What are the Pet Meter numbers for Glarine nadirs?

colin72

Member Since 2014
(edit to add: I have filled out Midas' spreadsheet)

Hi

My cat Midas started Glargine on 12/27/2021. I'm using an Alphatrak2 meter NOT a human meter.

On the sticky, "Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR), it gves the following numbers for a human meter...

If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit

Could someone tell me what the numbers would be for a pet specific meter please?

Thanks!
 
Last edited:
Hi & welcome to FDMB.

Our dosing protocols are written with human meters in mind. However, for SLGS, the ranges given and the reduction point of 90 mg/dl is the same for human and pet meters.

Tagging @Bron and Sheba (GA) for confirmation.
 
Hi & welcome to FDMB.

Our dosing protocols are written with human meters in mind. However, for SLGS, the ranges given and the reduction point of 90 mg/dl is the same for human and pet meters.

Tagging @Bron and Sheba (GA) for confirmation.
Yes that is correct.
There is no official comparison between the human and pet meter BGs . We encourage people to use human meters on this site, but if you want to use the pet meter, you need to use the guidelines we have in the TR and SLGS methods.
There is more information on HELP US HELP YOU
 
Last edited:
Thank you all for your answers.

Do you have any data to add to your spreadsheet?
Could you tell us the dose you are giving please?
Are you feeding a low carb diet?

I've updated Midas' spreadsheet.

Yes, I am feeding a low carb diet.

Currently, Midas is getting 3 units Glargine.
 
Back
Top