What is going on??

Status
Not open for further replies.

cat and sweet max

Member Since 2009
I gave Max his insulin at 84 because I thought he was on his way back up. An hour later = 67. gave him dry food. tested after 50 minutes + 31, more dry food and some karo, + 10 minutes = 44. more dry food, tested +5 minutes more = 32. Tested the meter and tried another meter.

Is it possible his pancreas is working after 7 years?

Sorry for typos. Want to test again. CATS!!

ETA:
+ 10 minutes = 36

He has been getting Karo on his gums, and tons of dried food.
 
the dry food will take forever to kick in.

do you have any wet food? i would give him some of the forbidden gravy off high carb food or, if you don't have any of that, stir a little syrup in his regular wet food and give him that....not too much as to fill him up.

oh, and can you remind us insulin and dose? that way everyone is on board as far as how long this can last for him tonight
 
Tested again - 36

He is eating Friskies Indoor Select with brown rice and garden greens. Should I put more Karo on his gums? Done it twice. Fed him dry food multiple times.

Up until recently, when I've been dropping his dose, he was getting 3 1/2 units of Lantus bid. Is it possible that the
Lantus in the pen is stronger?

What do if he starts convulsing? He usually goes up fast with even a couple of bits of dried food. UGH
 
The dry is going to take a while to have any effect.

You can drizzle some Karo on wet food. I don't know the carb count of what you're feeding. Is it high carb?

I doubt that the pen is a more concentrated insulin. Depending on how old your previous pen was, it may have been pooped out which is why you're getting a stronger response to the new pen.
 
39.

Shouldn't the Karo, dried food, and higher carb wet food be bringing his BG up? I've tried 2 meters with different strips. I've tested the meters. He isn't budging.

Thank you!
 
There could be one other factor -- are you sure you measured the insulin dose correctly?

You first tested at +5. Where are you now?

I would also put more Karo on the food. The dry may not be kicking in. It can take a relatively long time to have any effect.
 
43.

He went into the cat house and was spacing out, so I grabbed him & put more Karo on his gums, and gae him more dry food. 43 is better, but not making me very comfortable.

I messed up the first post...sorry. We are only about 3 hours past his Lantus insulin injection of 2 3/4 units. I pulled a syringe out to see if they looked different. Been a horrendous day here, so anything is possible, but I think I
gave him the 2 3/4 units.

Thank you!
 
72 Yeah!!

Thank you all for your support.

I'm betting his BG will be "HI" tonight. If that happens, I'm going to give him some of Kee Kee's fluids.
Speaking of Kee Kee, he hasn't asked for his night meds followed by treats.

Thank you hugs and headbutts!

Cat, Sweet Max, and gang
 
Thanks for last night.
His BG was only 423 this morning, after all those carbs!
And 321 tonight, with a reduced dose of 2 units Lantus.

I'm worried that he has something else going on. Seems like when old timers suddenly have major changes in their insulin needs, they end up having the Big C.

Hug and Healing,

Cat, Sweet Max, and gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top