What dose for what #'s?

Status
Not open for further replies.
He's definitely on a mission now. I think he may have gone lower last night and you saw a bit of a bounce this morning but that's just a guess. This is exactly why it's often necessary to hold a dose for several days to really get a good handle on what it is doing for kitty. They throw surprises at you and you end up with a bald spot on your head. I'd check him at +5 and see what he's up to this cycle.
 
His +5 was 296. I won't be testing him again til PMPS because after our little scare, his bg is probably not gonna show the best from stress.
 
I won't be testing him again til PMPS because after our little scare, his bg is probably not gonna show the best from stress.

Am I missing something? What happened to scare Zeke and get him stressed?
I am still wondering if he should be pushed back to 0.75u? He's had better numbers at 1.0u than he had at 1.25u and that missed shot on the 10th didn't lead to a higher PMPS.. in fact is was his lowest since switching to 1u. I could be wrong but if he was mine I'd try the reduction and see what happens.

edit to add: NEVER MIND the question about missing something! Just saw your other post! YIKES!
 
Last edited:
@MrWorfMen's Mom @Yong

Yeah that was scary yesterday, and today he will probably stress because we are gonna have strangers in the house bring our new washer and dryer. Luckily the guys will call so we can put him in his mommas room before they get here.

We started the .75u dose this morning. Hopefully his numbers will drop even more. :) Would really love to start seeing some blues everyday!
 
Hopefully Zeke won't get too freaked out by the delivery. Mine always end up scratching on the door of the room I put them in for deliveries or service work and then when I let them out they all look at me pathetically as if to say "Why'd you close us in here? What did we do wrong, Mom?" :(

You'll get some blue numbers but right now patience is key. We need to figure out what his game is and stop as much bouncing as possible before that is going to happen. I know it's tough because it took me forever and a day to see any blue with my rare sweetie. Just take each reading and day as it comes and try to learn the steps to Zeke's dance because he's leading and all you can do is follow.
 
Sad thing is, that delivery isn't the only one lol. The guys finally came to look at our stove since the oven quit working last week. They will be bringing a new one today. So 2 more times today with strangers in the house. Zeke is gonna be a very upset little kitty by the end of the day.
 
Perhaps he was still up from the commotion of the deliveries yesterday or maybe it was "OH there's a squirrel syndrome". He could even have dropped further later in the cycle after the deliveries were done and then zoomed back up because of a more sudden drop. No definitive answer but a very plausible possibilities. See where he is this morning and try to ignore that one number because that's all it is....one number at one moment in time. What you need to focus on is the pattern overall. You might want to make a note in the remarks column about the deliveries yesterday so when you look back you know what was possibly the cause of that PMPS.
 
Great job getting some extra tests. I like Linda's suggestion of adding notes for future reference :), it could have been the reason. He seemed to fall into his usual pattern last night even with the reduced dose on higher PS.
How is he this morning? (I'm heading out to a job site so I will check in this evening) :cat:
 
He had more of a normal number this morning. I've got an appointment this morning but should be home in time for doing a +4, and then a couple more round peak time to see better how he is mid cycle. I did make notes of what was happening yesterday and the stove never got delivered yesterday so that will probably be today. The first washer they brought was messed up so they had to bring me another. Thankfully they had ordered two sets, one for the showroom, so they were able to replace it immediately instead of ordering a new one. I know Zeke will be ready for all this mess to be over.
 
Poor Zeke, you and the rest of your family! I'm sure the commotion is at the heart of that higher BG last night and may cause some elevated numbers today too. Deliveries can be so disruptive but it's a short lived problem and will pass. I hope the stove arrives in good condition because Zeke is going to need that human food treat! :p
 
Actually at the Dr right now. She said just a normal summer cold. She's giving me something to help me breath easier, but the rest just has to run its course.
 
Looks to me like there is a possibility that Zeke is dropping into the blues mid cycle from those yellow pre-shots but without mid cycle tests that's just a wild guess. So yes it could well be bouncing. Can you get another reading at +3 to track how much and how fast he is dropping?
 
We actually did a second test when we got his AMPS and it came back 500 something which is why we did the +1. Then because of the drop, did the +2. Hope he slows on his drop.
 
We actually did a second test when we got his AMPS and it came back 500 something which is why we did the +1.
You're acting like a pro now! :joyful:Was Zeke by any chance getting antsy when you tested the 2nd time? Not sure if it could have been stress elevation and wouldn't think he'd drop back down that quickly from that much of a rise if it was or maybe it was just a bad strip! In any event that 2nd high reading looks to have been an anomaly.
 
Ok he's on a steady drop but not drastically fast now. Test again in an hour. If we can see exactly how low he is going on this dose with that somewhat higher pre-shot, it will give us a clue about what he's been doing on that dose with a lower pre-shot. Fingers crossed what I'm hoping happens.
 
He was a little antsy, with this cold, my eyes have also been a bit irritated making them a bit blurry, so had to stick him more then normal just to get enough for the test. He is being a little hungrier this morning though.

His +2 and +3 were much more relaxed, didn't even have to hold him. He was sleeping in his favorite spot on the back of a recliner and raised his head for us to test then went right back to sleep after.
 
He has slowed down and actually came up a little since he decided to graze some. I will test him again in a few hours to give him a break.
 
HMMMM! Not quite what I hoped or expected him to do. He may be up a tidbit but taking 20% meter variance into account, he's essentially staying fairly steady right now. Doubtful he'll go lower again and if he does it won't be by much so I'd definitely agree...a rest is in order! If you can check again around +8 or +9.
 
I'm wondering if Zeke does need to go up a little bit. I know it may not sound like much but might want to try a fat 1.0U? It's just a little more than the 1.0U line and below 1.25U. These weird increments (also slightly more difficult) worked well for my boy :).
upload_2017-6-17_14-44-51.png
 
To be honest, I'm a bit flummoxed right now. Zeke is not behaving at all as I would expect him to. Now I know these guys rarely read the manual and they all play by their own rules, but Zeke is being a real head scratcher right now. My guess would be that he is either trying to steal the title for BEST BOUNCER or he is pilfering and not getting caught. I know you are keeping an eye on him so the pilfering is probably a long shot but his pattern through the cycles is not typical. It may be that he needs some micro adjustments as Yong has suggested or it may be that he still needs to come down a bit more. It's only been a couple of days since all the commotion with deliveries and bounces can take 3 days to clear so if he bounced on Thursday (which is what it seems he did) that could just be clearing. My inclination is to hold the course for another day or so and then re-evaluate.
 
Oh so that little rise could have been a food bump rather than the natural rise from the insulin wearing off. It shouldn't be a problem letting him graze as long as the amount of food he consumes daily is consistent. It's wet food that he grazing on right?

Just to confirm....you test after a roughly 3 hour fast, then feed, then shoot about 20 - 30 minutes after he eats. Is that the routine you are following? Does he eat a decent amount of food before his shot is given or just nibble a bit? If he is eating 20 minutes before the shot and eating a decent amount, I'd expect little change at +1 from pre-shot because the insulin should just be starting to go to work and the food should have elevated his BG above the level at pre-shot. Zeke was down at +1 by 61 points which is a big drop for that time frame given the food influence.
 
Yes, we only do wet food now. And we finally have him eating pate's so it is all under 10% carbs.

He usually eats at least 1/2 a can, so a good 3 oz by the time we do his shot. This morning was more like 3/4 of the can because he loves the salmon flavor. Over all he eats a total of 2 1/2 to 3 cans a day. He will eat most his food then graze on the rest through the day. We try to have it picked up between +6 and +9 so there is a good time frame of no food. There are some mornings that he eats maybe 1/4 a can before his shot. The routine consists of preshot test at 8, feed hotdog, feed cats, then shoot. So cats food is down by 8:15 and shot is usually 8:25 to 8:30.
 
I would try to keep the food consistent. It seems like half a can wouldn't make much difference but these are little critters and a half can is substantial in their world. Zeke needs to gain weight so trying to give him 3 cans a day consistently is fine. Unregulated diabetics don't use the food they intake efficiently so they often need more than they would if not diabetic. Is there anyway you could try feeding at specific time even for a couple of days to see if that makes a difference. I realize other commitments may make it difficult and if so, we'll work around it. We'll get your puzzling little friend figured out.

Your routine is great. Just wanted to be sure we were all on the same page when trying to read his clues on the SS.:smuggrin:
 
Would u suggest just sticking with the flavors he loves so he will eat it quicker and won't leave any for grazing? I work from home so can just do a can morning midday and evening to get his 3 cans in. Some flavors he will only eat a part then graze on it for about 2 hours, then his favorite will be gone within 20 minutes.
 
Sorry Meridith, just seeing this now. No harm skipping the shot if you are unsure if they will eat but you don't need to starve him. He needs to eat whether he gets a shot or not. I guess the question is why he wasn't as interested in his food tonight. Probably just being a cat but if he is fussy about eating tomorrow morning, I'd check for ketones. Has he been as active the last day or two as he usually is? Just wondering if he could have an infection brewing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top