What Am I Doing Wrong?

Miriam Van Scott

Member Since 2020
Harriett has been on Lantus for over a month now, started at 2 units then eventually reduced to .5 because her numbers were dropping to where she was missing every other shot (BG 240 at 7am, then 60 at 7pm, etc.) For a week, her numbers stayed steady in the mid 200's all day, then a week ago she shot up to over 400. I upped her back to 1 unit, and since then has been steady in the 350 - 400 range. Everything else was kept the same: wet pate food or cooked chicken only, 4 meals a day 3 hours apart, etc.

(No, I don't have a spreadsheet, I keep a written log)

This morning she was 383. I'm so depressed and not sure what to do. She was holding steady and doing well at 1 unit and even at .5 until that one high reading, but now her numbers are worse than they've been since she was first diagnosed (her initial BG was 419) My vet is no help: he wants her back on the Royal Canin dry food and taking 3 units twice daily, which is NOT going to happen. I just feel (again!) like whatever I do is wrong, especially now that her numbers are going in the wrong direction.

Do I increase her dose to 1.25 and try to get her numbers down, or reduce to .5, which is where she was when her numbers were lower and steady? ANY help appreciated!!! Thank you
 
Last edited:
Is there a particular reason why you haven’t set up a spreadsheet? That is the biggest single thing you could do at this stage to help Harriett. We can’t help you unless you have a spreadsheet as we need to see the numbers. We rely on the SS to see all the data. Once you do that I know we will be able to help
You.
If you think you may have trouble setting it up we can help with that too.
 
Is there a particular reason why you haven’t set up a spreadsheet? That is the biggest single thing you could do at this stage to help Harriett. We can’t help you unless you have a spreadsheet as we need to see the numbers. We rely on the SS to see all the data. Once you do that I know we will be able to help
You.
If you think you may have trouble setting it up we can help with that too.

I'm just not a computer person AT ALL and can't even figure out how to open the basic template. I've been keeping a written log with her BG numbers, feedings, notations on variations, etc.

I appreciate everyone's help, but if I have to learn computers AND all this feline diabetes stuff, I'm not going to make it through this --- already overwhelmed and depressed and don't need another log on the 'epic fail' fire
 
@Marje and Gracie can also help with a spreadsheet.

Frankly, most of us will not risk giving input on dosing without benefit of seeing a spreadsheet. We do not want to harm your cat and the spreadsheet is the only way we have the information necessary to make informed recommendations.

This is the link to the spreadsheet instructions. (Just click on the blue link.)

This is information on understanding the spreadsheet.

If you've not already done so, you will want to read the "sticky notes" at the top of the board. They will help you get oriented to this forum.
 
Back
Top