out and be social I tried to lure him out with food for everybody else. Once he came out the cage and ate a little bit I patted him on the back a few times and scratched his neck and then picked him up and brought him to the chair where I had everything prepared including brushes, makeup rounds soaked with eye cleaner and two BG meters. I got a pet glucometer that included 100 sticks and 100 lancets new in box so I had everything ready to do double tests with one drop of blood.
BG Auvon cat 403 / ReliOn 345.
After I tested him I spent a good 10 minutes brushing him and loving on him before I let him go. He refused to eat a treat in my lap. He went to his cage and I gave him the warmed raw food I had waiting for him.
After he ate he came into the front room and sat in the window. A few minutes later he came up to me and wanted to be brushed. I don't have the heart to snatch him up and do a BG as much as I would like to. Does extra low carb food make his levels drop is that why you test them 2 hours fasting to know if it's the highest?
I'm still trying to figure out what to do.
I'm just trying to love him. I haven't been able to find anything online that would help his mouth not become inflamed. Teeth cleaning is temporary and the slightest amount of plaque can still trigger a full inflamed mouth.
I do appreciate all of the replies and helpful information. I figured I would give y'all an update as to how the vet visit went. The one that I saw was not the one that originally checked Dexter and diagnosed him. I was very impressed that he spent the amount of time that he did with me. Would probably talk to at least 30 minutes of the one hour time I was there. I felt very good about the visit and the information I received and the concern of the vet. He was really impressed with the amount of knowledge I had gained from here. I was expecting my bill to be $50 to $100. I was really shocked when he wrote the prescription for me and only charged $25 for the visit.
I didn't want to start a new thread or anything concerning him. That's why I'm just adding to this to let anybody who's following this post know what was the outcome of the visit. If I'm able to come across one lantus cartridge without much cost since I've got to purchase the needles also I may try it. Right now I'm just not sure. It's day by day
 
Atopica can also be a treatment for stomatitis. I would ask your vet about it. It didn't work for my cat Emily (who also has stomatitis), but it does work for some cats.

Long-term, full mouth extraction with dental xrays after to confirm no root fragments is usually the best way to treat stomatitis. Some cats are cured by it.

Chronic inflammation and pain can increase blood glucose levels, so there's a chance your cat may not need insulin if the stomatitis and pemphigus can get treated.
 
Check out our Supply Closet forum, sometimes you'll find someone getting rid of a single Lantus pen.
 
Atopica can also be a treatment for stomatitis. I would ask your vet about it. It didn't work for my cat Emily (who also has stomatitis), but it does work for some cats.

Long-term, full mouth extraction with dental xrays after to confirm no root fragments is usually the best way to treat stomatitis. Some cats are cured by it.

Chronic inflammation and pain can increase blood glucose levels, so there's a chance your cat may not need insulin if the stomatitis and pemphigus can get treated.
When Dexter originally broke out all over the first year it was his skin for the first two or three outbreaks and then it was toenails until last year. All of 2020 was just gum tissue. He had a few little speckles on his ears but they went away everything has been pretty much just his mouth the past year and into this year. He never had a "formal" diagnosis for PF because It requires an active blister to sample. After the first year he did not have any more facial blisters. We've just considered this an unspecified autoimmune disease. They even retested him at his appointment on 4/6 for FIV, FELV and heartworms- all negative.
This does. Give me more possible options for my sweet buddy.
I did reach out to someone that has lantus listed for sale on the supply closet.
Waiting for a reply.

Thanks so much for the help and encouraging info.
 
Becky, do you live in the Anderson area? With Dr Herron of Southeastern Pet Vac?
 
Becky, do you live in the Anderson area? With Dr Herron of Southeastern Pet Vac?
I sure do! He is awesome! Oh no your sweet Panic. I'm so sorry.
Concerning Dr Herron, he has been a godsend with all of the kittens that I've rescued. I think I've been to just about every one of his stops.
 
We need to chat! I have Lantus and live in Anderson (Iva specifically). I can ask about getting you a pen (I have shipments from Diabetic Cats In Need).

Dr. Herron is great for little things but I strongly suspect the steroids he kept giving me for my Panic's flea allergy contributed to her diabetes. Which vet(s) have you been using?
 
Dr Herron and I had discussed the possibility that Dexter could end up with diabetes or other issues. We had just talked about it 2 months ago before I was referred to Martin's veterinary services in pelzer By a local honeapathian. I've taken a couple of mine to the HP animal hospital but Dr Herron was my go-to for smaller things when I couldn't afford the bigger vets. I've been to several around Anderson and I've had some bad experiences with the cat clinic in Greenville as well as one in Anderson.
I don't recall the name of the vet that saw him yesterday. It was not Dr Martin it was the other vet but I was probably most impressed with him over all the vets that I've seen.
 
We need to chat! I have Lantus and live in Anderson (Iva specifically). I can ask about getting you a pen (I have shipments from Diabetic Cats In Need).

Dr. Herron is great for little things but I strongly suspect the steroids he kept giving me for my Panic's flea allergy contributed to her diabetes. Which vet(s) have you been using?
I'm a member on the FD Facebook group. I'm going to try to send you a PM.
 
Dr Herron is the reason I scoff at vet clinic prices lol. My last clinic quoted me $150 for first kitten shots. No thanks I'll go to the Pet Vac and do it for $25 :woot:

Don't get me wrong, I do love Dr. Herron. He's the reason many times over I've gotten my pets help where I otherwise couldn't have afforded it. He hands out prescriptions and steroids like candy though and that can be dangerous if you don't know the potential consequences, like I didn't with Panic. I did take her to him when Panic first got sick (in hindsight, she had pancreatitis, and the only thing he did was give her a shot of penicillin). So I stick with him when I think it's nothing serious enough for bloodwork lol.

That's disappointing about the cat clinic in Greenville, I've never been but for me that was the nearest one that was cat-only. I guess it doesn't surprise me since they advertise they do declawing on their website. :rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top