What a night in PZI! Kitty (tid) and Sally (dog) 1/27

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning to All!

Wow, what a night in PZI! To be such a small group, we sure had a lot of excitement last night!

So, even Cool Kitty has decided to get in on the low numbers! Her amps this morning was 157. I waited, retested and shot 3.2 into a 211 an hour late. I have no idea what is going on with Kitty, she has been high for a couple of days and then this! But, this is more in line with the numbers we have been seeing recently.... and I am not complaining. I am thinking the high numbers we saw mid week, were due to the respiratory infection that I am now treating, but really, I have NO idea! She is still drinking too much, so I am taking her Monday for blood work. I am concerned about her kidneys.

Now, to Sally (dog)---- the vet had decreased her dose to 3 units of N and she seemed to be holding her own, until the last 36 hours when she shot up into the 400s. I increased her dose last night, to the original 7 units, and this morning she was 179. Who knows what is going on?....did the 7 units bring her down, did she get into some high carb food the cycles with the high numbers....I have NO idea! But, I was leary shooting the 7 units this morning, so I went back to 4 units. The vet wanted me to curve her on the 7 units today.....guess she will be surprised?!!!

I am still concerned over Kitty, but hopefully her BGs will stay in this lower range.

Wishing everyone a much calmer day than last night........
 
Glad Kitty's coming down; hopefully it was just the URI. Also good that Sally's coming down, too. Have a good weekend!
 
Okay, regarding Sally (dog)....the vet told me to do a curve today on the 7 units, but I only shot 4. I decided to do the curve on this dose....+3 is 106. I am really not liking this.....I know very LITTLE about canine diabetes, but I have been told that anything below 100 is scary! I have 9 more hours to go! I just fed her a cookie. I have tried to call the vet, BUT....no answer!

Breathe.....I know! Be Calm.....I know! Easier said than done!
 
Kim,

I will be around this morning if you want some company. I am googling for dog feline diabetes to see what I can find. (Glad you didn't give 7!)
 
Hey,
last night was green night, sally!
I'll be at work but I have my phone to keep an eye out too
carl
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Kim,

I will be around this morning if you want some company. I am googling for dog feline diabetes to see what I can find. (Glad you didn't give 7!)

I would suggest "dog diabetes" or "canine diabetes"; a dog can't have feline diabetes. ;-)
 
The sites I found say a hypo in dogs is treated just like one in cats, so you should be a natural for this, Kim. Small doses of higher carb food/treats with honey on the gums if she drops low. Is her naidr around +6 like cats?
 
I finally got the vet......here is her take......keep testing...feed if she starts trembling! Wow, sure am glad I called. I am googling also, but have found nothing to put my mind at ease.

I will retest shortly....thanks for the support!
 
Yes, from what I have read, the nadir is normally around +6...but, can be later. But, supposedly anything below 75 is considered hypo.
 
Kim, you know the drill .... don't panic! remember in the beginning with Kitty, it will work out. Finding Sally's dose will be the hard thing and there is much trial and error BUT you did it with Miss Kitty and you will do it with Sally. BREATHE!!
 
So, I don't know what scary is, but if below 100 is....then we are there! Just retested--- 91. The vet said 80 was the number to get proactive on. Sure am glad I am not using a freestyle meter, she would be Dead now!

So, would you feed some carbs on this number or wait and let it fall. I am convinced it is going to continue to drop--- we are only at +4?
 
The chart on canine diabetes says 64 or under is hypo .... you are ok for now but I would feed her just to be safe. Remember a dog is just a bigger cat :) you can do this.
 
+4.5 is 72!

I am feeding and adding a little syrup.

I am still calm.....she is acting fine. I have always read that "human meters" read lower than pet meters in lower numbers. Supposedly, that is to "push" the human to take action as their sugar drops. So, I am hoping the lower numbers are a bit exaggerated. But, not counting on it.........
 
So I am wondering if the difference in dealing with a cat hypo versus a dog hypo is basically size. Might it take longer for the food/syrup to make the numbers rise? Maybe the amounts given need to be larger if based on weight?

Maybe that is why the higher number for a hypo in dogs?
 
I've heard that too about the meters.

I'm glad you are intervening now. Even if the meter is off a little she's getting down there.

Calm is good, keep breeeathing....

Please keep us posted.
 
I read that the normal blood sugar for a healthy dog is 75-125. Isn't the normal blood sugar for a cat, on the low side, lower than that? If so, I guess that would account for the higher hypo number.

She acts fine. At least I am not having trouble getting her to eat.
 
Makes sense about the higher hypo number. I was just over reading on the canine site and it sounds like they give bigger doses of karo at a time too which also makes sense. How big is Sally?

And after this passes we want a picture or two of her too.
 
She is 65 pounds. How much syrup would you give if I have to administer it? I added about a tablespoon of syrup to her food 30 mins ago. I also gave her another cookie. I know very little about this in dogs, but my local vet had alluded to the fact that dogs process carbs different than cats. And, the difference in the metabolism makes it harder to control dogs by diet. I HAVE NO IDEA!!!!

I only know, that I agree with Denise.....I hate this $%&*$@ Dance! Times two!

I will get you a picture....Thanks Sue and Robin for the support!
 
The site I was reading said 1 teaspoon for a small dog and 1 tablespoon for a large dog.

It also said something about putting it under their tongue, it gets into their system quicker.
 
Well, you could check and see if 30 minutes later her numbers have risen? Maybe that would give you a basis for figuring how much, how often?

If there is no change or she has gone down, I would try more syrup. (of course I am floundering in the dark here......)
 
+5 is 65...flat, but the syrup is in this number....I am going to give more syrup. I bet her pancreas is LOVING all of this syrup......

I still feel okay, I just would like to see some upward movement.
 
No symptoms. This is such a double edged sword--- I know I am feeding her things that will probably set the ptitis off, but what choice to I have? I realize the danger of hypos.

She seems okay!
 
Well, since Carl isn't here to look on the bright side, I'll give it a shot. :mrgreen: Just think if you had given 7 units. Sally would probably be in the ER getting straight glucose by IV. At least you are managing this at home and being cautious. You got her pancreatitis under control before. You can do it again.

Missing the humor Carl gets in there........
 
She seems fine....I will test again in about 15 mins to see if she is going up! Yes, I am so glad I did not give the 7 units. I have no idea what her dose should be. Unlike Kitty, she will not eat canned food at the present time and only wants boiled hamburger or chicken. There is no consistency in her diet, which makes this so much harder.

Then the insulin is so different than Prozinc. But, hopefully I will figure it all out. We are so lucky to have this site for felines, the canine sites appear to have a long ways to go to catch up!
 
This is Rebecca's site..... http://doggydiabetes.com/

There is no message board. It is so different just reading material--- and interacting with others who have experience to share. We are very fortunate here at FDMB!
 
This link is to the k9diabetes message board, it looks different then ours but members are posting in it today. It doesn't look as busy as here though.


http://www.k9diabetes.com/forum/


Edit: I take that back, I went poking around the site and it looks alot like ours, the Hi I'm new post I saw was 4 pages long. I think it might be worth checking out, like here you might get better info than from the vet from people who are living it.
 
Okay, here we go---+6 is 95. That is much better. I will keep an eye on her and be sure this rise isn't strictly induced by the syrup. But, the timing looks about right, for the N-- the nadir should have hit by now!

Thanks to all for the support. I never doubted you would be here for us!
 
I went out for an extended lunch break and it looks like all hell broke loose with Sally.
Sounds like she's rallying. Good work, Kim.
 
Hi all!

By the time I checked in, it was all over except for the drooling, but nice work Kim, and everyone who helped out with "our" very first doggie hypo!
Brightsides..... Now you know what to do, or how to help with anyone else who has the same problem.... Everyone who reads this thread will receive an education. You now have at least one other website to explore and meet new friends who can help you out with canine diabetes, and might run into some folks that can benefit because they also have a sugarkitty but don't know about FDMB!

Kim, your experience with FD saved Sally's life today. Just the gut instinct that 7 units was wrong, plus understanding how insulin works (even though it's different insulin).... without that knowledge, Sally's in an ER. I'm thinking of H and sort of a high test version of PZI. Same concept. Shot goes in, BG goes down, nadir happens, shot wears off, lather, rinse, repeat.

But just our understanding of how cats use insulin half as fast....that's helpful. With Sally, H should last 8-9 hours with a nadir around +4 to +5 right? And it shouldn't act as fast and harshly as it would on a cat, because droolers are "slow"? Have you looked at the dosing protocols for insulin in dogs yet on those sites. I haven't but I will. So they have a SLGS protocol like we do?

Carl
 
I am still totally confused!!! But, yes, thankfully I didn't give the 7 units this morning. For her pmps tonight, Sally was 322--- I had no idea what to shoot....But, I went with 6 units. I am 2 hours into the cycle and getting ready to test.

Thanks for all of the help today.....I know it is not the protocal to discuss a dog in PZI, but there probably is something to be learned , that might can help us all. I just am not sure what it is yet!!!

Thanks again to everyone for, at the least, giving me somewhere to discuss Sally.......
 
Kim,
Sue has told me that in the past there was a ferret on FDMB, so I don't think we're breaking any big rules discussing Sally. We all talk over "problems" that have nothing to do with sugarkitties here too. So Sally is just another "tangent" we can all visit!

I'm on if you need an ear, an eye, or a shoulder,
Carl
 
Thanks, Saint Sue---this is a Great Family!

I checked out the site Robin linked.....it is very informative. It appears to be a lot like ours! So, maybe tomorrow I will get a passoword and see what the group can share with me to help Sally.

It is almost +3 now, so I am going to check Sally....
 
I have returned from Health! Never a dull moment....
Carl
 
hmmmmm,
Well, it's +4, so safe to assume the +3 was a good number?

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top