Whats the deal with "Rebounding?"

Status
Not open for further replies.

beclt

Member
I've now experienced what I think can be considered two rebounds. This past weekend we had a +6 AM reading of 128, which was our first number in the 100's! Then she was very high in the 400's. After a series of high readings, last night, her +6 PM reading was 121--even lower! Then, this morning she was back very high in the 440's.

How often can rebounding like this occur? At what point could her body get used to these lower numbers? I can't imagine it makes her feel very good... :( She's angry enough with us!
 
I think we would call it rebound if she dipped really low in the 40-50 range and then shot back up. It may be that she just got a shorter duration from the insulin since she went lower than her body is used to at her nadir. (I am trying to apply the new language that the vet who posts sometimes on the site and consider how she looks at rebound and bounce.) Your dose is working well and I would continue with it for a few more cycles. Every cat reacts differently to high and lower numbers - especially at the beginining of the sugar dance.

You can see why we needed those midcycle numbers. If we just looked at the highs, we might have thought she needed more insulin. More likely scenerio is that she will settle into that lower number and her higher preshots will settle down also.

You can feed that lower number and that might make her feel better. It might even out the cycle. A frozen snack that might thaw about +6 or a timed feeder works well if you are not home.

You are doing great getting the mid cycle numbers.
 
Thanks!

Yes--I've been leaving kitty popsicles (frozen cubes of wet cat food) out at night and while we are gone during the day. I do think it helps and I was so happy to see that number but shes been in the 400's for all of her readings today. Such a bummer. We'll see how she does tonight and stick with this for a for more cycles like you recommend.
 
Wonder if she dipped low today or just hung out in high numbers? If we had numbers on either side of that blue, we would know whether that was as low as she went or if it was lower last night.

I hope you can bite the bullet, stock up on her favorite treats and get some more numbers this weekend - particularly around that +4 - +7 range so we can see what is happening then and how it relates to the higher preshot numbers. The more we know, the better we can try to work with food to soften the curve, and the better we will know whether you should raise the dose a little.

You are doing great and we know it is hard!
 
Hi Becky
Sue asked me to take a look at Cali's SS and I have.
I'll get to the "rebounding thing" in a minute.

Here's what I see on the SS. Yesterday morning, you shot the normal 2.0 dose and the AMPS was 414, just like the day before. So, logically you might hope to see numbers both days that "make sense" compared to each other, right?
But that didn't happen for some reason.

On the 6th, (hard to tell because we don't know what happened between shots), but my guess is a decent curve and the PMPS was right about the same as the AMPS had been.
On the 7th, same AMPS as the 6th. Same dose as the 6th. But something "different" went on in the middle. But we don't know "what" was different. I could be he went lower one day than the other. It could be the insulin "kick in" happened later on the 7th. It could be that the insulin just lasted longer that day. But whatever happened, the PMPS was a lot lower than the day before.

OK, now compare the AM cycle of the 4th and the PM cycle last night. About the same. Same dose, each time.
Also, the same amount of "drop" from the PS to the nadir.....about 100-110 points, right?
Now look at what you got on the PMPS on the 4th, and the AMPS today. Red numbers. Those followed shots of 2.0 into numbers that were "low" compared to most days at shot time.

I think what happened was that his body saw that blue number, didn't remember having BG that low before, and his liver may have reacted by dumping "sugar" (for lack of a better word) into his system to bring his glucose back up. His liver is confused, it thinks a number that low might be "dangerous", so it compensates. This seems to be pretty common, but eventually it'll stop happening. But until it does stop, it's just something you have to put up with. You can't really make it stop. You can try to make it happen less often though.

Here's what I would do, if you could do it all over....
Keep my normal "dose" for now at 2.0u But if you see a number like that AMPS on the 4th and the PMPS last night, cut back the dose just a little bit, like to maybe 1.75. That might keep thing more consistent and avoid that liver reaction. But you don't "have to" do that. Just an idea.

Rebound - it's a word you read a lot around the board, and probably is used way too often. Another is "bounce". As Sue mentioned, Dr. P. has posted a few times lately in the PZI forum, and if you look at the last 3 or 4 threads started by "Owlgal01", you can see what she said.
Here's something that she said that I think is very important in a case like this, where you may be thinking that the dose needs to be dropped and a "new normal dose" be decided on.
carlinsc wrote:
what if it was just one wonky meter reading. What if it wasn't a 455, but maybe a pink gone bad?


This is an example of why I loathe labeling a cat X based on ONE lab value. ie....I get hundreds of people writing to me every year in a panic because their cat has been Dx'd with CKD based on only ONE blood panel. Makes me crazy....

Look for repeatability before panicking or making any important decision.
I put what I think is most important as "bold" type. If you see numbers that give you this sort of "spike" happen every time you shoot 2.0 into a mid-200 number, then you might consider adjusting the dose a bit down, but only on those occasions. Not every time you give insulin.
If you see numbers that just keep going up, or just keep going down with the dose of 2.0 for 3 or 4 cycles in a row, then you might consider changing the "normal" dose up or down to correct things.

But try not to "react" when it's something that doesn't seem to have any pattern to it, just random events. You can drive yourself crazy doing that, and Cali will be just as confused.

Does that help any?
Carl
 
Yes, that helps a lot! I updated her sheet with last night and this AM's readings and I do start to see a pattern. What I am hoping to see over the next few days is that the evening reading which is much lower, will keep her AM readings down and eventually start to even itself out. It's still too early to tell, so we are going to monitor a bit more before we make any changes.

It's just tough--you get so excited to get a lower number and then she shoots up so high!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top