10 year old cat with steroid-induced diabetes (on super high-dose steroids for 3 months for autoimmune condition, diagnosed with diabetes after stopping steroids in mid-November). Switched to 7% carb food (Innova EVO), started on Lantus. Slowly brought up to 3.25 units over ~10 weeks, had hypo episode ~10 days ago, dropped to 3 units, had even more severe hypo episode tonight before I could do a full bg curve @ lower dose (job is extremely time-consuming and cat is too scared at vet to get accurate readings there). Sarah is currently at the e-vet on a dextrose drip, bg back up to 156 at most recent check.
I've been told that some percentage of cats with steroid-induced diabetes go into remission--is this what it looks like?
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... NZmc&hl=en
I'm going to back way off the insulin for now because I won't be able to do another bg curve until Saturday. She seemed stable at 3 units (pre-shot around 190, nadir in mid-100s), but vet wanted her a little lower, so we went up to 3.25. She seemed stable there until the first hypo episode (bg = 60), dropped the dose, and now bg=30? AUGH!
Sarah is exceptionally difficult to manage because she's also on multiple (non-steroidal) medications for her autoimmune condition, and so spends most of her time hiding from me and my various forms of cat torture. Sometimes she eats, sometimes she doesn't, but it's hard to tell because she won't eat when I'm around (in case of needles/pills/wound cleaning) and I have 4 cats. Everything that I used to be able to count on her to eat (tuna, many brands of wet cat food, etc.), she now won't eat because she associates it with some sort of awful medication or treatment. She would actually prefer to starve than eat with me in the house.
ETA: So just doing ANYTHING to Sarah is awful for both of us because treats are meaningless to her. She hates me. She hates food. She hates life.
Can anyone who's had experience with spontaneous remission tell me what it looks like?
ETA #2: Sarah was 17 lbs at peak, seems to be stable at 11.9 lbs now.
I've been told that some percentage of cats with steroid-induced diabetes go into remission--is this what it looks like?
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... NZmc&hl=en
I'm going to back way off the insulin for now because I won't be able to do another bg curve until Saturday. She seemed stable at 3 units (pre-shot around 190, nadir in mid-100s), but vet wanted her a little lower, so we went up to 3.25. She seemed stable there until the first hypo episode (bg = 60), dropped the dose, and now bg=30? AUGH!
Sarah is exceptionally difficult to manage because she's also on multiple (non-steroidal) medications for her autoimmune condition, and so spends most of her time hiding from me and my various forms of cat torture. Sometimes she eats, sometimes she doesn't, but it's hard to tell because she won't eat when I'm around (in case of needles/pills/wound cleaning) and I have 4 cats. Everything that I used to be able to count on her to eat (tuna, many brands of wet cat food, etc.), she now won't eat because she associates it with some sort of awful medication or treatment. She would actually prefer to starve than eat with me in the house.
ETA: So just doing ANYTHING to Sarah is awful for both of us because treats are meaningless to her. She hates me. She hates food. She hates life.
Can anyone who's had experience with spontaneous remission tell me what it looks like?
ETA #2: Sarah was 17 lbs at peak, seems to be stable at 11.9 lbs now.