scienceofcats
Member Since 2018
Can anyone offer some guidance for setting a no-shoot blood glucose pre-shot cutoff, and also whether there are intermediates where I should give like a half dose, for example?
I gave a full dose (2.0 units) tonight with her PMPS bG = 9.8 mmol/L (177 mg/dL), which made me a bit nervous. My logic was that 9.8 is very close to 10.2, a value she had last night where she was fine with 2 units. I’m up anyways, so I’ll do a test on her before bed just to be extra cautious, but I won’t always be able to do that.
I want to make sure I never risk hypoglycaemia, especially when I can’t do mid-cycle tests (such as during a work day, or when I’m out for the night). Any advice is appreciated!
Edit: her +4 is 7.8 mmol/L (140 mg/dL), which is a 20% drop that puts her on course for an expected nadir of ~6 mmol/L (~110 mg/dL). I’m less nervous now and am going to bed so that I’m not a complete zombie at e-work tomorrow lol. But yeah, any advice on what the no-shoot should be would be great.
I gave a full dose (2.0 units) tonight with her PMPS bG = 9.8 mmol/L (177 mg/dL), which made me a bit nervous. My logic was that 9.8 is very close to 10.2, a value she had last night where she was fine with 2 units. I’m up anyways, so I’ll do a test on her before bed just to be extra cautious, but I won’t always be able to do that.
I want to make sure I never risk hypoglycaemia, especially when I can’t do mid-cycle tests (such as during a work day, or when I’m out for the night). Any advice is appreciated!
Edit: her +4 is 7.8 mmol/L (140 mg/dL), which is a 20% drop that puts her on course for an expected nadir of ~6 mmol/L (~110 mg/dL). I’m less nervous now and am going to bed so that I’m not a complete zombie at e-work tomorrow lol. But yeah, any advice on what the no-shoot should be would be great.
Last edited:
