What are normal ranges

Status
Not open for further replies.

mfrancis69

Member Since 2013
Hi my name is Melissa and I am new to the forum.
From what I have read the ideal reading would be between 100 - 180, my cats readings run closer to the low 200's before her shots and feedings each day.
The other morning I tested her and she was at 243 which is the highest I have seen it so far.
There is a lot of stress in the house right now (money troubles), and was wondering if that affects her at all.
I have been feeding her Fancy Feast since her diagnosis and she seems to eat fine.
I have recently started her on the Zobaline vitamins, and at first I thought I would have troubles getting her to eat her food with them included, but Sassy has adjusted fine.
Is there something more that I can do for her when her levels are higher, I have an aunt that is diabetic and when her levels are higher she takes more insulin.
I haven't gotten a lot of guidance from my vet and not sure if you do the same for a cat or not. I haven't changed anything about the way I do things now, just the same dose of 2 units twice a day.
I also believe she has thyroid problems but haven't had the money to get her back to the vet to have that checked. that will have to wait for now.
Any guidance or insight would be helpful.
Thanks Melissa
 
Welcome, Melissa

Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using glucometers. Human glucometer numbers are given first. Numbers in parentheses are for non-US meters. Numbers in curly braces are estimates for an AlphaTrak.

< 40 mg/dL (2.2 mmol/L) {< 70 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) {< 80 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50 (2.8).
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL (2.8 - 7.2 mmol/L) {80 - 160 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s (1.7 mmol/L){60s for an AlphaTrak}; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

= 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- the lowest level pre-shot for ProZinc, PZI, or other non-depot insulins.

> 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

200 mg/dL (11.1 mmol/L) {230 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {180 mg/dL} for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as mid-cycle data collection shows it is safe

180 - 280 mg/dL (10 - 15.6 mmol/L) {may be 210 - 310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL (15.6 mmol/L) {may be >=310 mf/dL for an AlphaTrak}, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
What insulin are you using?
How much does you cat weigh?
How much should your cat weigh?

Are you home testing the glucose? You need an inexpensive human glucometer such as the WalMart ReliOn Prime or Confirm, test strips, and 26-27 gauge lancets to prick the outer edge of the ear.

Only the Fancy Feast Classic pates are low carb, for safety, however, hold everything the same unless you are home testing.
 
Hi Melissa,
What type of insulin are you using? Some can be adjusted dose-wise differently than others. Prozinc for instance is more flexible than Lantus or Levemir would be.
Do you test between shots at all? Those numbers, especially around 5-7 hours after a shot, are when the nadir (lowest BG) usually takes place. Those tests can be very helpful when trying to figure out what a dose should be.

Yes, stress can elevate BGs and maybe she's picking up on the household stress levels. Usually though, it's stress from pain, or a trip to the vet for instance that would be more obvious "stress-related" causes.

"Normal" BG for cats is between 40-120 on a human blood glucose meter. (70-150 on a pet specific meter like an Alpha Track). But if you are mostly seeing numbers close to 200, those are not bad especially early in treatment. How long has Sassy been getting insulin?
 
BJM, the vet put her on Lantus 2 units twice a day.
When she was diagnosed she was under weight, but is now back up to about 9 lbs, she is a small cat so that is about normal for her.
I appreciate the chart but I am not sure that I understand it.
 
Carl,
I am using a human glucose meter (Accu-chek) and yes when I see that it is higher I will check an hour or so after a shot to make sure that it is coming back down.
The last reading when I checked it more than once, it was 105, then 111 and the evening reading was 173, those are good numbers right?
But Since the stress levels have gone up over the last week so has her numbers closer to the 200 range or over.
She has been in pain her back end seems very sensitive by her tail area and she doesn't jump up on things she pulls herself up onto things.
After doing research that is why I think she has thyroid issues as well.
Based on the number you gave me for "normal" on a human monitor she is still really high it seems????
Sassy has been on insulin almost a year now.
Thanks for the input, I will look for more responses as well.
Melissa
 
OK, great, Lantus is a great choice for insulin!

Dosing with Lantus is based primarily on the "nadir" value, the lowest point the BG goes between the two shots. It's also important to test just before shot time, so keep doing that. Does your schedule allow for a test around +6 (six hours after the shot)? The nadir is not always at that time, but it's a good place to look for the "low". If for instance, you see a number below 50 (at any time), that would indicate that she needs a lower dose of insulin.

This is an example of what a "typical" 12 hour cycle on Lantus might look like:
Example of an active Lantus cycle:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.


And here are some "sticky topics" that will tell you more about the insulin you are using:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=151
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139

Keep asking questions! That's why we're here. ;-)
 
The last reading when I checked it more than once, it was 105, then 111 and the evening reading was 173, those are good numbers right?
But Since the stress levels have gone up over the last week so has her numbers closer to the 200 range or over.
She has been in pain her back end seems very sensitive by her tail area and she doesn't jump up on things she pulls herself up onto things.
After doing research that is why I think she has thyroid issues as well.
Based on the number you gave me for "normal" on a human monitor she is still really high it seems????

No, not really high. 400 or 500 is "really high". Numbers under 250 or so are not "bad". Yes, they could be better, but her numbers are not really high at all.
 
mfrancis69 said:
BJM, the vet put her on Lantus 2 units twice a day.
When she was diagnosed she was under weight, but is now back up to about 9 lbs, she is a small cat so that is about normal for her.
I appreciate the chart but I am not sure that I understand it.

The chart is what various numbers or ranges of numbers mean. Folks test in 3 different ways on this board: they use human glucometers (mg/dL), they may use international measurement units (mmol/L), or they may use pet specific meters {AlphaTrak}.

The ranges are ordered from low numbers or ranges to high numbers or ranges and describe the general interpretation of what they may mean and what action may need to be taken.
 
Thanks Carl, that does help a lot. And thank you for the links, I will check them out as well.
I was testing twice a day before the shot and then randomly after that to see where she was at different times of the day.
However, I ran out of the testing strips and cannot afford to get more right now, no job and no income.
Still aggressively looking for work and have items from my home for sale to make ends meet, so needless to say I can't test her right now.
I know how important it is and want to be able to give her the best possible care, I have had her for 13 years, since a baby and don't want to lose her
because of her health and because I can't afford to care for her the way that I always have in the past due to money.
The Accu-chek strips are $65 for 50 strips and that only would last me less than a month, I don't even have an available credit card to put it on.
Sorry I didn't mean to gripe about my money issues, but it worries me that I can't care for her properly and don't want her health to decline, at least I have the insulin to treat her.
Thanks
Melissa
 
If there is a WalMart near you, once you are able, pick up a ReliOn Prime which is inexpensive and has. The lowest cost strips.

Also check into DCIN, which may be able to assist with some costs for some veterinary things; you won't know unless you apply.
 
Or maybe click on the "Starter kit" link on the right-hand top of the index page?
 
Thanks BJM and Carl for your advice, I will look into both of those things.
Maybe a less costly device would be ideal, but when your broke your broke.

When things turn around, hopefully soon, I will look into the meter that is less expensive to keep supplies on hand. I got my meter from my aunt because her doctor upgraded hers,
but had no idea how costly the strips would be once I ran out.

Thanks again
Melissa
 
Hello and welcome to the board!

You could also switch her to friskies pates instead of the fancy feast. They are bigger cans, and cheaper -plus all the pates are low enough carb for a diabetic cat

Also check into DCIN and see if they can help.

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top