What is a good BG range?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marylou and Malika

Member Since 2018
I read this on the definitions page. Which one of these ranges constitutes 'in remission'? My cat's range is staying within the 100-300 range. Does that mean I can lower doses of Lantus?

BG: Blood Glucose (normal for a cat is between 70-120). For diabetic cats, the preferred range is between 100 (at peak insulin activity) and 300.
 
Normal on a human meter is 50-120 and on a pet meter it's 68-150. If the cat is staying in this range without insulin for at least 14 days it is considered remission.

Levels under 300 and nadir around 80-100 is considered regulated. 250 -100 is good regulation.

For dosing of lantus help write on the lantus forum. They use two protocols for dosing... Shoot low go slow and tight regulation... Read both and see what you are more comfortable with.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top