What do I do next?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Los Gatos

Member
I've got his numbers between 100-200 and a average of ~130+ by using wet food alone. Most of the time no PZI.

The question I have is do I find a dose to bring the nadir below 100 and will that make him happier and healthier?

If I can keep his numbers where they are now for a few more days, then I'll start the food experiment. I need to find numbers for different types of wet and numbers where dry is introduced.
I know the numbers can change over time but I need a idea of what to expect rather than reacting to a spike.

Most likely at the end of the month or next month, I'll go to the vet.
 
He is getting a little dry, right? If you eliminate that, he may drop into remission numbers. (have you tried Stella and Chewy's foods? They are a type of freeze dried raw food that have a little crunch, as do PureBites.). It would be safer and easier to get rid of the dry than try drops of insulin. With insulin, you'd have to monitor a lot.

The other reason is get rid of all dry is, if he goes into remission, some day the dry could be enough to push him out - like a human diabetic that just sneaks one donut a day, it'll affect the numbers.
 
Those are great numbers. Are they on the Alphatrak still? I agree with Sue...no dry food at all could push your kitty into remission! Keep us posted.

P.S. Hi Sue!!! Glad you're back!
 
He is getting very little dry ~2tbs at the most for the whole day and some days none at all. I picked up some of the primal freeze dried for him to try as a kibble replacement, they were giving samples out.
So if his numbers stay here there is no problems associated with them?
 
It would be better if they were lower. We'd like to see numbers between 40-120, off insulin, with the majority of the time in double digits. (Most non diabetic cats seem to run around 50-70 but of course every cat is different.) You want him in the range for two weeks before we say he is in remission.

So I would try to get them lower first by taking away the dry. (Sometimes just 2 temptations treats can push the numbers up) IMHO, it just isn't worth the risk. He doesn't need dry and although he would like you to think he can't live without it :mrgreen: , he can learn to do without.

Thanks, Rachel. Nice to be back.
 
Thank you Sue.

Rachel,
Yes on the AT. Unless I negotiate a Nova Statstrip handheld unit from the mfg. I don't expect to change.
 
Ah, forgot you were using Alphatrak. You'll need to convert your numbers for the remission range. I think you'd want 70 - 150 as the range, but check it out with others.
 
Here is BJ's document

[Incorrect assumptions removed by moderator]

Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Sue,
You are the best..
on the other hand with the AT numbers that he had.... it is a wonder I didn't do him in a low of 46.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top