What's going on?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Haley & Franky

Member Since 2017
Franky had been getting pretty good numbers (100s-160s), but since Monday (5/8) her numbers have jumped up to the 200s! I haven't changed anything about her diet, the only thing that's different is we saw a new vet on Monday. I'm not sure what's going on. Last night I gave 2u. NPH and she dropped but came up after feeding her some FF. So this morning I only gave her 1.5u. Just trying to understand what's happening and what I should be doing. I work nights so on the days I have to sleep I make sure she has enough FF and my mom watches her, so I won't be able to check her sugar until this evening. I have her Spreadsheet up to date.
 
You've obviously done a good job with Franky so far. When you say 200's is it around 220 or approaching 300. I wouldn't panic just yet unless his numbers continue to climb and at a steady and continuous rate. You joined just 2 weeks ago, how long has Franky been diabetic? Noah is up to 7 units now and I'm barely keeping him under 300. I just loathe the idea of pumping all that insulin into an underweight old cat.
 
She was diagnosed 4/18. Her numbers have been running 220-260 since Monday. I just checked per PMPS and it was 181 so I just gave 0.5u.
 
I'm sorry to say I'm just not qualified to give you dosing advice. It's a "kind of" rule here but there are many members who would have stepped in by now if they saw something tragic happening. Noah is our second sugar cat, his brother Nigel was our first, so I've seen numbers go up and down for years now. Keep doing what you're doing and have faith in us. This is a great group of people. If you're not getting hourly responses it's because you're doing a good job.
 
She was looking good with the 0.25U so I think what you are seeing is some bouncing. Can last up to 6 cycles (3 days). Don't want to increase the dose to react to a bounce number. Thinking if she's over 150, don't give any more than 0.25U. Below 150, don't shoot. You've given a dose at lower numbers but I'm just playing it safe. ;) If you have a full time job, that's not working at home, I know mid-cycle tests are impossible but could you try to get a before bed test (+2 or +3)? Might help see where she's going for the night :cat:
 
Well I work night shift so whenever I'm not working I try to do +2-3 hour checks. This morning she was 224, so I just gave the 0.25u. We'll see what she is this evening!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top