What should I do? SAM PMPS 267

Status
Not open for further replies.

KristenP&Sam

Member Since 2010
At his +6 he was 276, so I gave him another .6 shot. He's at 267 now and I'd kind of like to give him his full dose of 1.3 to try to give him some good numbers over night. Thoughts?
 
It sounds dangerous to me.

He had a perfect U curve yesterday so today was probably a bounce from the good nadir. Panicky liver, and we usually let that clear by itself. If you shoot a bounce number, when it clears he may have too much insulin on board and be in trouble.

I would shoot a reduced dose tonight to give that .6 extra shot some room.
 
I understand the desire to get the #s lower, but I really think +6 shots are playing with fire. I'd much rather see you shoot a bigger dose at +12s and monitor. It's more predictable that way, and easier to decipher the data. Right now you are in a spot where you really have no idea if he is going to drop late to lower #s or not, so it's risky to shoot right now. More or less he has 2u in his system, you just don't know how much the 1.3 has worn off, so it makes dosing really tough.

If you don't want to wait til +12s (and I don't blame you!), you might experiment with something more like +8 or +10 shots. At least then you can have a greater confidence level that he is past nadir.

If you do want to keep doing sort-of booster shots early, I'd PM someone like Jojo and get some advice. It's definitely beyond my expertise to give any dosing advice on +6 shots.

If it were me and you haven't already shot tonight, I would wait at least 2 hours before shooting again, then make sure you have a clear rising # and shoot a reduced dose. If it isn't a clear rising # I'd shoot a token dose like 0.2, maybe 0.4 to hold him through the night, and then start again in the morning.

Sorry to be a downer :cry: the +6 shots just make me really nervous. You can end up with a green a couple hours later which is great if that's what you want and you are around to monitor & treat if needed, but too easy IMO to accidentally overdo it, since the doses are mostly guesswork on stuff like that. When I have done early shots like that it was out of panic, so if that is what is driving you, I'd take some deep breaths and regroup.

If you are doing it having a good handle on things and you've gotten advice from someone like Jojo and guidelines on how to do it safely, then more power to you! :-D
 
Thanks, Rob. I shot 1 unit. I know that's still a lot, but even with yesterday's curve he didn't get that low so I don't feel worried about it. I'll get a check before I go to bed, see how he's doing.
 
Joanna, we must have posted at the same time as I didn't see your response!

Anyway, there's nothing to worry about. His +2 after that 1 unit actually went up - 304. I just don't get this cat. And today I partially gave him that +6 shot because we were going out and I wasn't sure I'd make it home in time for his PM shot.

Also, the vet doesn't want to do the dental before ruling out some other things like a low grade bladder infection, so we're going to do some tests before that. Again she mentioned getting him regulated first, but I'm going to have to really discuss this with her further because it may not be possible. (We played phone tag today, so not much really discussed via voicemail.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top