What should my “no-shoot” number be?

Status
Not open for further replies.

scienceofcats

Member Since 2018
Can anyone offer some guidance for setting a no-shoot blood glucose pre-shot cutoff, and also whether there are intermediates where I should give like a half dose, for example?

I gave a full dose (2.0 units) tonight with her PMPS bG = 9.8 mmol/L (177 mg/dL), which made me a bit nervous. My logic was that 9.8 is very close to 10.2, a value she had last night where she was fine with 2 units. I’m up anyways, so I’ll do a test on her before bed just to be extra cautious, but I won’t always be able to do that.

I want to make sure I never risk hypoglycaemia, especially when I can’t do mid-cycle tests (such as during a work day, or when I’m out for the night). Any advice is appreciated!

Edit: her +4 is 7.8 mmol/L (140 mg/dL), which is a 20% drop that puts her on course for an expected nadir of ~6 mmol/L (~110 mg/dL). I’m less nervous now and am going to bed so that I’m not a complete zombie at e-work tomorrow lol. But yeah, any advice on what the no-shoot should be would be great.
 
Last edited:
I cannot give specific dosing advice. But I do remember back when I shot at a reading of 175 people here came unglued but it was too late. I didnt panic Just watched him closely and tested maybe twice. He was fine. BUT I wouldnt do it again. Hang on for more specific help. :bighug:
 
Noel, you did great with that dose. And now you know you can do a full dose at 177 and she's likely to respond to it fine. Now, I see at PM she was at 8.9. Is that 142 in my crazy US calculations? As Deb mentioned above, under 150 is certainly a time to skip a full dose, but remember you have options. You could stall (wait 20 minutes without feeding to see if her number comes up), skip, or give a half dose or a token dose (like .25 or a drop).

She's certainly trending lower. Keep your eyes peeled, and if she dips down into the greens mid-cycle, (some mid-cycle test would be a really good idea right now) be prepared to drop her dose by .25 of a unit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top