?? What To Do When Numbers Drop

Scdal

Member Since 2020
Phoenix's morning preshot numbers have fallen to the 150 - 160 range. I am still giving him his full insulin dose. His numbers rise after he eats.
I want to be prepared as I think his morning preshot numbers will keep falling. At what numbers do I give a half dose or skip a shot? If his preshot falls to 120 or 140 in the morning, what do I do? I would appreciate an answer today since his numbers seem to be going lower each morning. Thank you
 
Dosing is based on the nadir. If between 90-149 you increase the dose. You can see what others say as he’s high dose but that’s the general role of thumb. Hoping this will get more responses. It’s great his numbers are trending in the right direction.
 
Looks like Phoenix could use some more help - which means an increase is coming up soon...please count your cycles per SLGS.

Will you be able to add an avatar any time soon? We'd love to see your beautiful kitties pic :)
 
Looks like Phoenix could use some more help - which means an increase is coming up soon...please count your cycles per SLGS.

Will you be able to add an avatar any time soon? We'd love to see your beautiful kitties pic :)
I am watching my cycles but Phoenix's numbers were all over the place when I increased after a week. His vet recommended staying at one dose for 2 weeks before increasing and giving his system time to adjust. So far, it seems to be working better for him.
I am just not sure what to do if his morning preshot falls below 140. Any suggestions?
 
You've done a great job lately getting data for +1 when you've shot lower numbers. It looks like he's been safe when you've shot in the 150's and has gone up after preshot, or at worst just dropped a little bit lower later in the cycle. I expect the same will be true for the 140's, especially if you are around to monitor that cycle.

I agree with the others, Phoenix is due for an increase to 7.5 units.
 
Back
Top