What to give?

  • Thread starter Thread starter TempestsMum
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
T

TempestsMum

So last night I put down food for Tempest, she obviously didn't like it as didn't eat any. So I pretty sure it's because of that, I've given her breakfast now. Her bg has skyrocketed to 250 this am. Not sure what to dose as she's not been getting any insulin the last 5 days? Help please.
 
I would try a 0.35 (U40) because you've got these pre shot numbers earlier and then you gave 0.25(U40) and that didn't bring her down enough, and on the same kind of pre shot you've also given 0.50 and that was too much (you got pretty low green mids) . With the U100 you can finedose more.
1U on the U100 is 0.40 on the U40. So if you give a skinny 1U (let a drop out) you will get a 0.35 on the U40.
Is this clear what i'm saying? Does 0.35 sounds good for you?
 
Not sure 0.12 brought her down to the greens a couple of times from 249 and 250 range. That 0.35 seems high? Would 0.10 or 0.12 be better?
 
You can also try that if you don't feel comfortable to give 0.35 of course! You are the one that is holding the syringe :) and you need to feel confortable about the dose you give.
If you feel more comfortable with giving 0.10 then do that! 0.10 on U40 is 0.25 on a U100!
 
You can also try that if you don't feel comfortable to give 0.35 of course! You are the one that is holding the syringe :) and you need to feel confortable about the dose you give.
If you feel more comfortable with giving 0.10 then do that! 0.10 on U40 is 0.25 on a U100!

That's the first mark after the bottom one?
 
It's almost against the first mark, because if you count down from 5U then the second mark is 1U and the first one is 0 so that's really 1 drop. So go a little above the first mark (it's an eyeball game again)

The first mark is 1U so that's the one I suggested to give a skinny one and than you'll have 0.35.

image.jpeg
 
Btw, Tempest didn't like her food yesterday night? But did she eventually ate from it or did she put herself on a hungry strike untill this morning?
 
+2 was a fast drop from 250 to 149. Gave small meal of regular food, retested one hour later, still dropping. Given 1tablespoon of gravy retesting in 30 minutes don't want to overdo the gravy as she's still in ok numbers, just want to slow it down. Cat in good form wanting to play. Now on her throne washing herself.
 
Btw, Tempest didn't like her food yesterday night? But did she eventually ate from it or did she put herself on a hungry strike untill this morning?

Sorry just saw this Ruby. She just didn't eat it. Probably just licked the jelly off.
 
You'll become one of FDMB's ProZinc experts before long!

Lol doubt that! I'm trying not to be a pest I ask a lot of questions and support already as it is... And I know there's lots of others need help too especially the new ones. So trying to do better on my own I guess I'm hoping someone would step in and say something if I'm about to really mess up. :)
 
Asking questions is the way to go! We'd rather you do that than jsut sit and wonder. I used to ask questions ALL the time...probably still would if I had a diabetic! :)
 
Asking questions is the way to go! We'd rather you do that than jsut sit and wonder. I used to ask questions ALL the time...probably still would if I had a diabetic! :)

:bighug: Thank you Rachel. I just feel like an advice hog right now. Lol I have learned loads though! And delighted Tempest is doing so well and I'm not freaking out now. :cat:
 
Think that can be the reason Tempest was higher this morning. It's called hunger stress.

I will try something other than the butchers then she will pick at it. But isn't overly fussed about it. Feel bad just giving her the same flavours all the time. She doesn't like pates as only likes small pieces.
 
I will try something other than the butchers then she will pick at it. But isn't overly fussed about it. Feel bad just giving her the same flavours all the time. She doesn't like pates as only likes small pieces.

Definitely putting her favourite down at night time then and if she wakes me again looking fed I will be getting up lol

Great job with the cycle! I agree, you are getting good at this!

:rolleyes: Thank you! I'm trying
 
Ok this is weird? Tested at +8 and got 121 which is the same as at +4.5 - I had to go out so couldn't get any in between. Tested meter with test solution and seems fine.
 
Was so tired I fell asleep.
Thus morning amps is good 140 so she did eat some of the food I left out last night. :)
She does seem to be staying in the blues though not sure if there's any way to get her into the greens a bit more. I'm working today so can't get a picture overall.
 
130 amps wish I was at home today to see if she hits green after breakfast. No green on preshot times yet.
 
so great Tara these kind of pre shot numbers!
Don't beat yourself up over not seeing green numbers, they will come, be patient!
And don't forget you are using a pet meter what will automatically be higher (blues) than rather greens.
 
Providing things stay this settled, do you folks think Tempest would be OK if I left her for an evening on Saturday to go to a wedding - I was going to cancel going but wonder if missing one test in the evening would hurt? If she needed Insulin on Saturday morning I would of course cancel going and be here.
 
of course Tara, jeeeezzz you have a social life too! Tempest will be fine, especially without insulin! then you really don't have to worry!
go have fun, and enjoy the wedding.
And I have also left Baco multiple times (with pain in my heart) for things that I needed to do. I had tickets to see a cabaret show that my BF bought for my birthday months ago, and then.... Baco's diabetes happend... I asked the same question on here but @Bobbie And Bubba told me that life happens... and you need to do that also.. Baco needed insulin that day because she was just a few weeks in her diagnose... Yes her preshot number the day after was really high, but then you get it down in no time.. it's not recommended of course but life happens! Although we want to stop our life for our kitties, we just can't... we also need to relax sometimes Tara... DO YOU! Tempest will be fine:bighug:
 
@Ruby&Baco tomorrow is the first day I will be going out for a few hours to see friends since her diagnosis. I've turned down all the invites since so I'm really looking forward to some fun time with human company that's outside of work. But I will not be missing any of her tests as I will only be at work in the morning to do some wedding flowers then meeting friends for lunch and cinema and straight home.
Saturday I am going to the entire wedding so will be gone from 11am until late so it's the entire day away. I will leave her plenty of food out and have someone check her in the evening.

Lol I just feel I've worked s hard and don't want to let things drop backwards :) xx
 
You indeed worked so hard but I can't imagine that she would give you high numbers all off a sudden on Saturday! It just can't be, after all these great days of NS moments? I'll eat my shoe if she does!
Go have fun, enjoy your time away from Tempest for a day, you deserve that!
Have a great lunch tomorrow with your friends and catch up with them:bighug::kiss:
 
Yeah Tara, it's hard on all of us at first when we feel like our kitties are getting into better ranges and life takes us away from the house and we have to skip a shot for their best interest. I would be lying if I didn't tell you that I was so upset the first time I had to make a decision to skip or reduce for safety but, like Ruby said we do have to have a life outside of our sugar kitties.

Go have fun and Tempest will be just fine!

Go have fun, go have fun!!!!!!
 
Thank you for the reassurance :bighug::bighug::bighug: all being well on Saturday morning I will go :) it will be nice to let my hair down and relax for a whole day! :):):) I might even have a few glasses of wine or splash out and have a tot of whiskey! :rolleyes: Or maybe two! Lol

Aaaand there's the Pom poms! :joyful:

I'm holding you to the shoe thing Ruby hahaha ;)
 
No problem, I will eat it if i'm wrong! @Tempest, be a good kitty and please don't let me eat my shoe!!!!!!! hahahaha

Lol! I'm sure you would make that look tasty as well! ;)

She's sitting here purring Ruby.. Maybe she's laughing? Lol
 
Yes I think so too hahaha ;)

Well maybe Tempest is plotting agains me, trying to figure out a way to trick me.. Maybe she will just go behind the computer when you leave Saturday and will type in a number that is way too high so I would see it and then need to eat my shoe........
@Tempest, don't you dare young lady!! don't you dare trick me into believing that! and don't purr at me lady, otherwise I will purrrrrr at you!
 
Yes I think so too hahaha ;)

Well maybe Tempest is plotting agains me, trying to figure out a way to trick me.. Maybe she will just go behind the computer when you leave Saturday and will type in a number that is way too high so I would see it and then need to eat my shoe........
@Tempest, don't you dare young lady!! don't you dare trick me into believing that! and don't purr at me lady, otherwise I will purrrrrr at you!

She might lol she's a smart kitty!

Here she is tonight.

image.jpeg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top