? What do I do now? Does Rom need an OTJ trial?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue484

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/rom-bouncing-and-diving-reduction-needed.183621/

So, four days ago, I was advised to go to 0.1 unit BID which I started on 9th September. I am filling the syring to the end of the zero line. Every day since at AM +5 he has given me a scary number. By PM he is bouncing. Is it even possible to go lower? He still needs insulin as when he was too low to shoot on the morning of 7th September by PMPS he was 16.6. I am at a loss ton where to go from here? Shall I try an OTJ trial and wait until the bounce clears to see exactly whether he needs it or not?
 
When you get a number in the 30s (US mg/dL), please feed and test again in 20 minutes. There is no wiggle room with those numbers.
 
Unfortunately I can't. I am at work. The petsitter came in and tested him and made sure he ate at least two pouches of food. He actually had more, so due to previous patterns, I am pretty sure he will be ok. He went up to 2.9 (52) a short time later when they were leaving. My question was more to do with how do I proceed from here with regards to insulin.
 
My first inclination is to say yes, but then I see the recent higher numbers. Let's see what other opinions you get. There is always the drop dose of insulin. I'm glad you have pet sitters come by to test and feed! He earned a dose reduction yesterday with the 32 (US). Whatever you do, give him less insulin tonight.
 
A drop dose of insulin is supposed to be less than 0.1 units. To get a drop, you hold the plunger in all of the way while you insert the syringe into the insulin. Then while it is still inserted, you take the pressure off of the plunger. This sucks up a tiny little bit of insulin. When you pull the syringe out you won't be able to tell there is insulin in it, but there is. When I did that dose, I pushed the plunger in and saw a drop come out. When shooting the drop dose, you'll need to hold the plunger in for several seconds before you remove the syringe from Rom to make sure the drop comes out.

I'm glad the petsitter was able to feed and get him to come up.

My first thought is to say try the OTJ trail becasue it does look like the bouncing is from going so low and that is causing the higher numbers. However, it is usually recommended to try the drop dose before an OTJ trial to ensure a strong remission. Hopefully you'll get some other advice.
 
He seems ok. His appetite is huge but he is all skin and bone, so not sure if I'm feeding him or the tumour! Saying that, today he didn't eat much this afternoon. His tumour doesn't feel so large though, which I hope is a good sign. The vets and oncologists are all doom and gloom and say he is on borrowed time, as usual life expectancy from diagnosis is 45 days, but he has been around 4 months since diagnosis. I tell the vets that he can't read the rule book, as the chemo I think is doing him the best they disagree with. I am the one with him the most though, and they know I won't keep him for selfish reasons but I just wish they could throw a bit of positivity in the mix sometimes. He seems more interested in having fusses and cuddles though and has started scratching up my legs again. They may be simple signs but to me they show hope.
 
I'm glad he is doing okay. I think the vets are required to be doom and gloom because they don't know what will happen and don't want to give false hope. When my civvie Callie had stomach cancer, they said a couple of weeks. I treated her at home, chemo was not an option, and she was with me for a year and a half. You just don't know how much time they have left. She had good days and bad days. There were days I thought that was it and then she'd perk back up and be doing good for a while. I hope you have many more good days with your civvie. I learned to just focus on the day at hand and not think about the future. Of course, there were still days I cried about it. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
What did you treat her with @carfurby ? It would be good to see if it would work on Teddy, he has Lymphoma.. Yes, he has good and bad days (mostly good nowadays, but I will see what he is like when I get home after not eating much this afternoon). I have thought that was it too and was ready to take him, but luckily the vets couldn't organise a proverbial in a brewery and the following day he was much better. I still cry a lot. I was at work today welling up going through the "how to know when it's time" posts. Luckily, he isn't there yet, but over half way there :(
 
Callie had stomach cancer. It would cause an open wound on her belly. That is what I treated. I sometimes gave her an antibiotic and had to use a saline rinse to keep the would clean.

I've recently read that homeopathic thuja can helps with tumors, but didn't know about it when Callie had cancer. I don't know if that is something that would help with Lymphoma. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Here is some information about Thuja. This site is mainly focusing on vaccine reactions, but it does mention tumors. I'm not sure if lymphoma is a tumor or not.

https://www.onlynaturalpet.com/prod...-Thuja/161016.aspx#pr-header-back-to-top-link

One of the reviews mentions a tumor:

I ordered this product to use when my pets get their Rabies shot, as I know that vaccinations can have serious adverse effects. Give them pellets before the shot, just after and then 12 hours later (follow the instructions on the label). I have had no problems with adverse reactions.
I recommended Thuja to my friend as her little elderly Yorkie was suffering from warts and had also been recently diagnosed with a tumor in her mouth. (Thuja is good for skin complaints). After using Thuja for several weeks, giving 6 pellets a day with cheese, her warts AND her tumor have gone! She has a new lease on life; has more energy and eating better than she has ever done before. Life saving product!
 
Hi Sue,

I have a thought about Rom. Since it doesn't look like he's ready for a trial yet, but keeps giving you low numbers, have you considered feeding him a higher carb food? That way you could continue to safely give insulin awhile longer, and maybe his cycles will level off a little and he'll look more like a kitty starting a trial should. Just a thought.

Sorry about Teddy. Where is the tumor? I had three cats with lymphoma - kidney, intestinal and ocular. I know how hard it is to deal with. Is he on Prednisolone?
 
Hi @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey. I could try that with Rom. I have posted his numbers last night and this morning on a separate condo. It's worth a try definitely, if one drop doesn't work.

Teddy has gastro intestinal lymphoma. This is the worst disease ever. He was on Prednisolone but he is the worst cat ever to pill, even the vets struggle. Even when he was so sick the tablet would fly across the room. Even the kitty burrito didn't work. His head flies all over the place and you just cannot pill him regularly. He is now on an injectable steroid. The vets knows I can handle a needle so all of his medicine is now injectable. I just wish they did pharmacies over here that mix with different flavours that cats like they do in the US. Even the RVC has never heard of doing that.
 
Make sure you research the thuja first. I found out that you don't want to give it along with prednisolone because they cancel each other out. I don't know if it is the same with any steriod. Google thuja and the name of the injectible steroid.

I have a cat with a granuloma on her tongue and started give thuja along with pred and she got worse because I missed they cancel each other out.
 
Thanks for that. I have just done a quick google and couldn't find anything that says they cancel each other out! I guess I need to dig a bit more deeper. The steroid Ted is on is dexamethasone. He has that every other day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top