Miriam Van Scott
Member Since 2020
Harriett has been on Lantus for over a month now, started at 2 units then eventually reduced to .5 because her numbers were dropping to where she was missing every other shot (BG 240 at 7am, then 60 at 7pm, etc.) For a week, her numbers stayed steady in the mid 200's all day, then a week ago she shot up to over 400. I upped her back to 1 unit, and since then has been steady in the 350 - 400 range. Everything else was kept the same: wet pate food or cooked chicken only, 4 meals a day 3 hours apart, etc.
(No, I don't have a spreadsheet, I keep a written log)
This morning she was 383. I'm so depressed and not sure what to do. She was holding steady and doing well at 1 unit and even at .5 until that one high reading, but now her numbers are worse than they've been since she was first diagnosed (her initial BG was 419) My vet is no help: he wants her back on the Royal Canin dry food and taking 3 units twice daily, which is NOT going to happen. I just feel (again!) like whatever I do is wrong, especially now that her numbers are going in the wrong direction.
Do I increase her dose to 1.25 and try to get her numbers down, or reduce to .5, which is where she was when her numbers were lower and steady? ANY help appreciated!!! Thank you
(No, I don't have a spreadsheet, I keep a written log)
This morning she was 383. I'm so depressed and not sure what to do. She was holding steady and doing well at 1 unit and even at .5 until that one high reading, but now her numbers are worse than they've been since she was first diagnosed (her initial BG was 419) My vet is no help: he wants her back on the Royal Canin dry food and taking 3 units twice daily, which is NOT going to happen. I just feel (again!) like whatever I do is wrong, especially now that her numbers are going in the wrong direction.
Do I increase her dose to 1.25 and try to get her numbers down, or reduce to .5, which is where she was when her numbers were lower and steady? ANY help appreciated!!! Thank you
Last edited: