What to do, is changing the dosage ok?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CBFullHouse

Member
My boy tested super low tonight, his numbers are gradually easing up and he's ok but I'd certainly like to avoid this in the future. He was originally on 1 unit twice a day, numbers were in the 2-300's so it was increased to 2 and his numbers were too low for me so I bumped it to 1.5 instead but I'm bouncing between 1.5 and 1 now depending on his numbers. He's been maintaining in the high double digits to the mid 100's, his Fructosamine test Friday came back 279 which if I read correctly is great for a non diabetic and low for a diabetic. I did his curve Monday but I can't figure out the spreadsheet thing. I'm barely computer-literate! If it loaded correctly this is his curve results from 7:30 am to 7:30 pm on 1.5 units. I took him off of all dry the day he was diagnosed, could certain low carb cans be causing his numbers to drop so much? He tested 48! He's back to 107 now but I'm thinking of with holding entirely tonight. My vets really not a great source of help, we're his first diabetic pet. Also I'm using Freestyle lite test strips in an AlphaTrak reader.
 

Attachments

  • pips second curve.jpg
    pips second curve.jpg
    68.3 KB · Views: 94
48 on an Alphatrak! Glad he's back up. That definitely calls for a decrease in dose. We usually don't shoot on a PS number below 200 until we have enough data to tell us it's ok. I couldn't set up the spreadsheet either, would you like us to get someone to do it for you? It would make it much easier to see what's going on.
 
Hi there! And so glad you got Pippen back up again. 48 is super low for an AT2. Sharon is correct, definitely reduce the dose and since we don't have a lot of data on you, I would skip the next dose as newly diabetic we recommend NOT to shoot under 200.

The change from dry to low carb wet and boiled chicken could have definitely helped to lower the BG levels so it's a good thing you are testing! Keep up the good job and let us know if you need help setting up the SS, wish I could say I would but I am in the same boat as you and someone had to help me too.
 
I agree that you need a lower dose. You mentioned that most of the test results you are getting are in the double digits. On the AT2 meter those numbers are in the normal range. From the curve you showed Pippen is doing a big drop then a fast rise back up again, which is often a sign of too high a dose, It would be extremely helpful to get your spreadsheet set up with all the data you have collected so far. The spreadsheet makes a most useful visual tool to track how the insulin is working and spot trends and gives a much better accounting than a graph. If you are having trouble getting the spreadsheet set up just ask and there are several people on here that can help you set it up very quickly.
 
Woah! So sorry we weren't around last night....I'm fast asleep early...and still tired in the morning!

@Marje and Gracie is our spreadsheet guru...she would probably be willing to help you out with the SS! I set up my own but it took a LONG time and lots of questions...and if I had known Marje did it then, I probably would have asked her to do mine!

As Sharon and Bobbie said, it is good to skip. If you get a number below 200, I would. If it's close to 200 (say like 180) stall for 20 minutes WITHOUT FOOD and retest to see if it went up. :)

I don't know much about the fructosamine results...since you are testing at home, you don't actually need that test. But I think your dose is probably too high. Did y ou get that 48 on the 1.5 unit dose?
 
Woah! So sorry we weren't around last night....I'm fast asleep early...and still tired in the morning!

@Marje and Gracie is our spreadsheet guru...she would probably be willing to help you out with the SS! I set up my own but it took a LONG time and lots of questions...and if I had known Marje did it then, I probably would have asked her to do mine!

As Sharon and Bobbie said, it is good to skip. If you get a number below 200, I would. If it's close to 200 (say like 180) stall for 20 minutes WITHOUT FOOD and retest to see if it went up. :)

I don't know much about the fructosamine results...since you are testing at home, you don't actually need that test. But I think your dose is probably too high. Did y ou get that 48 on the 1.5 unit dose?
No I only have him 1 that morning because he was low 100's in the am.
 
Im going to try and take another crack at the SS today after work, it's hard because I only have my phone and tablet, no regular computer. But ive got every trading he's had since we started written down on my own chart
 
I would be more than happy to do the SS for you. I can do it in one minute from my desktop and you will be able to use it from your phone and tablet. I truly do not mind at all.

If you would like me to do it for you, please send me a private message by clicking on "Marje and Gracie" to the left and then "start a conversation". I'll then send you the info I need. I'm happy to help.....it's stressful enough starting out.
 
I would be more than happy to do the SS for you. I can do it in one minute from my desktop and you will be able to use it from your phone and tablet. I truly do not mind at all.

If you would like me to do it for you, please send me a private message by clicking on "Marje and Gracie" to the left and then "start a conversation". I'll then send you the info I need. I'm happy to help.....it's stressful enough starting out.
Thank you so much! I'm off to work shortly but I will contact you later, thanks again :)
 
He's 163 now after eating his FF can, I have to leave at nine, I'll test one more time but I'm thinking I should skip this shot too? That'll mean he missed last night and this mornings, is that ok?
 
Skip the shot. Going down after eating is a good sign and means his pancreas is helping out.


Sue

She had posted on the FB page and ended up giving a skinny 0.50 with a reading of 207. One thing she mentioned on FB is that Pippen has had a DKA episode in the past. I commented on her post that she needs to add that to her signature since that will affect dosing decisions.
 
Thank you, I will add that to my signature, I thought I'd got everything on there but completely missed that super important info. Just to add he's regained most of his leg use, but they are definitly not as good as they were before his episode.
 
Thank you, I will add that to my signature, I thought I'd got everything on there but completely missed that super important info. Just to add he's regained most of his leg use, but they are definitly not as good as they were before his episode.


When a kitty has had a DKA episode people are more cautious about skipping doses. Of course if the preshot is too low, then that is all that can be done. With shooting 0.50 unit with the 207 reading that will make sure the numbers don't go too high.

When you add the DKA to your signature it would be useful to have the date it happened.

Glad to see the neuropathy is improving. :bighug:
 
We are all in different time zones so 7:20 won't give us an idea of the cycle. +11 means 11 hours since the last shot. How many hours since the last shot did you get 127?
 
Oh, sorry! I just tested him right now for his diner and he was 153 at 8:30. Exactly twelve hours ago he was 163. At nine am he was 207 and I gave him .5 this morning.
 
You could try stalling for 20 minutes without food and retest, hoping that he is over 200 and rising. My guess is that he is unlikely to go up that much so you may need to skip.

He is likely to be higher tomorrow morning as he will have been 24 hours since his last shot. But I would give a little less insulin than today, hoping that you get two shootable pre shots. Since 0.5 minus a few drops gave you a low pmps, you might try a drop. First pull up 0.5 of water in a syringe. Let it out a drop at a time, counting the drops. Tomorrow am, pull up 0.5 and let out the drops, save one or two. Shoot that.

Looks like he may not need insulin long. Anti jinx.
 
That would be amazing! I was told he was a poor candidate for remission since he was older and a good weight, so I didn't have much hope for that.
 
What's my goal range to keep his BG in? I was under the impression it was in the 100's, so I only shoot if he breaks 200 right? So would I shoot high 100's to prevent him from breaking into the 200's in the first place?
 
First goal is regulation - pre shots in the mid to low 200s with Nadirs in the low 100s or double digits, but above 50 on a human meter or 68 on a pet meter. Then fine tune. We consider a cat in remission if they range from 40-120 off insulin for 2 weeks.

His pre shots are already in a regulated (or better) range
 
I would not shoot under 200 until you have enough data to have a good idea what he might do in terms of levels - how low a dose might take him. Once you have lots of data, you might shoot lower. The important thing is that he not go too low mid cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top