Re: What do you do when you test before a shot & get a much
Hi Ian,
I checked Oz's ss this afternoon. That was quite a drop from AMPS this morning to +2. If you can get another test or two in today, I would really recommend it. (I'm not sure how long it's been since you gave the shot this morning.) Any time you see a large drop like that, it's always a good idea to get more tests in if you can; it's an ideal opportunity to see how well the 1.75u is working for Oz!
You've been doing a great job testing the past few days. At this point, you may want to consider moving to one of the insulin-specific support groups on FDMB. We have two of them - "Relaxed Lantus" and "Tight Regulation" or "TR."
The Tight Regulation approach is based on research that was published in a veterinary journal. The research showed that cats who were started on the TR protocol soon after diagnosis had the best chances of going into remission. (Here's a link to to the research:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581. With TR, you really need to be able to test at least four times a day (AMPS, PMPS, and at least one mid-cycle test in the AM and PM). Dosing adjustments are made relatively quickly (e.g., every 3 days), so the mid-cycle testing is important. The "Relaxed Lantus" group follows a lot of the same basic guidelines, but it is based more on a "start low, go slow" approach. For example, members in Relaxed Lantus may hold doses longer than the 3 days recommended by TR.
If you do decide you would like to move to one of the insulin-specific forums, just click on the name of the forum you want to join, and start a new thread. For the subject line, we ask that you put the date, your kitty's name, and the numbers for the day. For instance, your subject line for today might look like this "10/9 Oz AMPS-374, +2-257." As you get new readings in, you can just update the subject line of your post to show your new readings. On TR, we do ask that you start one new thread each day. So....tomorrow, you would start a "10/10 Oz" thread.
If you want to keep posting on this Health board, you certainly can. Moving to one of the insulin support groups, though, can be helpful since a lot more Lantus users will see your posts that way. The TR board is generally much more active than the Relaxed Lantus board; there are simply more members there at various times of the day/night in case you run into trouble or have a question (e.g., like about shooting low).
Do you have any questions about the insulin groups? I was a member of TR, so I'm much more familiar with it than Relaxed Lantus. If you have questions about Relaxed Lantus, though, I'm sure we can find members who can answer them for you!
Shelly