Charlie's Mum
Member Since 2020
My cat Charlie is on 6 units of Lantus 2 times daily. His BG has always been very high (300-700 range) until his insulin dose was raised to 6 units. The lower BGs are also a result of feeding him less frequently and feeding about 30 minutes after giving him his insulin (all of this approved by vet).
My question now is when I test his BG prior to giving insulin, now the BG reading is within the normal range (for example 78). Do I still give him his regular insulin dose? I emailed my vet over a week ago and again today only to get a message that he is out so I thought I would see if anyone here has some advice in the meantime.
I think the issue is that I'm not used to the numbers being so low. I checked his BG in the middle of the day and it was 44. I gave him some maple syrup and he was ok (BG went up). I'm a bit stressed worrying about the insulin dropping suddenly (too low). Thanks for your help.
My question now is when I test his BG prior to giving insulin, now the BG reading is within the normal range (for example 78). Do I still give him his regular insulin dose? I emailed my vet over a week ago and again today only to get a message that he is out so I thought I would see if anyone here has some advice in the meantime.
I think the issue is that I'm not used to the numbers being so low. I checked his BG in the middle of the day and it was 44. I gave him some maple syrup and he was ok (BG went up). I'm a bit stressed worrying about the insulin dropping suddenly (too low). Thanks for your help.

