What to do next? (BG in 400s)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Izzy2017

Member Since 2017
I'll try to keep this short and to the point! :)

Izzy has been consistently in the upper 300s to low 400s for a while now. He is on cerenia every three days and metronidazole twice a day. He was having issues with loose and rank smelling stool and consistent vomiting so I am afraid to take him off any of the medicine ( I believe I finally got the house to not smell like a pile of poo....) We have slowly been trying to up his dose and his numbers are not moving.

A little over 3 weeks ago he started barfing and not eating and lost a few pounds. Since then we have been consistently keeping him on the above pills. We have not been pulling food for AMPS or PMPS since we do not want to put him off his food.

We are at 3.5u for a day now (not long enough to tell anything) but when we were at 3u and asked our vet if we should increase she said, "I rarely have to go above 3" and did not recommend upping his dosage.

He is a happy kitty and is running around with only mild neuropathy in his legs. He looks a lot better than he did 3 weeks ago and is at a normal weight. Externally he looks great! Internally I'm afraid of the damage that consistently being around 400 is doing. He is eating mostly wet food with some YAZ.

I did test my meter against our civvie (much to his dismay) and my meter gave a normal number. I'm just looking for pointers on what our course of action going forward should be?
 
I would cross post your question in the Lantus forum for more eyes to see. From what I see, it looks like you're not at the right dose yet but just continue to follow the SLGS protocol (the TR protocol, which is more aggressive, can't be used with a dry food diet)
 
Hi,
there is not enough data in your spreadsheet to be certain about what's going on... Any chance you can get in mid cycle tests - for both AM and PM cycle? It would be very helpful. Sometimes too much insulin acts as too little. By increasing doses by whole unit earlier this year you could have shoot past optimal dose - we usually increase by 0.25U at a time.
Since you are a Lantus user I strongly encourage you to post on the Lantus/Levemir forum and title your post something like "Dose advise", make the question mark title's prefix - you'll get more eyes on. There are many experienced members over there on L&L who can help, but again - there maybe not enough data in the spreadsheet to make sensible dose evaluation.
There are many who dealt successfully with nephropathy - asked about that as well. I think that better BG control, vitamin B12 and ,I think, Zobaline will help. I personally have no experience with nephropathy.
I hope Izzy's health improves soon!
 
I will cross post. I believe last time I posted I posted in the Lantus forum and they said I should post in Main Health instead!

When we started at the beginning of the year the vet advised to go from 1 to 2 units since there was no change in his BG tests. :(

We have been giving him b12 on his food to try and help with the neuropathy but I think at this point his BG really needs to come down.
 
Last edited:
will cross post. I believe last time I posted I posted in the Lantus forum and they said I should post in Main Health instead!
I don't think you've posted a thread on the lantus forum before, at least it's not in your history. I'm glad you posted there today.

I'll reply there with some thoughts.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top