What do you make of this?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KristenP&Sam

Active Member
I started feeding lc wet food this afternoon. Sam's bg was 269 before his 9 pm shot (2 units prezinc). His 11 pm bg results were 264. I was expecting a greater drop. Thoughts?
 
Did he eat just before (or during) you gave him his pm shot? If so, his bg may have gone up a bit in response to the food and then begin to drop as the insulin catches up. You might want to check a few spreadsheets in the PZI insulin support group and see if this is a usual pattern with this product. I don't use PZI, but notice the same pattern with my cat.
 
I did feed him before his shot. I try to do the test, feed, shot protocol that seems to be what most follow. His bg was 444 this morning, which was a definite improvement over yesterday's PS reading which was so high the meter couldn't read it.
 
Hi, the onset (the time the insulin starts working) for Prozinc is usually 2 hours so their bg's will continue to rise until then.

I saw you had questions about the spreadsheet too. To see an example of a ss click on the link in anybodys signature to go to their ss, it's usually blue mine says "Harleys SS".

The date goes in the left column, AMPS = am pre shot is where you put the morning bg #. The +'s are hours from injection time. Since the people on this site are all over the world we are all in different time zones so we can't use the time of day for injections. The 12 hour clock (cycle) starts at injection, +1 is 1 hour after injection, +2 is 2 hours after injection, etc, until you get to PMPS pm pre shot 12 hours later. That way anyone looking at your ss will know exactly where in the cycle the bg's are.

There is a sticky at the top of the Health forum that says "Are you new and confused about or Jargon" it is a glossery explaining the terms used here, I found it very helpful.

GA - Gone ahead or Guardian Angel
FWIW - for what it's worth
IMHO - in my humble opinion
DH - dear husband
DD - dear daughter
etc.

If in doubt pop on and ask, someone is usually around.

Welcome to the sugar dance.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top