What to do if possible fur shot and BG is high at +2 ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

alohaamoore

Member Since 2014
Her AMPS at 7:50am was 388 and I just now checked her at +2 and her BG is 429. I think I may have given her a fur shot I didn't feel any wetness (maybe bc we are only at 1 unit so it's not noticable?) Do I just wait til this evening to give her PM shot??

I also haven't been able to test for Ketones yet I haven't been able to catch her peeing. She does however pee whenever she is scared, for example.. when she is about to get a bath and also pees if I put her in her carrier (to go to the vet) so I came up with a solution before any vet trips to put her in the bath and turn the water on a little to encourage her to pee so that she doesn't pee in the carrier before an appointment so I am thinking of doing that today so I can test for Ketones bc I am worried :/
 
Hopefully someone with more experience will be along shortly to advise you better, but I think the general rule about questionable injections is to wait until the next dose.

Assuming your sig is up to date and you're using Vetsulin, the higher BG at +2 could possibly be due to the food before her injection. I'd suggest checking Nala's BG again at +3 and +4 - that's the expected onset time for peak action of the amorphous part of Vetsulin/Caninsulin.

WRT the winky-tinkies on the way to/from the vets, Saoirse has the same problem. :oops: I line her carrier with a towel and place an absorbent puppy pad over the towel. It doesn't prevent the towel from getting damp, but it soaks up most of the 'accident' and traps odours.
 
Thank youu so much =)

Sorry for the freak-out post I just checked her again at +3 and it went down to 394 so i'm pretty sure I got the shot in. I'm still new to all of this so I didn't even think that her food is probably what made it go up. Now I am hoping to catch her peeing so I can test for Ketones
 
Never shoot again if you think you had a fur shot. Better too high for a day than too low for a moment. The first causes problems s l o w l y; the second can kill your cat quickly.
 
Glad I was able to help a little. I'm fairly new to this sugar dance too, and it scares the willies out of me. nailbite_smile

I just had a quick look at Nala's spreadsheet. The poor mite is really having a time of it. :sad: If you haven't already done so, I'd suggest letting your vets know asap about her digestive upsets. In particular, the vomiting is a major issue when it comes to giving insulin, because Nala needs the food in her system for the insulin to work on. If she does vomit after you have given insulin keep a close eye on her BG level and try to get food into her again without delay, but feed slowly and steadily to avoid triggering another bout of vomiting. Might not be a bad idea to have some medium carb food and your sugar syrup/honey to hand in case her numbers were to get low.

If you haven't already seen them, BJM's secondary monitoring recommendations are invaluable for developing a better understanding of Nala's general GI/urinary rhythms, for spotting any unusual clinical signs, and as a diagnostic aid for your vets (both now and for the future).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top