What to do if my Cat hasn't eaten?? I've delayed PM shot so far

Audrey F.

Member Since 2019
Hi there, it's like my cat flipped a switch last night at some point and doesn't want to eat. I gave him his AM shot, I also gave him fluids about 2 hours ago, but I have delayed his PM shot, should I not give him one at all? Half dose? We're still working towards his best dose, he's been on Lantus for about 2 months now. Thanks
 
Is he eating anything at all?

With Lantus, it's OK to shoot as long as they'll eat in the next 2-3 hours (before it "kicks in") and with him in the 300's, it's probably best to go ahead and shoot.

If you have to, you may need to syringe feed him later.

Also, not sure what you mean about the 2 hours and delaying the shot (how you have it on your spreadsheet)…...The AMPS and PMPS are always the number you actually shoot....so if (for example) you're usual shot time is 6, but you don't shoot until 8, you'd put ### @ +14 in the PS cell (since it had been 14 hours since the last shot)
 
Is he eating anything at all?

With Lantus, it's OK to shoot as long as they'll eat in the next 2-3 hours (before it "kicks in") and with him in the 300's, it's probably best to go ahead and shoot.

If you have to, you may need to syringe feed him later.

Also, not sure what you mean about the 2 hours and delaying the shot (how you have it on your spreadsheet)…...The AMPS and PMPS are always the number you actually shoot....so if (for example) you're usual shot time is 6, but you don't shoot until 8, you'd put ### @ +14 in the PS cell (since it had been 14 hours since the last shot)

He has licked at some food this afternoon and same with about an hour ago. I'm on the 3rd type of food to try to get something to catch his taste! I also do have appetite stimulant so I think at this point of about 12 hrs of hardly licking the food I'll give him that.

Thank you about the numbers/spreadsheet, I have NOT given him a shot this evening. I thought I was but then held off to see what he would do. I'll fix it on the spreadsheet.
 
I'll fix it on the spreadsheet.

Close but what you need to do is "stack" the +14 and +15 numbers in the PMPS cell. You type 313 @+14 316 @+15 in the PMPS cell ….but you'll have to color code it yourself.

The PS number is always the number you shoot.....if you decide not to shoot at all, you put N.S. in the U cell. So IF you shoot now (at +15), the rest of the + cells still correspond to the number of hours since the last shot.

Remember, if you don't shoot until 3 hours past your usual shot time, you have to adjust your shot times over the next several days. You need to shoot every 12 hours, but it's safe to move back 15 minutes per cycle or 30 minutes per day until you're back to your chosen shot time.
 
Close but what you need to do is "stack" the +14 and +15 numbers in the PMPS cell. You type 313 @+14 316 @+15 in the PMPS cell ….but you'll have to color code it yourself.

The PS number is always the number you shoot.....if you decide not to shoot at all, you put N.S. in the U cell. So IF you shoot now (at +15), the rest of the + cells still correspond to the number of hours since the last shot.

Remember, if you don't shoot until 3 hours past your usual shot time, you have to adjust your shot times over the next several days. You need to shoot every 12 hours, but it's safe to move back 15 minutes per cycle or 30 minutes per day until you're back to your chosen shot time.
Ahhh ok I understand now. Thank you for clarifying. I'm not going to shoot as I don't have the flexibility over the upcoming days to adjust his shot time that much, as of now I'm +3.5 past normal time. So I'm hoping missing the shot will be the lesser of an issue and given that I don't know if he'll actually eat it seems safer. But I have given him the appetite stimulant, hopefully by morning it'll kick in. If not I'll give the vet a call!
 
Back
Top