What are signs of ProZinc going bad?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn & Baxter

Member Since 2011
What are the signs a bottle of ProZinc has gone bad or going bad?

Here is why I ask....
-My bottle is a little more the 1/2 full & it's all cloudy. It hasn't been like this in the past. It looks as if I have already mixed it. Exp date 1/13
-I did catch myself shaking it last week. (habit from shaking the Claramox)
-Last month I left it out for about 4 hours.
-I haven't seen any particles floating in it. I held up to the under cabinet lighting & haven't seen anything.
-The last thing ....Baxters BG #s have been high. Yesterday he was flat almost all day.
Maybe the ProZinc isn't the problem. I am just trying to rule out things.

Thank you,
Jenn & Baxter
cat_pet_icon
 
Unfortunately, unless there are particles (a clear sign), the only other way to really know is to buy a new vial.
Anything else change? Your cycles before yesterday were looking good.

I remember you were switching from shooting early at pmps to a 12/12 schedule. Any change that was the blip yesterday?

What is your amps this morning?
 
Hi Jenn,
I just went through this. I was approx half way through my bottle and Jax's numbers were starting to fall flat. I did a few things to rule out other things. One cycle I reduced his normal intake of food by half ...nothing. Flat #'s. Then I increased his dose... Nothing! Like you, there were no floaties but I did leave out his insulin from time to time for 30 mins or so before remembering. However, check out my last two update threads in what to watch out for with a new bottle. Typing this on my cellphone which is not the easiest thing to do! Good luck!
 
I use to be the biggest believer on this board that Prozinc pooped out about half way through the bottle. I have always had to increase the dose a tad about half way through the bottle to maintain the bgs level. I use to get a lot of "push back" on the idea that Prozinc pooped out.

I now am not as convinced that Prozinc Poops out, but I do find that new vials are more potent for about 2 weeks and that you need to reduce your dose a little when starting a new vial.

You can look back at my bid spreadsheet and see the differences that I did got when starting new vials, and how often I started new vials. There was a differnce, but it only lasted short term. I still have vials that are half full in the fridge! I now am able to use the entire vial with no evidence of poop out! Who knows?! Maybe we should start a EVID---every vial is different!!!

Shaking the vial is bad!!! A lot worse than leaving it out.
 
We are back on 12/12 since Friday.
Today AMPS-334-I gave 1.50.
I spoke with the vet yesterday morning he said with his Baxters #s to start giving 1.5. I don't know what to give especially after giving him 1.5 & his #s not moving much all day yesterday.

What would the particles look? Color, size?

If it was bad would the cycles be flat?
Would it go up & down some, but not by much? Because of the pancreas kind of working & the insulin kind of working too?

Early on his numbers weren't this high. He was even OTJ for 3 weeks, 3 weeks after DX. There is proof his pancreas was working. So for it to be so high now....I am just trying to look at everything & eliminate possibilities.
 
I don't know anything about Prozinc going bad, it never happened to me. My bottle lasted a full year and was good to the last drop.

You're right, there is evidence that his P is working. You got much better results on .25u than you are getting now. In this case it looks like his numbers have gotten progressively worse as you increased his dose.

Have you tried a reverse rebound check? It is a quick way to find out if the dose is too high. I think I would try that before increasing again, that way you would know that it's not enough insulin and then can increase with confidence.
 
A reverse rebound check is when you drop your dose down by a .5u, if their numbers get better that will tell you that the dose was too high. If their numbers skyrocket up then the last dose wasn't too high and you can increase with confidence.

Whenever you drop your dose be sure to test for ketones just to stay safe.
 
Ok....want to make sure I understand correctly.

Tonight drop back down to 1.0. If his numbers are good then 1.0 wasn't to much. If his numbers are high then 1.5 is the right amount?

So give him 1.0 tonight no matter how high his BG # is?

Baxter SS is updated.
 
In your case I would drop to .5u that way you will know right away. The 1 unit wasn't getting much action.

I would only drop the dose if you can test through it, otherwise why bother.

Another thought is that you had a decent cycle last night and today's cycle looks promising so it looks like the 1.5u is working and maybe the 1 unit just wasn't enough.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top