What the heck?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Member Since 2015
This is a first, At +7 last night, Bubba went up to 321. I double checked it. This AMPS he was 476. Guess raise the dose? It's almost like the insulin did not last 12 hours, Any ideas?
 
Oh Bubba!!! Sigh. I keep thinking I'll look at his SS and say oh this is what happened...but he surely doesn't share the music of his dance with us!

I will say that even yesterday, he was running higher. He had been dropping into blues and yesterday didn't get below yellow. This to say, I think you'd be okay to raise the dose...maybe 2.4...and just keep an eye on things?
 
Oh Bubba!!! Sigh. I keep thinking I'll look at his SS and say oh this is what happened...but he surely doesn't share the music of his dance with us!

I will say that even yesterday, he was running higher. He had been dropping into blues and yesterday didn't get below yellow. This to say, I think you'd be okay to raise the dose...maybe 2.4...and just keep an eye on things?
Thanks Rachel, that's what I was thinking too.
 
Bubba, Bubba, Bubba. I swear the music he listens to for this dance is jazz - which we know is challenging to dance to...

I agree with the dose raise, Bobbie. His numbers have been looking good - yellows and blues and few lower ps, but he can definitely afford to drop. He is certainly challenging. If he were a high dose kitty, I think we'd see the doses doing little and having to raise more often. But that is not happening. He isn't looking bad at all - just not responding as well as we'd like after being on insulin for months. So we might think teeth - but you got those done. Or another infection - which isn't likely. There is no change that there is a slow infection of some kind in the eye you eventually want to get surgery on?

I guess, when this vial is gone, look into one of the L insulin and see if he responds differently to those.
 
Bubba, Bubba, Bubba. I swear the music he listens to for this dance is jazz - which we know is challenging to dance to...

I agree with the dose raise, Bobbie. His numbers have been looking good - yellows and blues and few lower ps, but he can definitely afford to drop. He is certainly challenging. If he were a high dose kitty, I think we'd see the doses doing little and having to raise more often. But that is not happening. He isn't looking bad at all - just not responding as well as we'd like after being on insulin for months. So we might think teeth - but you got those done. Or another infection - which isn't likely. There is no change that there is a slow infection of some kind in the eye you eventually want to get surgery on?

I guess, when this vial is gone, look into one of the L insulin and see if he responds differently to those.
Switching after this vial is probably a good option. His eye was just rechecked and there is not glaucoma yet which will eventually happen if the eye isn't removed. So, no pressure, no pain and that was as of Sept. 14th; I'm not anticipating the eye. But who knows. He had been up to 2.6 units prior to the teeth cleaning, so perhaps he does just need more. I will check for ketones again also. Thanks Sue and yes, he is a jazz cat.
 
upload_2015-10-1_6-41-10.jpeg
 
He's doing so well! I've been bad about updating his SS. I really need to do that. I'm testing every other day right now and he's been running in the mid-70's to low-80's. So still moving slightly lower. I haven't seen a 90 in a whole week! (knock on wood, quick!). He's also getting snotty about his food and doesn't seem to want the FF anymore. All he wants is the raw. Of course. Why wouldn't he pick the most expensive food? Sigh. The things we do for our sugar kitties!

I just can't get over how healthy he is now! He's always had a pretty ugly coat -- but I was noticing the other day that it's silky smooth and laying flat instead of all clumpy. And his energy is just great. Last night he managed to get a dresser drawer open, pushed ALL of the clothes out, and then squeezed his new svelte little body out the back of the drawer and down into the drawer below it. There he made a little nest for himself in my sweaters. And then started yowling for me to come see what he did! Bless his furry little heart!

Bubba does have the most interesting spreadsheet of all of the kitties around here. I wonder if we put musical notes to the different numbers what it would sound like? ;) Sending good thoughts that his numbers will turn lower again! You do such a great job of keeping up with him!
 
He's doing so well! I've been bad about updating his SS. I really need to do that. I'm testing every other day right now and he's been running in the mid-70's to low-80's. So still moving slightly lower. I haven't seen a 90 in a whole week! (knock on wood, quick!). He's also getting snotty about his food and doesn't seem to want the FF anymore. All he wants is the raw. Of course. Why wouldn't he pick the most expensive food? Sigh. The things we do for our sugar kitties!

I just can't get over how healthy he is now! He's always had a pretty ugly coat -- but I was noticing the other day that it's silky smooth and laying flat instead of all clumpy. And his energy is just great. Last night he managed to get a dresser drawer open, pushed ALL of the clothes out, and then squeezed his new svelte little body out the back of the drawer and down into the drawer below it. There he made a little nest for himself in my sweaters. And then started yowling for me to come see what he did! Bless his furry little heart!

Bubba does have the most interesting spreadsheet of all of the kitties around here. I wonder if we put musical notes to the different numbers what it would sound like? ;) Sending good thoughts that his numbers will turn lower again! You do such a great job of keeping up with him!
Samir's numbers are awesome and too cute about your sweater drawer (which reminds me to get mine out as it is turning cold here). Oh, and sure he has to like the expensive stuff! It's amazing how much their fur tells us about how they are doing. Thanks for the good wishes!
 
I feel your pain as well. I'm still not clear - when BS are high from what seems to be a clear bounce, is the regular dose given until the bounce is over with?
Yes, and sometimes it takes days for the bounce to clear. The nadir number helps give some more information as to what is going on. In Bubba's case, his lowest number wasn't as low as he had been going previously, so I knew an increase was necessary. It's still confusing to me too, Carol because Bubba just doesn't want to reveal a pattern. It's something new every few days! :banghead:
 
I am still confused So do you think he bounced from the blues the day before last ? If so, and if I understand this correctly, you would normally wait a few days to increase the dose (if starting from a higher set point from the bounce, wouldn't the nadir also be higher? And once the bounce was gone, you would resume with normal dose? Or give higher dose whenever there is a higher nadir? I think Murphy is having frequent bouncing, so I'm really trying to figure this out thanks for your patience with me, everyone
 
Let's let some of the more experienced ones weigh in on your questions, I am not sure how to answer those questions as I am still trying to figure out dosing myself. I am going to tag some peeps for you. @Sue and Oliver (GA) ,@Robin&BB ,@Rachel ,@BJM
I am going to leave this one to sages Sue & Rachel today, as I am running on ZERO zzzzs last night ... & the whole concept of bouncing makes my head spin:confused:, even when I'm not stupid from lack-0'-sleep!
Bubba, Bubba, Bubba. I swear the music he listens to for this dance is jazz
Bobbie, it's time you take away Bubba's Yellow Jackets CDs. Now. (Maybe replace with some soothing Brahms?) Or sit him in front of your computer & let him listen to this lovely Bach piece:
(Bubba would look pretty cool in one of those powdered wigs, too!:D)

Seriously, though ... it's starting to look like Bubba may need to try something like Lantus after you're finished with this vial. (How close are you to that?) As we all know you've diligently tried everything, yet his body just doesn't seem to want to cooperate on ProZinc. Gee, Bobbie - I can actually feel your frustration, all the way out here. But we will get Mr. Jazz-Cat figured out before much longer, one way or another. Hang in there, sweetie!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm on my phone so forgive any typos or questions I forget please! When you shoot the same dose into a bounce you may have a higher nadir. You want that really because going as low or lower will cause more bouncing. The goal is to get them to have a smile curve that's gentle...no steep drops. Once the bounce has cleared the dose will depend on the numbers you're getting...could be changed or stay the same.
 
Thanks Robin. And for the Bach piece too! It is head spinning for sure. I have spent most of today staring at his SS and seeing if I can spy anything I am doing wrong. When he has had a PS in the 200's, I have lowered the dose. Thinking maybe that is something I should not have been doing. After that reduction, the next dose when he has been higher, I haven't brought the dose up and maybe that has been a mistake I have been making. Also, definitely notice that when I make him stay in, he stays high and flat. So, the little bugger is out now for some exercise catching mice, other wise he curls up into a ball and does nothing. And this bottle of prozinc was just started on 9.25 so I am probably with it for another 4 months... However, if things don't improve, I will ask the vet for a RX for Lantus and hopefully, he will give me one because he doesn't RX he said because he knows nothing about it. . We are not giving up.
 
I'm on my phone so forgive any typos or questions I forget please! When you shoot the same dose into a bounce you may have a higher nadir. You want that really because going as low or lower will cause more bouncing. The goal is to get them to have a smile curve that's gentle...no steep drops. Once the bounce has cleared the dose will depend on the numbers you're getting...could be changed or stay the same.
Thanks Rachel, that is making sense to me right now, but I'll probably get stupid again. Think I am copying your explanation and putting in my file.
 
I am going to leave this one to sages Sue & Rachel today, as I am running on ZERO zzzzs last night ... & the whole concept of bouncing makes my head spin:confused:, even when I'm not stupid from lack-0'-sleep!

Bobbie, it's time you take away Bubba's Yellow Jackets CDs. Now. (Maybe replace with some soothing Brahms?) Or sit him in front of your computer & let him listen to this lovely Bach piece:
(Bubba would look pretty cool in one of those powdered wigs, too!:D)

Seriously, though ... it's starting to look like Bubba may need to try something like Lantus after you're finished with this vial. (How close are you to that?) As we all know you've diligently tried everything, yet his body just doesn't seem to want to cooperate on ProZinc. Gee, Bobbie - I can actually feel your frustration, all the way out here. But we will get Mr. Jazz-Cat figured out before much longer, one way or another. Hang in there, sweetie!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
PS Funny you said Yellow Jackets CD, he is deadly allergic to yellow jackets. He got stung one summer and went into shock, that was not fun.
 
PS Funny you said Yellow Jackets CD, he is deadly allergic to yellow jackets. He got stung one summer and went into shock, that was not fun.
Dang! Our late dog was highly allergic, too - she was always trying to bite yellow jackets! Her doggie lips would blow up like balloons; although it looked funny & clown-like, those allergic reactions are not something to laugh off! So I'm sorry about the reference to Yellow Jackets :((what an amazing jazz band, though; love those guys). So maybe Bubba listens to some old Weather Report albums when you're not looking, or maybe Sonny Rollins? :cool:Watch out, 'cause Mr. Bubba-Trubba (kind of a jazzy word for "trouble" there) may be sneaking cigars while he's out there cruisin' for dem mousies (cartoon by the late, great B. Kliban):
love-to-eat-them-mousies.jpg
 
Hey Bobbie,

Just looked at Bubba's SS. Yep, he and Nicky have been talking again on how to make their Mommas crazy. I decided to stay with ProZinc and just got a new bottle. I am going to put him on a lower Carb food and then up his dose if I have to. We shall see what happens. The funny thing is that Nicky seems more active than ever with the higher numbers. Crazy cats <g>. You just gotta love them. Hang in there.

-Luann
 
Hey Bobbie,

Just looked at Bubba's SS. Yep, he and Nicky have been talking again on how to make their Mommas crazy. I decided to stay with ProZinc and just got a new bottle. I am going to put him on a lower Carb food and then up his dose if I have to. We shall see what happens. The funny thing is that Nicky seems more active than ever with the higher numbers. Crazy cats <g>. You just gotta love them. Hang in there.

-Luann
Hi Luann, I have been thinking about you and Nicky and was just getting ready to look at his SS. Yes, crazy is the word. He had NO pattern or rhyme or reason. Interesting about the high numbers and energy, seems like Bubba is the same. So, what's that mean? Wondering if it means their bodies go comfortable functioning in those higher numbers....... I just started a new bottle of ProZinc too on Sept. 25th. If he doesn't get regulated by the end of this bottle, I will switch to Lantus. Might have to switch vets too because he knows nothing about Lantus and not sure if he will RX it. You hang in there too. :bighug:
 
Good morning Bobbie, I see you got a pretty blue preshot! Good luck today:cat:
Thanks Sharon, however, he was 200 + 7 last night ( 1 AM) so, I not sure if he went lower and was coming back up again this morning. He dose this often where I don't know if I am shooting a falling number. [SIGH ] Thought it was prudent to shoot a skinny dose and keep him inside (it's rainy anyway) And good luck to you and Colin today also!
 
Good morning Bobbie, I see you got a pretty blue preshot! Good luck today:cat:
Thanks Sharon, however, he was 200 + 7 last night ( 1 AM) so, I not sure if he went lower and was coming back up again this morning. He dose this often where I don't know if I am shooting a falling number. [SIGH ] Thought it was prudent to shoot a skinny dose and keep him inside (it's rainy anyway) And good luck to you and Colin today also!
 
Thanks, he's 406 this AM. Don't know if we're bouncing or it's because I cut his dose some last night. I left a question post on the Levemir forum, but it's already 10 posts down the page and not one look! Good thing it's not an emergency. I guess if I don't hear anything I'll post the dose ? on main health...
 
Thanks, he's 406 this AM. Don't know if we're bouncing or it's because I cut his dose some last night. I left a question post on the Levemir forum, but it's already 10 posts down the page and not one look! Good thing it's not an emergency. I guess if I don't hear anything I'll post the dose ? on main health...
It must be a bit frustration to be in a forum that big. After I see lower numbers on Bubba and then see big numbers, I always assume a bounce but then again, I just don't know with that one. He is as Sue says :" consistently inconsistent"
 
Sharon I am so sorry for your red number this morning - well, it's still early into the Levemir so you have time to figure it out I'm still getting reds pre am and pm shots - but Murphy is so uncontrolled I feel relieved when I get a red (not a black) I like the consistently inconsistent quote
Sharon - do you go to the vet today for the clipping?
 
Pattern? What does that mean, HA! I was scared shooting that number because I wasn't sure if it was a falling number so I made it "skinny".
 
Thanks, he's 406 this AM. Don't know if we're bouncing or it's because I cut his dose some last night. I left a question post on the Levemir forum, but it's already 10 posts down the page and not one look! Good thing it's not an emergency. I guess if I don't hear anything I'll post the dose ? on main health...

@Sharon14 Did you use CAPS or the question icon? Sometimes that works. Unfortunately, with such a large forum, first thing in the am is a very busy time. When in doubt, you can go back to the stickies. They do have a cookbook approach that they use with every cat. So, if his nadir is this, do this. Maybe print this off:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-start-low-go-slow-method-slgs.129446/

A way down the page, it says to hold the dose for a week unless...and then if his numbers are this, you do this...

You can also post on Health but most L people hang out in their forum.....Catch 22. You might be lucky enough to find someone who likes hanging out in Health who uses Levemir and will watch for you.
 
Bobbie, I know this is probably a stupid question, but what does "nv pee and poopW" mean in the comments on your SS? (Did he poop to the west? You know ... in my general direction?) Loved that nice blue 190 AMPS today!:D
 
I decided to stay with ProZinc and just got a new bottle. I am going to put him on a lower Carb food and then up his dose if I have to. We shall see what happens. The funny thing is that Nicky seems more active than ever with the higher numbers. Crazy cats <g>. You just gotta love them. Hang in there. -Luann
@Luann and Nicky - Howdy there, gal! I just got a new bottle of ProZinc last week, hoping that would make a difference because mine last one was 7 months old. But - ha! - just when I thought (yesterday @ AMPS) we were having a breakthrough , but --- nope! And now I think I may have bounced her, even on this stinkin' dinky-dose.:banghead: (And @Bobbie And Bubba , too) My patience pants are starting to wear awfully thin lately!
 
Sharon I am so sorry for your red number this morning - well, it's still early into the Levemir so you have time to figure it out I'm still getting reds pre am and pm shots - but Murphy is so uncontrolled I feel relieved when I get a red (not a black) I like the consistently inconsistent quote
Sharon - do you go to the vet today for the clipping?

Hi Carol. We're still in the reds at+6. I'm guessing(hoping) I had a fur shot this AM. We are going to the vet in a few minutes for the clipping. I know what you mean about being relieved with red. When I started this I wanted OTJ, now I just want yellows...(well of course I still want OTJ...)
 
@Sharon14 Did you use CAPS or the question icon? Sometimes that works. Unfortunately, with such a large forum, first thing in the am is a very busy time. When in doubt, you can go back to the stickies. They do have a cookbook approach that they use with every cat. So, if his nadir is this, do this. Maybe print this off:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-start-low-go-slow-method-slgs.129446/

A way down the page, it says to hold the dose for a week unless...and then if his numbers are this, you do this...

You can also post on Health but most L people hang out in their forum.....Catch 22. You might be lucky enough to find someone who likes hanging out in Health who uses Levemir and will watch for you.

Thanks Sue, yes I used the ? Icon, and I printed the info you mentioned just yesterday. I'm sure someone will answer, I just worry if I have a more pressing question, like last night I didn't even bother to post because I knew I didn't have time to wait. I'll figure it out. It helps having y'all to vent to. Thanks.
 
@Luann and Nicky - Howdy there, gal! I just got a new bottle of ProZinc last week, hoping that would make a difference because mine last one was 7 months old. But - ha! - just when I thought (yesterday @ AMPS) we were having a breakthrough , but --- nope! And now I think I may have bounced her, even on this stinkin' dinky-dose.:banghead: (And @Bobbie And Bubba , too) My patience pants are starting to wear awfully thin lately!
We better see if we can get a big 'ole shipment of those patience pants! ;)
 
Bobbie, I know this is probably a stupid question, but what does "nv pee and poopW" mean in the comments on your SS? (Did he poop to the west? You know ... in my general direction?) Loved that nice blue 190 AMPS today!:D
Not a stupid question, it got all jumbled up on me. The w is supposed to be "with" pumpkin and NV abbreviation for NaturVet , the pre and pro biotics I give him daily. He's doing something to the west that crazy jazz cat. He's like a bub-a -nick.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top