When Do I give Chris insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheresaJ860

Member
Hi Everyone,

Christian has had lower than normal numbers, yippie! (Sorry, haven't updated his SS, will get to it soon today.)

However I need some advise, please?

This morning his BG was 105, of course no insulin was given. He is @ +2.5 hours his BG has raised to 228. Do I give him insulin now? A reduced dose? He is eating, do I wait, how long?

Thank you!
Theresa and Christian, the great mouser!
 
Hi Teresa,

It looks like you are on PZI and I don't know you insulin to know if you can shoot on a varied schedule. With my insulin, Lantus, if I shot 2.5 late, I'd also need to move my evening shot back so usually skipping by that long just means skipping.

I am posting in some of the ISGs to see if I can find someone to help you.
 
Hi theresa,
PZi is a flexible insulin so you can shoot. If you dont want to change your schedule I would shoot a reduced dose
but 228 is a low number for Chris for a preshot so I would reduce.
 
with pzi being as flexible as it is i'd go ahead and give him his shot. in order to keep the evening shot time in line though i would perhaps consider reducing a little, especially with the lower numbers lately you mention. the spreadsheet isn't up to date so between that and keeping the evening schedule is what i'm basing my suggestion on.
 
Thank you All so much!

I shot him @ +3.15 with a reduced dosage of S1 unit, he had risen to the 360's. I just got finished with walking him back from a 2 hour move, LOL, am not sure what is more annoying, the move or the walk backs, I have posted notes reminding me of the correct times posted on the insulin, just to protect us from forgetting the time.

I'm working on getting his SS updated now. Thank you all so very much!

Theresa and Christian
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top