? What dose should I give Fedya?

Fedya and Izzy

Member Since 2019
Hello everyone! We had a pretty crazy night and Fedyas numbers were all over the place! I know that he's for sure earned a reduction but to what extent? We've skipped his AM shot for now and are waiting till his BG rises because it seems to have stayed at the mid 80s for a while. I feel like reducing him to 1.75U is a bit too risky and depending on how his next BG test looks maybe I'll reduce it to 1.5 or maybe even 1? What do you guys think? Thanks!
 
I think skipping the shot and draining the depot was a good idea, I personally would probably stick with the 1.75u because you will have drained the 2u depot by skipping the am shot, so I think it would be a safe dose to try :) keep in mind I have only been here for about 4.5months so take what I would do with a grain of salt ;)

Congrats on the reducie, Fedya is looking awesome these days :D:D
 
Normally reductions are taken in .25 increments. The reason being if you reduce too much, you may end up with the wrong dose, changes are done gradually to avoid missing the “right” dose. That being said...

Seeing you are going by TR protocol, they allow for lower reduction numbers. Had you been using SLGS, you would have already taken several reductions over the last few days, so the 1.5 this morning would not have been unreasonable.

I am sure you will get some input from more experienced TR users soon. You are on the right track and hopefully will get some input soon on refining the current dose.

Tagging @Bobbie And Bubba with more experience on dosing.
 
Hey there and congrats on the reduction! He’s having a nice cycle today without bouncing so far. Even though you reduced down to 1 unit today, the higher dose of 2 units is still at play. I think tonight I would take the dose to 1.75 if you can monitor. That way you will have taking his dose down in an increment of .25 dose according to TR and will not have reduced too much.

It sounds like you shot late this AM? If so , remember that the PM dose is 12 hours from that time. And we will have to adjust your SS to show that delay. How late was the shot?
 
Hey there and congrats on the reduction! He’s having a nice cycle today without bouncing so far. Even though you reduced down to 1 unit today, the higher dose of 2 units is still at play. I think tonight I would take the dose to 1.75 if you can monitor. That way you will have taking his dose down in an increment of .25 dose according to TR and will not have reduced too much.

It sounds like you shot late this AM? If so , remember that the PM dose is 12 hours from that time. And we will have to adjust your SS to show that delay. How late was the shot?
I gave him his morning dose 3 hours late today. I'm just concerned because his drop this time was a lot harder than the one he had before. This time in order to keep his numbers up we had to keep giving him yogurt with glucose because his BG just wouldnt stay up.
 
To have your SS reflect that, in the AMPS cell, you want to put the value and @ +15. Then you and anyone looking at the SS knows that you shot 3 hours late. All the other values can stay where they are. Just remember to shoot 12 hours after the shot.

You can regain your shooting schedule by shooting 30 minutes earlier each day or 15 minutes earlier each cycle until regained. Or you could skip tonight as long as there has not be a DKA event, and then shoot at your chosen time tomorrow. That would deplete the depot some more and then tomorrow AM, I would shoot 1.75 as he will likely be higher and you would know what the 1.75 dose would do when the depot fills in without skipping over it.


If you decide to shoot tonight and shoot 1.5, It’s your call about the dose as you hold the syringe. If 1.5 proves to be too low, you can go back up if needed.
 
To have your SS reflect that, in the AMPS cell, you want to put the value and @ +15. Then you and anyone looking at the SS knows that you shot 3 hours late. All the other values can stay where they are. Just remember to shoot 12 hours after the shot.

You can regain your shooting schedule by shooting 30 minutes earlier each day or 15 minutes earlier each cycle until regained. Or you could skip tonight as long as there has not be a DKA event, and then shoot at your chosen time tomorrow. That would deplete the depot some more and then tomorrow AM, I would shoot 1.75 as he will likely be higher and you would know what the 1.75 dose would do when the depot fills in without skipping over it.


If you decide to shoot tonight and shoot 1.5, It’s your call about the dose as you hold the syringe. If 1.5 proves to be too low, you can go back up if needed.
Thanks for the great advice! We decided to dose him at 1.75 tonight. His PMPS was 114 and we can closely monitor him so I think it'll be fine. Thanks again!
 
Back
Top