What's Happening with Marilyn? Help Please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barn Cats R Us

Member Since 2011
I'm guessing I've done a million things wrong since yesterday (Thanksgiving), but I couldn't get to the computer to ask you all what to do. I was about to leave for a restaurant reservation, with a guest that was at my house, and took Marilyn's BG before leaving. Needless to say, I had to cancel the dinner reservation.

Can you please take a look at 11/24/11, PM +3 and +4? Additional BG's are in the comment section. Maybe I shouldn't have given the Karo...I was panicked...none of this makes sense. Also, I need to get some high carb food; I don't know what the carb content is for a/d, but it's all I had, other than DM, Friskies Pate, and Fancy Feast Classic. I'm an idiot.

Does anyone have any good brand choices for high carb "hypo kit" food?

BTW, you'll see that I lowered her dose this morning; I can't have her going hypo (for some unknown reason) will I'm sleeping. Also, her food intake was "as usual" yesterday. I thought it was a good sign that her PMPS was finally looking nicer...I guess it wasn't. I guess it was too much of a drop from her usual "off the meter" readings. I'll never have a moment's peace now.

I still haven't slept. I must do that now...right after one more BG reading. I'll be back in the afternoon.

I hope you all had a nice Thanksgiving. I'd like to give "Thanks" for all of you on this board. I don't know what I'd do without you.

Deb
 
Barn Cats R Us said:
Can you please take a look at 11/24/11, PM +3 and +4? Additional BG's are in the comment section.

Does anyone have any good brand choices for high carb "hypo kit" food?

Deb

Deb,

Can you please put the url link to your 11/24 post above? I could not find the post you referred to. To do this, open your 11/24 post, go to the address window at the top of your browser, copy the link, then paste it into the body of your 11/25 post above, then highlight that and click the button above, so that the [url] cod...nning of the link to yesterday's post and the code appears at the end. Then we can just click on the link and see the 11/24 post.

As far as the hypo kit foods, be sure and check out Janet and Binky's food list here: Janet & Binky's Food Listl

Anything with gravy is usually about 18% carbs, so if you get a few cans of friskies with the gravy that should do it.

What were Marilyn's BGs when you gave her the Karo?

Desi
 
They are scary numbers. She is not doing well with the Humulin at all. But it isn't an unusual pattern. She starts high and crashes low. Unfortunately, I think there is little you can do to change it. If you reduce the insulin to stop the steep moves into greens, you raise the preshot number. If you increase, the preshot number may reduce, but the midcycle may continue to be low. The other problem is that it has to feel terrible for her to go from 47 to 200 in an hour.

Is there any chance you can get her on another insulin? There is Lantus for sale in the supply closet for $20 a pen: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=57149
 
Actually, I think she was directing us to Marilyn's spreadsheet. Unfortunately, my phone isn't playing well with google docs today so I can't help much. But, Deb, don't freak-all you can do is your best and we all screw up. It's better to err on the side of caution than to rush to the er. Hopefully someone will be along soon that can give more specific advice.
 
bookw0rm said:
Actually, I think she was directing us to Marilyn's spreadsheet.


DUH! I was looking for her 11/24 condo, didn't even think to check Marilyn's SS. Yes, those are scary #s. & I know nothing of Humulin, we have never used anything but Lantus ~ Desi
 
Go for the $20 Lantus and you won't have to deal with this crap! 2 cats in my family went OTJ on Lantus within a few months of starting. I can't praise it enough. You'll also have the experts on the lantus group to help you. It's SO worth trying!!!!
 
The Humulin N just doesn't last long enough, and increasing the dose only risks hypoglycemia.

Other than switching to a longer acting insulin, is it possible to go to 3 times a day dosing, of every 8 hours?
That less convenient, but may let you get closer to control without getting a longer acting insulin.
 
Cats love to get your attention when you are about to leave for an appointment or date.

Sorry, I can't help you with the dose. I only know Lantus and Levemir. I hope you're able to change insulins.
I just asked my vet for the prescription and he wrote it out for me.
 
HI Deb!

This dance is freaking fun, isn't it? ;-)
We should have told you this earlier, but anytime you make plans, kitty has a plan of his/her own! You dealing with a pair of sugarcats just doubles the odds for you that will happen.

On the one hand, you have Marilyn who has decided that for some reason, the 2.0 units of Humulin is going to be working "better" than it has been. Dropping to 1.5 should get that a little more under control, but as someone said above, it might help her to stay away from low numbers mid-cycle, but probably will keep her PS numbers in the ugly "black" range. Good call on reducing the dose though. Her PMPS number will help us to figure things out. Eventually though, the best course of action will be to see if you can get a different insulin.

On the other hand, you have Clark, and his spreadsheet couldn't look any better! I'm assuming that he's still in the greens and blues since the 21st?

Hope you were able to get some sleep after this morning's post, and look forward to your next update!

Carl
 
Note to everyone else who chimed in earlier....

We all know that Hunulin is not a great insulin for kitty. But having said that, it isn't 100% for sure that Marilyn won't react positively to it. I'd like to see her switched to lantus or prozinc too, but if you look at Clark's SS..... he was way overdosed for a long time, and a few days after Deb first posted - after reducing his dose.....well, he hasn't had any juice for a week or more.

just sayin'

Carl
 
I would agree, Carl, if she had flat high numbers or low numbers across the board. Then we could adjust the dose up or down. But when she is in the blacks at preshot and the greens at midcycle, it looks to me, like the insulin is just too harsh for her. It has worked well for Clark, and does for some cats. But that ECID thing can mean that any given insulin may just not work with a cat's body.

I would be afraid to drop the dose - her preshots are incredibly high now. It shouldn't be rebound since she does have a curve. I suppose it could be a violent bounce from nadir to preshot, but those are hard to handle and we don't have much time with preshots in the 600s. Marilyn seems to be reacting badly to Humulin and giving patterns I have rarely seen with any insulin.

If she can get some low cost Lantus in the supply closet, that might be the fastest fix?
 
Thanks All,

I have detailed comments, but mostly, questions for all of you...unfortunately, they will have to wait. My new vet of 3 weeks, has left me thrown for a loop since 3 PM today (now yesterday). It's not as mysterious as it sounds...I am exhausted, and to put it politely, she is an idiot. I have way too much on my plate to keep pushing forward while dealing with a complete moron.

I am willing to give Humulin TID a try, but I now have a $110.68 / 10mL vial of Lantus in my possession. I don't know if it's the correct Rx, since you all keep referring to "pens". I can only tell you that I would have updated (and questioned) you 9 hours ago, if not for the bewilderment, anger, and subsequent endless sobbing, I've experienced since talking to my vet three times this afternoon.

I can't start the Lantus (my vet says it's Lantis with an "i"...is there another kind?) without directions from you all; although the "vet" has Rx'd 1-Unit BID...that means absolutely nothing to me without the confirmation, and further instruction, from "thinking people". I can't begin to tell you all how very angry I am. If I have any energy left in me, after making sure all the animals are stable, I will spend that extra energy publicizing her name, and all of the gory details, elsewhere, all over the internet.

Marilyn & Clark's spreadsheets are updated. I apologize for venting; I am hanging by threads and can't withstand these types of distractions by so-called educated professionals. I know this type of response is not helpful to those of you attempting to help me, and certainly not to those seeking help from these threads. I am so sorry...I am speechless...I just didn't want to leave you hanging on Marilyn's update any longer. All of the questions I have will have to wait.

Thanks all...I was actually thinking about fostering "Poor Richard" (from the DCIN thread)...before the altercation with my "vet". She was a giant dose of reality that you tend to forget about while dealing with the brilliant, kind, folks on this message board. Hopefully, I gave the "vet" a giant dose of reality to think about herself...one good turn deserves another.

Deb
 
you have the correct lantus. We just recommend pens, so as to make it more affordable.

Once you open lantus, the clock starts on when it will go bad. A vial, what you have in humans can last about a month, in cats well can last for several months - the problem is the insulin will go bad before you use it up.

So, we recommend pens as they are smaller amounts and one pen with two cats can see you through before going bad.

So no worries, you have the right insulin, just be aware after about a month or so it may start to go bad, you will know this - if it becomes cloudy, see things floating in it or if your BG's go whacky and you can't figure out why.

Regarding what high carb food to get for the hypo kit - I'll make this very easy for you - Fancy Feast now has a gravy lovers option - buy that and you will have all the high carb you need! And as we recommend feeding gravy and not the pieces, this product will make that easier for you to do.
 
And 1u bid is a typical starting dose. Lantus works a little differently than humilin; it builds up a "shed" of insulin in the body that takes time to develop, so it's important your dosing is consistent. Dosing is also based on nadir (lowest point in the cycle) rather than preshots.

I don't use lantus; I've picked the basics up from reading.other threads. Hopefully someone will correct.me if I'm wrong. I recommend you swing over to the lantus forum and look at the stickies for.more detailed.info.

Hang in there; you're doing a good job w/ Clark & Marilyn.
 
{{hugs}} ... (figured you might need some)

Yes, we've found a number of vets worth their weight in ... coal. And if our incendiary thoughts would just ignite them, we'd probably feel better, at least temporarily. Many of them don't endorse home testing. Many of them prescribe the older, shorter acting insulins because that was what they were trained to use. Many of them think that folks on the internet are ignorant of appropriate veterinary care. Many of them are unwilling to learn something new, even when it comes from veterinary experts writing in veterinary journals. Many of us have experienced 1 or more of those things with our vets.

So, breathe. Stretch a bit. Do what you need to release some tension.

And then keep on going. This is a process, not an event, and its going to take a while to get everything worked out. We know that. You are doing what you can - reading other people's stories, hearing out our ideas to see what makes sense and what doesn't, reviewing the documents we have posted from veterinary journals. Trust your judgement ... or the Force ... whatever works for you and your kitties.
 
Thanks All,

Here goes nothing...this is going to be a long story.

Desi: I always wanted to know how you folks added urls to your posts. Now I can go back and review this thread when needed! :)

The following is a list of food a friend picked up for me; I don't know if it's all "do-able". He printed out Binky's list, did the shopping, and stuck post-its with the carb % on each can. I asked for a variety, since unfortunately, I don't know Marilyn's, or Clark's, favorites in advance. Is #4 (SC Flaked w/Tuna & Egg in Sauce) the best option here? Any of these need to go in the diabetic cabinet, instead of the "hypo kit"?

1. Authority Pate Ocean Fish Recipe - 3 oz. - 11% carbs
2. Fancy Feast Chicken Feast in Gravy Grilled - 3oz - ? - Not on list
3. Fancy Feast Turkey Feast in Gravy Grilled - 3 oz - ? - Not on list
4. SophistaCat Flaked with Tuna & Egg in Sauce - 5.5 oz - 16% carbs
5. SophistaCat Supreme Flaked Tuna Dinner - 3 oz - he says it's 14% carbs; best I can tell, it's 4%

DD & Tinkerbell said:
DUH! I was looking for her 11/24 condo, didn't even think to check Marilyn's SS.
What is this "condo" I keep seeing in threads? I thought it was a place to live with no lawn maintenance. Seriously, what is it?

carlinsc said:
This dance is freaking fun, isn't it?
Yes Carl, I can't remember when I've had so much fun...OMG, this "shelter" is WAY understaffed...please send help. :)

carlinsc said:
On the one hand, you have Marilyn who has decided that for some reason, the 2.0 units of Humulin is going to be working "better" than it has been.
At $25 per 10 mL vile, I was hoping the Humulin would work. The thing is, Marilyn only decided the Humulin was going to work better for that one cycle. It still doesn't make sense to me. If she decided it was going to continue to work better, we might have been able to swing it, even if I had to try TID...although, TID would more than likely kill me. It was that one cycle that scared me. Has anyone looked at Marilyn's 12-Hr. curve graphs that are on separate tabs of her SS? They take a while to load on google docs. If I could have gotten that "curve" nicer...lower down on the graph in the numbers game...maybe she would have done okay with Humulin? Who the heck knows what Clark's numbers looked like...talk about scared. He still isn't "right", even though he is OTJ...I'm thinking there is some permanent damage. He's just not my "Boo Boo" anymore. I miss the old "him", and I feel horrible about what he went through.

carlinsc said:
On the other hand, you have Clark, and his spreadsheet couldn't look any better!
There's something really frightening about Clark's situation, that I have yet to piece together in writing. Clark started declining in March, but I couldn't deal with him then, since my Dad was dying (oh my, my new vet has thrown me into such a tailspin, I just keep bursting out in tears with no warning). When I took him to the Vet for blood labs on 4/28/11, due to his weight loss (which started in March), and overall decline in health, I asked her to look at his mouth. I told her that his "mouth" seemed to be bothering him...she forgot to look, and I forgot to ask a second time (I don't see well enough to detect dental issues on my own). He went in for insulin "regulation" after his lab results came back with the high glucose. I was grumbling about his "episodes" for months to follow. When I grumbled long enough, she told me to bring him in for a fruct. While there for the fruct, on 10/13/11, I asked her to check his mouth...it was bothering him more than previously. This time she checked, and he had a horrible abscess, plus a broken tooth. He had 4-tooth extractions a few days later, which left him with one remaining...a K-9 that they probably should have also pulled, since now it's bothering him due to the lack of any other teeth. It's like it's throwing his jaw off, or poking him in the bottom gum. Anyway, doesn't an infection cause the BG to increase? Is it possible he was never diabetic in the first place, or it was induced by the infection, and temporary? I really would like to understand this better; I've just been too busy with Marilyn. Any thoughts? Is Clark really a Humulin success story? Am I beating a dead horse?

Hillary & Maui said:
I'll make this very easy for you - Fancy Feast now has a gravy lovers option - buy that and you will have all the high carb you need!
Is this what it's called? Fancy Feast Gravy Lover's? Is it a can, or a pouch?

BJM said:
Yes, we've found a number of vets worth their weight in ... coal. And if our incendiary thoughts would just ignite them, we'd probably feel better, at least temporarily.
That is really very funny...too bad I'm too insane to thoroughly enjoy it. I'm going to apologize in advance; but I just can't get past yesterday. I have spent 2 months transitioning 12 animals from my vet of 12-years. It's such an overwhelming undertaking, I didn't know where to begin. I promised myself I wouldn't bad-mouth my vets, since I can be quite the handful when my anxiety gets the better of me...and being "vet-less" with 12 ailing pets, is nothing, if not a huge whirlwind of anxiety. You all know how many questions I consistently ask...but I am tired of over-analyzing my own behavior, and letting others' get away with murder, simply because I am at their mercy. Just obtaining their so-called medical records was like pulling teeth (no pun intended), and took over a month. Fast forward to "vet" #2...I've known her for about 3-weeks, and have already spent $700. It's not like she's performed a surgery, or something; this dollar amount consists of blood labs, physical exams, rabies vaccines (more to come, they weren't all done), and Rx foods. It will be an endless boost to her income...but maybe I am spoiled and don't realize what a bargain I'm receiving.

When I called her yesterday to tell her about Marilyn's BG drop on Thanksgiving, and to ask for Lantus, she readily complied. So I know you are all happy with that aspect. I asked her to fax me the Rx, but she wanted to call it in; so I chose Walmart, since that's where the Humulin was cheapest. Then I thought I would give Rite-Aid a call just to make sure I made a good snap decision. Rite-Aid said the Lantus was $139, OR $11.82 using the Saving's Card...what? The Rite-Aid person couldn't believe it either. She said the only way to find out how it would "ring-up" was if the vet called in the Rx, so she could put the order through. How could I let this go, without finding out for certain? Therefore, I called the vet back and left a message on her answering machine. The vet calls me back and says she's called it in to Rite-Aid, and I need to make-up my mind since Walmart is waiting for her to call them back...and she sounds pissed (Why? I told her to fax me the Rx to begin with). I begin to tell her that we should probably clear-up the other issues (with other animals) in this phone call, so I won't have to call her next week. She dx'd one cat with arthritis, and sold me Glyco-Flex for $15, that the cat won't touch...along with 5 other cats who also acted like it's poison. I asked if she could order Dasuquin for me (as long as it was under $21 per bottle; the best internet price I could find, that would require an Rx). She already knew I use Dasuquin for 3 other cats, but she doesn't carry it, so she pushed the Glyco-Flex instead. Apparently, she's not impressed that I can conduct my own trials here. Sub-par products won't fly; you can't blame something on one finicky feline...

...So I say, "I realize you're getting aggravated, but"...and that's all the opening she needed. She interrupted me, FLIPPED OUT, and told me that I have called her 8 times (I called her twice, and she called me once; which I pointed out later...since I can actually count), and I am "nickeling & diming" her to death, and her "time is valuable". So I stopped her "mid-flip-out", and reminded her that she never wrote me a Rx for the IBD cat who is wasting away. My dog who isn't eating, or feeling well, who I found a deer tick on, but showed negative on her $40 Lyme test, will need further blood work. I told her I needed to know, RIGHT NOW, if this isn't going to work out...and I went on, and on, until I was in tears...she then meekly asked for my fax number, for the IBD cat's food Rx.

Rock and a hard place; that's where I am. I can't possibly continue using her, but I just don't have the energy to start this transition over again...so soon. Okay, I've mentally & physically exhausted myself again, which is why I left vet #1 in the first place...where I paid "cost" for everything. As little money as I have, my peace & sanity, are always more important. I can't pull any of this off without my peace and sanity; I don't care how much it costs. It is also important for my vet to be more level headed, and much smarter than me...she should also be able to count to three, and not confuse it with eight.

If one person, with one sick pet calls the vet...what do think...4 to 6 times a year? Maybe more? Times that by 12, and you can expect to hear from me once a week, minimally. But, how can she figure that out, if she can't differentiate between 3 and 8 calls in a couple of hours? It might seem like 8 calls to the dramatic, apparently hysterical type...but the $700 in 3-weeks, felt like $2,000, and yet I still thanked her for such reasonable prices...I must be insane. She can't just go through the motions and collect her money. You have to understand, I don't just have 2-Diabetic cats; it's much more extensive than that. I honestly can't do this anymore without a thinking, competent, concerned vet.

So now I'm almost through Marilyn's first 12-hr curve using Lantus. It might be too soon for a curve, but I'm not comfortable with a new insulin, without a full set of numbers. I don't know how I'll sleep tonight...I need to sleep. I'll update her SS eventually.

BJM said:
So, breathe. Stretch a bit. Do what you need to release some tension.
I started replying to posts in the middle of the night. That is totally out of character for me, and probably not very helpful to the poster's, but apparently, it helped take my mind off my own stuff, so I just rolled with it. :)

Do I still post here, or have I been booted to the Lantus board? Guide me please...and please, be gentle.

Hugs & Kisses...I figure I owe you that after this agonizing post. :)

Deb
 
First things first...
You can post here for as long as you'd like. When you check out Lantus, read all their "stickies", and feel like you might want to post there, go for it. But stick around in Health for as long as you want! There aren't any "rules" for that.

1. Authority Pate Ocean Fish Recipe - 3 oz. - 11% carbs
2. Fancy Feast Chicken Feast in Gravy Grilled - 3oz - ? - Not on list
3. Fancy Feast Turkey Feast in Gravy Grilled - 3 oz - ? - Not on list
4. SophistaCat Flaked with Tuna & Egg in Sauce - 5.5 oz - 16% carbs
5. SophistaCat Supreme Flaked Tuna Dinner - 3 oz - he says it's 14% carbs; best I can tell, it's 4%
2. On the "old" canned list under "Grilled Chicken Feast" 18%
3. On the "old" canned list under "Grilled Turkey Feast" 18%
5. On the chart is listed as Sophisticat Adult Supreme Flaked Tuna Dinner, and 5% carbs

I'd put #5 in the "fine to feed anytime" category, and the rest in the hypo compartment.

Just wanted to throw that out there.....back later with more.
Carl
 
condo - a given day's posting thread - sort of a "home" for the days collection of related posts.

Infection absolutely may cause the glucose to increase. Its one of the first things you check when a cat in remission relapses and goes back on insulin. Teeth are a common culprit.

For the vet situation, a thought - vets may have differing areas of expertise. Maybe different vets could be helpful with different issues, like one for diabetes (who is willing to learn contemporary feline diabetes management if not already there), another for the IBD cat, maybe a third who specializes in dogs. (That has its own complications, tracking which animal sees which vet, but its an idea) Just as each cat is different (ECID), perhaps each vet is different (EVID).

While you're still getting things sorted out, its OK to post in Health. If you have specific questions on Lantus, posting on that forum will get you specific answers. I'll note that they follow the tight protocol described in a sticky at the top of the forum, which recommends preshot testing plus 1 or more tests mid-cycle, as Lantus doses are adjusted based on the lowest glucose in the 12 hour cycle (the nadir).
 
What is this "condo" I keep seeing in threads? I thought it was a place to live with no lawn maintenance. Seriously, what is it?
Not sure of the origin, but in FDMBspeak, "condo" is just your daily new thread with that day's report of kitty's progress. It also has no lawn to mow.
Is this what it's called? Fancy Feast Gravy Lover's? Is it a can, or a pouch?
It's just a junk food for kitties that comes in a can. Here's the link:
http://www.fancyfeast.com/wet-cat-food/gravy-lovers/ Looks yummy!

Has anyone looked at Marilyn's 12-Hr. curve graphs that are on separate tabs of her SS? They take a while to load on google docs. If I could have gotten that "curve" nicer...lower down on the graph in the numbers game...maybe she would have done okay with Humulin?

The shape of the curves is great. The starting and ending points were the problem. I think that you may have gotten some success eventually with Humulin, but, I think it may have been harder on Marilyn over the long run. Unless you could get her PS numbers lower, she'd always be in the "danger" zone at the high end. And TID may have driven you insane. Once she gets used to Lantus, her numbers will be more consistent and the curves less drastic. More gentle on her, less stressful for you. Win-win.
Anyway, doesn't an infection cause the BG to increase? Is it possible he was never diabetic in the first place, or it was induced by the infection, and temporary? I really would like to understand this better; I've just been too busy with Marilyn. Any thoughts? Is Clark really a Humulin success story? Am I beating a dead horse?
Did Clark ever get steroids for anything along the way? Yes, infections can cause BG to be higher. It is possible that Clark had a period of high BG that led to the conclusion he was diabetic. If the diagnosis was the result of just one blood test, that's possible. If a fruct test was run, that would show an average BG over like a two week period, so a misdiagnosis would be less likely. I would say that Clark is a success story, period. He apparently was over-dosed with Humulin for quite some time, and for him to go from there to where he is today is incredible. I am not sure about permanent damage. It's possible. That old "booboo" might not be gone for good though. Keep looking, he's in there somewhere.
It stinks you've had so many problems with the new vet. But don't ever feel you need to apologize for venting. We all do it at some point. We aren't just here to advise on FD. We're just as interested in hearing about the crappy days and the happy days. It's a "support group" too. Some day it will be you pulling somebody else up out of the muck. So vent away.

You are in PA, right? Have you posted asking if anyone knows of a good vet in the area?

So did you get the lantus at the rite-aid discounted price?

sold me Glyco-Flex for $15, that the cat won't touch...along with 5 other cats who also acted like it's poison. I asked if she could order Dasuquin for me (as long as it was under $21 per bottle; the best internet price I could find, that would require an Rx). She already knew I use Dasuquin for 3 other cats, but she doesn't carry it, so she pushed the Glyco-Flex instead. Apparently, she's not impressed that I can conduct my own trials here. Sub-par products won't fly; you can't blame something on one finicky feline...
How long will that last? I just paid $32 for 80 caps of Cosequin which will last almost 3 months. Not sure if that's a sub for what you got, but it's just caps you sprinkle on the food, supposed to be tuna flavored? Beats me, but Bob scarfs it mixed in with his FF and doesn't seem to notice it's there. I got it right from the vet, and didn't ask what it was going to cost. The only reason I know now is because I just looked at the invoice from last week's visit for the first time. I probably got ripped off....
So now I'm almost through Marilyn's first 12-hr curve using Lantus. It might be too soon for a curve, but I'm not comfortable with a new insulin, without a full set of numbers. I don't know how I'll sleep tonight...I need to sleep. I'll update her SS eventually.
Looking forward to seeing how she does,
Carl

edit to fix formatting....c
 
I think meltdown mode is now over. I’ll start a new thread with Marilyn’s Lantus numbers shortly.

Carl: Thanks for the detailed analysis of my "hypo kit" list. It's just what I was hoping for.

BJ: The suggestion of different vets is a good one, but only if I were younger. In my 20’s, I had three vets; but this approach won’t work for me now. I just need one good vet, with no drama, or mood swings. Although I continue to get very little sleep, I’m not as emotional as when she first blindsided me...I'm just angry now…I guess “mood swings” are contagious. To boil it down, the way she’s been behaving is unprofessional, rude, and just downright lazy. I’ll get it worked out eventually.

I've read the stickies on the Lantus board; but with me it's repetition. I'll have to read them a couple more times. I’ll just keep posting here, and I guess you guys will know when to direct me “over there”. Traci (and Boomer) recommended that I at least introduce myself to the Lantus folks.

Carl...again: Thanks for the info, links, and the confirmation that I can definitely live somewhere without lawn maintenance. I'm glad you interpreted the same curve info I thought I was seeing with the Humulin...but, yes, I agree that I must surrender to the Lantus. I hope I'm not in over my head, since I only know "The Humulin".

carlinsc said:
Did Clark ever get steroids for anything along the way? Yes, infections can cause BG to be higher. It is possible that Clark had a period of high BG that led to the conclusion he was diabetic. If the diagnosis was the result of just one blood test, that's possible.
No on the steroids. However, the rest of your quote is what I've been mulling over in silence. Nothing I can do about it now. I sure hope the old "Boo Boo" is still in there. I'll know when he's able to reach the kitchen ceiling, via the kitchen cabinets, again. Due to cost factors, and the fact that I may soon be “in-between vets” again, I’ve started him on Friskies Pate, and D/c’d the Purina DM. The food change might have upped his BG a little, but I need more data…and brain cells.

carlinsc said:
You are in PA, right? Have you posted asking if anyone knows of a good vet in the area?
Yes, I'm in Chester County, PA. No worries, I’ll go back to the drawing board, if need be. I’ll just have to go a little further from my house, which is not what I wanted.

carlinsc said:
So did you get the lantus at the rite-aid discounted price?
Nope. As expected, RiteAid was more than the Walmart price...not by much, but it certainly wasn't $11.82 for 10 mL's. I had to look into it though...and I got to see what my new "vet" is made of...priceless.

carlinsc said:
How long will that last? I just paid $32 for 80 caps of Cosequin which will last almost 3 months. Not sure if that's a sub for what you got, but it's just caps you sprinkle on the food, supposed to be tuna flavored? Beats me, but Bob scarfs it mixed in with his FF and doesn't seem to notice it's there. I got it right from the vet, and didn't ask what it was going to cost. The only reason I know now is because I just looked at the invoice from last week's visit for the first time. I probably got ripped off....
I’ve used “Dasuquin for Cats”, 84 capsules per bottle for many years now. Depending on the situation, and size of the cat, the starting dosage on Dasuquin is 1 cap BID. It’s then decreased to 1 cap SID, after so many days. In the past, I’ve gone through a bottle in two weeks. I thought Cosequin was strictly for dogs, but apparently, I’m mistaken. I don’t know what the difference is between the two products without research. I do know they are both made by NutriLabs, which is a wonderful company. I think most, if not all, of their supplements are Rx only…but it’s all quality stuff. That said, I could never pay $32 per bottle (in case my vet is “listening”). I buy about 3 bottles at a time; It’s possible I’ve gone through over a hundred bottles…not really sure; I've never counted. Did your vet clue you in on a duration? If you need to continue purchasing it, let me know and I’ll try to find a better price.

carlinsc said:
edit to fix formatting....c
What is this you speak of? :)
 
carlinsc said:
I just paid $32 for 80 caps of Cosequin which will last almost 3 months.

Carl, I found Cosequin made by Nutramax Lab 80 caps at a local pet supply, Care A Lot, for around 18.00. I've had it for awhile, since before Thumper was diagnosed but was unsure of using it with diabetes. Next time you need a bottle, do some shopping around. I think you can do better than the $32.00.
 
thanks to both Deb and Barbara for the info on cost. I figured I got hosed in that deal! I didn't really have time to shop for it. At the end of Bob's checkup, she said, I'd like to start him on cosequin, and the first thing out of my mouth was "is that something I can pick up here?" not wanting to have to make a stop at the pharmacy with a cat and carrier in the car.... oh well, live and learn. Next bottle will be dirt cheap!
Vet didn't mention how long to give it to him. I would guess long term, but we'll see in 3 months when the bottle gets used up.


carlinsc wrote:
edit to fix formatting....c

What is this you speak of? :)

when I first posted it, I had the code for quotes messed up, and all what I had quoted and what I had said were jumbled together, so I went back in and edited my post to correct the formatting. Anytime I "edit", I try to add a comment at the bottom to let people know what was edited. You can usually see a note that says "last edited at......" at the bottom of a post. I just try to let people know "what" the edit was.

Carl
 
carlinsc said:
I figured I got hosed in that deal! I didn't really have time to shop for it. At the end of Bob's checkup, she said, I'd like to start him on cosequin, and the first thing out of my mouth was "is that something I can pick up here?" not wanting to have to make a stop at the pharmacy with a cat and carrier in the car.... oh well, live and learn. Next bottle will be dirt cheap!


Been there, done that! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top