Daphne and Jayne
Member Since 2011
Jayne went in for her first appt. with the new vet -- and what a world of difference! The new vet took the time to explain her protocol and answer all of our questions. She dropped Jayne's dose from 3 units 2x/day to 1 unit 2x/day and recommended that we gradually phase out the w/d (something I had already begun doing) -- just as you all here had suggested. She also said we absolutely did the right thing in adjusting Jayne's dose when her BG level was at 86 after I posted here. I am so grateful that you all helped me at that point; to have given Jayne 3 units at such a low level could have been disastrous.
Jayne felt absolutely at home. The examination room had a large window the width of one wall and from the ceiling to the floor (cat eye level), overlooking a lush tropical garden. Jayne got out of her carrier and peered out the window during the entire consultation, completely unruffled by yet another car trip to the vet. We left with a sense of peace of mind and an optimistic outlook: The vet said her goal is to help us get Jayne off of insulin, ultimately, and that her chances of doing so look pretty good.
If any of you are looking for a vet in the Tampa Bay area, I highly recommend Dr. Edwards and the team at All Cats Hospital in Largo. (Another bonus: no barking dogs to elevate Jayne's stress level!)
Thanks again from the bottom of my heart for all your help. We're going to continue home testing and following the great advice we've received from this fabulous resource, and with the guidance of our new partner in Jayne's care we hope to get Jayne regulated to some extent.
Jayne felt absolutely at home. The examination room had a large window the width of one wall and from the ceiling to the floor (cat eye level), overlooking a lush tropical garden. Jayne got out of her carrier and peered out the window during the entire consultation, completely unruffled by yet another car trip to the vet. We left with a sense of peace of mind and an optimistic outlook: The vet said her goal is to help us get Jayne off of insulin, ultimately, and that her chances of doing so look pretty good.
If any of you are looking for a vet in the Tampa Bay area, I highly recommend Dr. Edwards and the team at All Cats Hospital in Largo. (Another bonus: no barking dogs to elevate Jayne's stress level!)
Thanks again from the bottom of my heart for all your help. We're going to continue home testing and following the great advice we've received from this fabulous resource, and with the guidance of our new partner in Jayne's care we hope to get Jayne regulated to some extent.