What did I do wrong

Status
Not open for further replies.
OH NO! WHAT DID I DO WRONG?! Today is Vinnie's 7th day without insulin, but this morning his BG was 443!!! I don't understand what happen, I plan on checking his BG in an hour and if it's still high giving a small dose?? We are dog sitting another dog, could it be stress related? I'm so heart broken right now. :(
 
Oh Becca, I can only imagine how your heart sank. My guess is it is either stress or could Kiittie have gotten into the dog food?
 
Oh Becca, I can only imagine how your heart sank. My guess is it is either stress or could Kiittie have gotten into the dog food?
I'm really trying to think if that could have happened, I guess it could have. I usually feed both of the dogs at the same time and I am right there with them. BUT Vinnie is a brave kitty and our dog was raised with him so I know she wouldn't care if Vinnie stole some food out of her bowl. Should his BG go down once the food may be out of his system?
 
Darn. I would guess he somehow got into the dog food. It would be unusual for him to jump that much, even if he needed more insulin. No chance the test was bad?

I think Either you can wait and see if, when his body clears the high carb, he drops. Or give a small dose and watch him like a hawk - maybe .5? The problem is, if his pancreas was working, the likelihood is that it will work again this and you don't want a sudden drop. But you also don't want him sitting in high ranges.
 
Darn. I would guess he somehow got into the dog food. It would be unusual for him to jump that much, even if he needed more insulin. No chance the test was bad?

I think Either you can wait and see if, when his body clears the high carb, he drops. Or give a small dose and watch him like a hawk - maybe .5? The problem is, if his pancreas was working, the likelihood is that it will work again this and you don't want a sudden drop. But you also don't want him sitting in high ranges.
I feel so bad I am usually so careful! I took is BG about 21 mins ago and it was 397. A drop but still high.
 
Wow he is going down pretty fast considering. Additional stress from the additional dog and perhaps stealing a kibble could elevate but, I agree, it sure was high. Good thing that you have been testing every day prior to this phenomenon and today. Please keep us posted and will have our fingers/paws crossed.
 
Just tested again, 302. I'm still torn on what to do? I'm not sure if I should give a .5 dose or just wait it out till PM??
I wish I had an answer for you. If it were Bubba, I might wait till the PM since the numbers are coming down, and because I know I only feed him 6 am and 6pm and I would think his numbers would continue to drop as the day went on but then again, I don't really know. Keep us posted as to how he is and what you do.
 
So glad you were testing! I was already at work when this came in. Im sure this is stressful but remember to breathe!! Keep us posted.
 
Simplest and best explanation is he got into some food like some have said. That stuff can raise points by the hundreds, which is what we're seeing. Hopefully by PMPS the #'s are back down to normal and you can continue shooting a big fat zero.
 
At this point, I think I'd wait till pmps, then give maybe 0.25 if he is still in the 300s, if you can monitor overnight. (If he continues to fall and is still falling at pmps, then the answer would be different).
 
Simplest and best explanation is he got into some food like some have said. That stuff can raise points by the hundreds, which is what we're seeing. Hopefully by PMPS the #'s are back down to normal and you can continue shooting a big fat zero.
(Just saw this a few minutes ago...) Yep, sure looks like a classic case of dog-kibble theft to me:rolleyes:!
I agree with Sue above ... and try not to stress too much over this, Becca - sometimes stuff like this just happens, despite our best efforts! :bighug:
 
@Becca and Vinnie , would you edit your title and remove the 911 please? I believe you've got a handle on this and it's no longer an emergency. Since we have so many out for the holiday, the ones here will look for things like that to help first.

I agree with Sue too - there's nothing wrong with still having to supplement a bit more insulin when needed. Maybe Mr. Pancreas decided to take a holiday too....a help of .25 may get him over this hump.

HUGS!
 
@Becca and Vinnie , would you edit your title and remove the 911 please? I believe you've got a handle on this and it's no longer an emergency. Since we have so many out for the holiday, the ones here will look for things like that to help first.

I agree with Sue too - there's nothing wrong with still having to supplement a bit more insulin when needed. Maybe Mr. Pancreas decided to take a holiday too....a help of .25 may get him over this hump.

HUGS!
Sorry I didn't know you could edit the title, still getting the hang of things. I checked again and it went to 345, so I gave .25 and will check in a an hour.
 
Sorry I didn't know you could edit the title, still getting the hang of things. I checked again and it went to 345, so I gave .25 and will check in a an hour.

Good job figuring out how to change the title! It does take a bit of time to figure out all this stuff AND learning how to navigate the forum too!

I know that 345 wasn't what you wanted to see but it's so early in his whole diagnosis - you're doing REALLY good!

HUGS!
 
I think giving a small token dose was good. I know you want the number to come down fast, but take it in small steps...who knows if his pancreas are jumping in? Focus on the good stuff...you were testing, you caught this. He might just need that bit of insulin to kick start things and be back to normal soon. You're doing great! Big hug to you!
 
Looks like we are back on track!!! This is day two back off insulin, last night his BG was 63 and this morning was 59! Getting a lil low but I'm hoping it will be back to normal levels by tonight. I may check again at PMPS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top