66 is reasonable in my books. Good job.oh dears I am now able to weite with patients waiting on the hall way. I gave whiskas pouch with little of protein to keep up the BG increase. Now he is 66. I gave whiskas with ckichek twice. I will test in 45 minutes again. Now patient entering. Will read you later.
Dears, sorry for not answering!!! its so so weird to have this episode and assisting patients at the same time!!! I tested Markies with ons of my teenagers patient watching, she wanted to watch.If he was mine, I'd give him HC food, watching him closely and test him every 15 min........
If BG numbers stay flat or go up after 15 min. repeat the previous steps until he reaches reasonable numbers. If the BG numbers go down even further, you may want to try some maple syrup/honey......
Of course that you always have the choice of maple syrup/homey from start if your Kitty seems to act awkward or if you are scared and you don't know the cat's reactions to low BG - that's your choice to make.
Strange dive - from 251 to 33 in 4 hours.........hope Markie's fine........
Skip the chicken.... It's too low carb and you don't want him to fill up in case you need him to eat again.46 at +8.5 (gave again pouch whiskas with little of raw chicken)
well that´s why I put the 911 again.. bg went down again and we still depend on foodI'm glad the number went up.
Keep testing every 15-20. We say it's safe when you have had three numbers raising or staying steady above 50 without the help of food.
No just feed the higher carb foodIsn´t the chicken necessary to keep the GB up?
ok, I was with mom at the phone.
Last meal was with higher carbs. Was a different type of whiskas pouch (whith sauce). Actually the other one also has sauce but this one says somethin like "With Sauce" (this is stupid). So this means that it has much more carbs and watching numbers it seems that carbs are higher.
We are at +9.5 and he is 166. I know He will bounce now.
I will go back to hiw 1.25 dose. I don´t feel confortable with doses that put him in risk, I don´t like low numbers at early hours in the cycle at least until I discover what is going on with Markies health.
Our life is messy, our schedule can change abruptly so having this surprises will have my heart in my throat (this is an Argentinian expression which means that will have me terrified).
Probably I should have increased a fat instead of 0.25 but how could have guessed this????
He was showing high numbers. And actually I was not feeling too well with an increase since some days ago he showed this early low numbers. So this erratic low numbers make our ss difficult to predict Markies BG behaviors.
Probably I guess the wiser thing to do is settle for a good ammount of time in 1.25 dose or even (lower the dose if early low numbers repeat) and keep settling.
Any thoughts?[/QUOTE
I think that changing the dose frequently is not a good idea. Yes he needs an increase now, but let it stay for 6 cycles, unless he goes very low again.
Meanwhile, test frequently, and do not change the dose unless he goes to 40 again. Do not worry about high numbers now. He will probably bounce high.
I read your information in the profile. Good grief he has a lot of health challenges!
We have the same expression for terror, "heart in my throat" or "heart in my mouth"
I hope some of the long time experts weigh in here.
Hugs![]()
I couldn´'t test though right away. That was impossible. Patients were with emotional crisis so I couldn´t say "stop crying I need to test Markies" (It was very stressful moment). But as soon as they left I asked the next patient to wait 5 minutes and test and so on.



ME TOO!!!I think I would just stick with the 1.25 for a few days and see how he does.
That is stressful! I'm so glad things turned out all right for you and Markies today. I'm not experienced enough to give dosing advice, but it does sound reasonable to be cautious to keep him safe.

THANK YOU TOO FOR BEING THERE!!!It's been about 25 min.... Can you get another test?
THANK YOU DEAR!!Thank you for the update.
I have to log out for now.
AWESOME YOU´VE BEEN ABLE TO FOLLOW THE SS!!! THANK Y OU!!She updated her SS, he's 50 at +6.55?
@Tanya and Ducia I understand what you say and it was also frustrating for me because I was having my cat with possible hypo and my patients (Im psychologist and patients were ringing the bell and I just couldnt say sorry, you cannot enter, my cat is having hypoglicemia, because actually he was not having symptoms just low numbers).well, that's what I hate the most - to hear nothing after the 911 call and to let my imagination ran amok and paint me vividly the worse case scenarios... I hope Markie is fine...
THOSE 15.20 MIN WERE IMPOSSIBLE TO TEST DURING SESSIONS WITH MY PATIENTS. I WANTED TO BUT WAS IMPOSSIBLE. HOPEFULLY CARBS WHERE HIGH ENOUGH AND TESTINGS IN 50 MINUTES APROX WERE ENOUGH.I'm glad the number went up.
Keep testing every 15-20. We say it's safe when you have had three numbers raising or staying steady above 50 without the help of food.
I know many of you have that policy of retesting. I cant do that for thre main reasons.Please retest again right away to make sure the reading is correct. If it is then please give some syrup or honey and retest in 10 minutes after
Dear, what this means
" Yes he needs an increase now, "
I mean that you are right. He needs to get an increase in his insulin now.
Sounds as it her is doing very now. I hope you got a good sleep.![]()
I was able to read but not answering...Please don’t misunderstand what I am about to say. The purpose of the 911 is to get help if needed right away. If you are unable to post for two hours it’s useless to use 911. You know how to handle low numbers fortunately. I think 911 should be used only if you need advice and can read and answer. We are here for you.
Thank you but nex time I dont need your help in my threads @tiffmaxeePlease don’t misunderstand what I am about to say. The purpose of the 911 is to get help if needed right away. If you are unable to post for two hours it’s useless to use 911. You know how to handle low numbers fortunately. I think 911 should be used only if you need advice and can read and answer. We are here for you.

thank you dearAll any of us can do is the best we can do. Right now you are just in survival mode. Most of us totally get that. Please don't be discouraged from reaching out for diabetes help when you need it.
that´s exactly how I feel and some time I feel Im now gonna make it... but I need to make it for them they need me... I need to be strong.. thank you dear.All any of us can do is the best we can do. Right now you are just in survival mode. Most of us totally get that. Please don't be discouraged from reaching out for diabetes help when you need it.