WHAT DO I DO????????

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm going to bed too...
but I just noticed the 911 is still up on your post....
you can go back to your first post on this thread and edit it off....

that way if you need attention again.... you can put it back on....
 
You did great tonight! :YMHUG: If you get a number under 200 tomorrow morning, don't shoot, don't feed, and post here first for assistance. (And you don't have to test before and after he eats before giving a shot. Just before is fine. ;-) )

Have a good night! I'll still probably be up for another half hour or longer, so I'll check back in on you before I go to bed. I-)
 
A'ight? I'm gonna go to bed now. I-) Sweet dreams, you guys, because we all have sweet kitties. :-D cat_pet_icon
 
Just reading this morning...So GLAD you had FDMB ANGELS on your shoulder last night.
Melissa you are an AWESOME momcat ;-)

All my best to you and sweet little Akasha,
jeanne
 
Morning all... Akasha is being Akasha today. She is a little mad over all the testing from last night and this morning.
She didn't eat anything else last night/early this morning, I finally went to sleep between 4:30 and 5am. Her last reading was right before I went to sleep and it was 65.
Today:
9am- Fed 1 tablespoon of friskies chcken dinner pate- she wasn't really too hungry and only ate a small amount. She did however eat a small part of the boys dry Wellness Core, about 2 teaspoons. (Since that would be her normal morning meal, as I am just now starting the switch from dry to wet, she wanted the dry more).
9am- bg was 60. NO SHOT GIVEN.
I am waiting on her vet to return my call. She only works until noon today, it is 10:45am here presently. Should hear back soon.
I really, really want to thank everyone on this site for all their help and all the info that is provided. I am really new to this, but I have read so much on feline diabetes on here and it has helped me a tremendous amount. I would be so lost right now if it were not for all of your help. Last night was really scary and a BIG EYE OPENER for me. I am so happy that I decided to just check to see what her bg would be instead of sticking to my original plan which was to do my first home test in the morning. I was just so curious as to what her bg would be that I decided to do it and I am so happy that I did. Again, a huge thanks to everyone who was involved in helping me last night/early this morning- it means a lot to me to know that there are others who care about the well fare of my fur baby :-D
I will be back on here when I hear from the vet.
 
Well you know what they say right..... curiosity SAVED the cat!

Melissa - you did great last night and handled it really well. Good call on not giving insulin this morning! Again you did the right thing.

For now, since you are so new to this process - use this simple rule of thumb - if the pre-shot test is under 200 DO NOT give insulin. We tell this to all newbies just starting out, as to keep kitties safe.

Once you have been testing and build up that spreadsheet, we will say, sure under 200 give insulin.

I said this last night, it is very possible that with the food change (and once you completely remove all dry food) that she may go into remission (OTJ - off the juice) and not need insulin, and/or only need it for a short period of time.

60 is a very nice normal non-diabetic number!
 
Another baptism by fire successfully negotiated! You did great.

I'll note that dry food can swell in the stomach and cause vomiting during a hypo, in addition to lasting a long time, which makes it something to avoid during hypo management.
 
So glad everything worked out okay last night! And Congratulations on passing your "Glucose Testing 101" crash course! Sorry it went down like that, but it sounds like you did great :smile:
 
UPDATE: Akasha has stayed between 56 and 63 thru today. I do have to take her to the vet tomorrow and have a curve done, which I believe is to see what will happen when she is not at home- if her bg goes sky high again, then we know that stress is causing part of the issue. I also forgot to mention- pre Dx, I had taken her to be treated for her hair and she was given prednisone, which I know causes bg to go up in humans and animals (college has done me some good;-) This was over a month before she was Dx though, so it should have been out of her system by the time she was taken back to be rechecked. It was actually a series of issues that led to getting her Dx- first visit was for the hair loss issue, which her other vet had said was Contact Dermatitis twice before. Next, a week after the prednisone shot, she had a kitty cold (we think the stress of even taking her to the vet caused her immune system to go awol and she caught it at the vet). Anyway, she was given a shot of antibiotics, but no more steroids. When her next visit came up, the vet decided to check her bg because her hair was coming back, but she was still getting tiny sores which should have went away with the prednisone. Well, her bg was 360 that day. We went back 3 days later- the same. So, I switched from Friskies dry and 9 lives wet to Wellness Core Original Formula and went back the next week for the fructos and other tests- it came back at consistent with diabetes. This is when we did the curve and another test, which she was at the vet all day and her bg was at 410- she would not eat at the vet or go potty- which I assumed would be the case.
I seriously am thinking that her bg literally skyrockets when she is at the vet and I don't believe they will get an accurate reading... We shall see.
 
I just have to ask - why are you taking her to the vet to do a curve - if last night did not demonstrate it - you don't need to waste your money, let alone stress out your cat unnecessarily.

I do have to take her to the vet tomorrow and have a curve done, which I believe is to see what will happen when she is not at home- if her bg goes sky high again, then we know that stress is causing part of the issue.

Seriously, read what you wrote - why stress her out? You know the vet will do that - it does it for most cats.

Maui received many steroid shots over the years as well as ate dry food. Those two things are what caused Maui's diabetes and even though she did not have a recent shot when diagnosed, she had enough over the years combined with dry to cause the problem.

Maui is what is called a transient diabetic - and I suspect given that you have normal BG's since you started testing that you too may have a transient diabetic - which simply means - remove all the things that can cause diabetes - dry food, steroids, etc and with a little (and maybe your case) no more insulin, she will be fine and in remission.

Yes it is very possible that she won't need insulin. now that doesn't mean you go back to old ways - no more dry food and if you do steroids - be sure you have a good reason to do it and understand it could make her need insulin again.

I seriously am thinking that her bg literally skyrockets when she is at the vet and I don't believe they will get an accurate reading... We shall see

again, you don't believe it is useful - so really, why the vet visit curve?

if you want to part with a couple hundred dollars because I bet you that is how much it will cost - why not give that to me instead - Maui is going for a dental Thursday and I sure could use extra money to cover it! ;-)
 
I'm with Hillary.
Tell your vet no thanks on the curve. Save your money. Cancel tomorrow because you can't make it... you don't have to have an argument as to why.... pretend you'll re-schedule later.
The prednisone was a contributor to Akasha 's dx. And the short term use is probably why she's doing better already.

There are many kitties here with skin issues so I think you could post for help with that and learn many things to be more proactive for Akasha with your vet.
Give yourself a little more time to explore what's going on and take advantage of Atasha having fantastic bg values.
Time is on your side... :razz: ( why do I quote that song so often? :lol: )
 
I don't know why I didn't pick up on the skin issues as to what was going on.

anyway, Maui had skin issues all her life - itchy skin, pulling fur out, constant scratching and over the years the vets gave steroid shots, different shampoos, etc.

The vets and there were several never once asked what I was feeding or even suggested that her problems could be a food allergy.

it wasn't until the diabetes and I came here and removed the dry food completely that her skin issues cleared up and her fur became lush and soft and no more dandruff.

I don't know what the exact ingredient in the dry food that caused the problem and honestly no longer care. I just know she doesn't eat dry food any longer and won't have skin issues.

hope that helps.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top