What happened to you wiht the prózinc dosage? | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

What happened to you wiht the prózinc dosage?

xelo y sinver

Member since 2023
I don't understand how his sugar could have risen so much if he hasn't eaten anything since I measured it at 78 and now it's at 437. Could it be a rebound effect? With Lantus, he was never in the red like he is with Prozinc.
 
Do you mean today where he was having lovely green numbers and the he went up to red? I am sorry to see this as well.

It could just be that he is not getting very good duration from the ProZinc (wearing off too quickly.)
 
Okay. I just wrote on your other thread about what happened to me, but I am here now. My apologies.

I have been looking at Sinver’s spreadsheet. I don’t think I have ever seen a cat with such seemingly random patterns and also such a propensity to dive down — like on the 5th of October and 23rd of September.
 
Also, if you have specific questions about the ProZinc dosing instructions, you can copy and paste the confusing parts here and just ask — but if it is too much then that is all right, we can just take it in small pieces.

Right now, we would not increase his dose because he is making it into green numbers like today.
 
If you have a pre-shot number that is low then you can consider shooting a lower dose. I see that you have done that in the past, so I am sure you are familiar with doing that. It is very hard to predict what Sinver will do because his patterns are just not very regular. He is quite unpredictable. You have been taking such good care of him and it sounds like your vet has not been completely helpful.
 
Do you mean today where he was having lovely green numbers and the he went up to red? I am sorry to see this as well.

It could just be that he is not getting very good duration from the ProZinc (wearing off too quickly.)
I will measure it at +2 to see if it is a rebound or if the insulin really has no effect on him during the last part of the cycle.
 
Do you mean today where he was having lovely green numbers and the he went up to red? I am sorry to see this as well.

It could just be that he is not getting very good duration from the ProZinc (wearing off too quickly.)
I find it very difficult to speak English and I use a translator every time I have to talk to you. It's not easy for me, that's why I don't write quickly.
 
Today I spoke to the vet and on Thursday I'm taking the cat for a checkup, for tests to see how his body is doing. The vet suggested using Sevelgo syrup for diabetes, and I told him I would think about it, but here on the forum they say it's not good for cats that already use insulin and have a history of CAD. I told him I would think about it, but deep down, I've had my diabetic cat for three years and I don't care about his lifestyle, I prefer to stick with insulin. I had a really hard time when he had diabetic ketoacidosis.
 
If my writing or expressions do not make sense, then tell me. I will try to be clear and I do try not to use slang or idioms.
I'm so sorry about your cat. I understand what you're going through. I don't have much money either, and we do what we can for our pets while we can. Here they asked me for 3,000 euros for an MRI, and that might not even be enough. I don't have that kind of money, but I'll help as much as I can. I hope your cat gets better.
 
The vet suggested using Sevelgo syrup for diabetes, and I told him I would think about it, but here on the forum they say it's not good for cats that already use insulin and have a history of CAD. I told him I would think about it, but deep down, I've had my diabetic
Senvelgo can be dangerous for cats already using insulin. And you say Sinver had DKA? That was at the time he was diagnosed as diabetic in 2023? CAD? Do you mean diabetic ketoacidosis?
 
I'm so sorry about your cat. I understand what you're going through. I don't have much money either, and we do what we can for our pets while we can. Here they asked me for 3,000 euros for an MRI, and that might not even be enough. I don't have that kind of money, but I'll help as much as I can. I hope your cat gets better.
Thank you!
 
Senvelgo can be dangerous for cats already using insulin. And you say Sinver had DKA? That was at the time he was diagnosed as diabetic in 2023? CAD? Do you mean diabetic ketoacidosis?
If it's very dangerous and she told me it would be easier for me because I wouldn't have to give him injections, I replied that I don't mind taking care of him that way. I've been doing it for three years and my life is adapted to a diabetic cat. She told me that I would have more freedom and would only have to monitor his ketones, but after thinking about it, I prefer to continue as I am. I don't want my cat to have diabetic ketoacidosis again. I saw him suffer a lot.
 
The manufacturer of Senvelgo says not to give it to cats who are already receiving insulin and that it can cause DKA and death (even cats who have normal blood glucose while taking Senvelgo can have DKA, the manufacturer says.). It sounds like you already have read this though— so I am not telling you anything you do not know.
 
If it's very dangerous and she told me it would be easier for me because I wouldn't have to give him injections, I replied that I don't mind taking care of him that way. I've been doing it for three years and my life is adapted to a diabetic cat. She told me that I would have more freedom and would only have to monitor his ketones, but after thinking about it, I prefer to continue as I am. I don't want my cat to have diabetic ketoacidosis again. I saw him suffer a lot.
Good. You know the right thing for Sinver. I am still surprised that she would suggest Senvelgo!
 
A veces, los veterinarios dan malos consejos porque asumen que la persona prefiere hacer lo que le resulta más fácil, en lugar de lo que es mejor para la salud del gato.

Y a veces, el veterinario no tiene mucha experiencia con la diabetes y, si lo primero no parece funcionar, simplemente prueba algo diferente. Están "experimentando", así que tenga cuidado. Y si recibe algún consejo que no tenga sentido, no dude en preguntar por qué.

*****

Sometimes veterinarians give bad advice because they assume the person prefers to do what's easiest, rather than what's best for the cat's health.

And sometimes the vet doesn't have much experience with diabetes, and if the first thing doesn't seem to work, they'll simply try something else. They're "experimenting," so be careful. And if you receive advice that doesn't make sense, don't hesitate to ask why.
 
Do you mean today where he was having lovely green numbers and the he went up to red? I am sorry to see this as well.

It could just be that he is not getting very good duration from the ProZinc (wearing off too quickly.)
Apparently, it seems that it dropped to +2, perhaps it doesn't last long enough in his body and then rises sharply. We'll have to check it at the end of the cycle to see if that's really the case.
 
Tell me about when you feed him during the cycle.
Let's see, I feed him after the insulin, I go to work, and I come back four hours later. I can't leave food in the automatic feeder because he's afraid of it when it opens and the other cats eat it. When I come back after 4 hours, I give him a little more food, about 40 grams each time, then at 5 hours I give him a spoonful of food, and at 6 hours a few more spoonfuls. I give him carbohydrate-free treats if he asks for a lot and can't wait until the end of the cycle, but they don't contain sugar.
 
A veces, los veterinarios dan malos consejos porque asumen que la persona prefiere hacer lo que le resulta más fácil, en lugar de lo que es mejor para la salud del gato.

Y a veces, el veterinario no tiene mucha experiencia con la diabetes y, si lo primero no parece funcionar, simplemente prueba algo diferente. Están "experimentando", así que tenga cuidado. Y si recibe algún consejo que no tenga sentido, no dude en preguntar por qué.

*****

Sometimes veterinarians give bad advice because they assume the person prefers to do what's easiest, rather than what's best for the cat's health.

And sometimes the vet doesn't have much experience with diabetes, and if the first thing doesn't seem to work, they'll simply try something else. They're "experimenting," so be careful. And if you receive advice that doesn't make sense, don't hesitate to ask why.
I told her I would think about it, but deep down I knew it wasn't the best thing for my cat. I never did everything she advised me to do. In fact, she never wanted me to give him Lantus, and I gave him Caninsulin for a while until I found the forum. Thanks to the forum, I changed my cat's diet, started giving him Lantus, and many other things. She couldn't believe it when I went for checkups that the cat could be doing so well. I know I was never able to regulate it, even though I followed all the advice from the forum. I lost hours of sleep, my life changed completely, but I will do whatever it takes to make sure my cat is okay. Half of veterinarians have no idea how to treat a diabetic cat. I'm someone who does a lot of research online before taking the vet's advice.
 
Let's see, I feed him after the insulin, I go to work, and I come back four hours later. I can't leave food in the automatic feeder because he's afraid of it when it opens and the other cats eat it. When I come back after 4 hours, I give him a little more food, about 40 grams each time, then at 5 hours I give him a spoonful of food, and at 6 hours a few more spoonfuls. I give him carbohydrate-free treats if he asks for a lot and can't wait until the end of the cycle, but they don't contain sugar.
It sounds like you are really doing the best that you can. I only wish there was a way for him to get some food at +2. Some days he drops down so quickly and he does it quite early in the cycle. ProZinc starts to lower blood glucose at about two hours after the shot, so it helps a lot of cats to eat at that time. You are not feeding too late in the cycle so we cannot blame food for causing the numbers going up prematurely (like today.)
 
It sounds like you are really doing the best that you can. I only wish there was a way for him to get some food at +2. Some days he drops down so quickly and he does it quite early in the cycle. ProZinc starts to lower blood glucose at about two hours after the shot, so it helps a lot of cats to eat at that time. You are not feeding too late in the cycle so we cannot blame food for causing the numbers going up prematurely (like today.)
Look, today I gave him his food at home. Now I'm not giving him anything until I give him his insulin, but you'll see how his numbers go back up. With Lantus, if you look, he hardly had any red numbers all year. This insulin lasts less time and seems to rise very quickly because it doesn't have a reservoir like Lantus. He has an appetite, but he doesn't move around much. Maybe it's his stress that we've never been able to regulate, because when we went on a trip with him and he was alone in a rural house, he seemed like a different cat, his numbers were fine, and he felt relaxed. Currently, there are five cats, a dog, my husband, and a four-year-old child at home. He has always been the typical cat who likes to hide.
 
It sounds like you are really doing the best that you can. I only wish there was a way for him to get some food at +2. Some days he drops down so quickly and he does it quite early in the cycle. ProZinc starts to lower blood glucose at about two hours after the shot, so it helps a lot of cats to eat at that time. You are not feeding too late in the cycle so we cannot blame food for causing the numbers going up prematurely (like today.)
Tonight we'll reach 400, and with this insulin he eats less. Before, with Lantus, he ate more and wasn't so bad. I don't like that his body is in the red so often. I don't want him to have diabetic ketoacidosis again.
 
His cycle today was good. I do think that last night he went into blue or green numbers because his AMPS this morning was only 200. It looks like tonight he is already in middle blue and will go lower.

He drops very quickly on ProZinc and since you are not able to feed him at +2, we cannot slow him down (unless you feed higher carb food at shot time.) If we could delay his drop, we could possibly delay his nadir and his numbers would not rise as quickly.
 
Maybe it's his stress that we've never been able to regulate, because when we went on a trip with him and he was alone in a rural house, he seemed like a different cat, his numbers were fine, and he felt relaxed. Currently, there are five cats, a dog, my husband, and a four-year-old child at home. He has always been the typical cat who likes to hide
It sounds like he really needs his own space and is very stressed by the dogs and other cats. Can he have a room or bedroom where he can spend much of his time away from the other cats and dogs?
 
Back
Top