Wha? Low bg

Status
Not open for further replies.
Soo here I am 4 hours after I was suposed to shoot my cat and his BG is still under 100. Woo for kitty confusion here as his numbers have been bouncing all over the last few days after his illness.

The only thing that changed was he is now 100% off of dry but still getting canned food that is aobut 15% of carbs. Were going to be takeing the next step to pate soon.

So 4 hours after he was suposed to get his shot and his BG is at 64, 2 hours before that he was at 60 and early this morning he was at 86.
 
I am smiling at Woden's progress. Some cats only need a small amount of insulin support, and clearance from infections, to go off insulin.

But food is important to most diabetic cats' BG levels. And for Woden, making sure he stays infections free also seems important, given his ketone history.

It may take weaning off, he may come back up, but you will have to watch his BG levels closely and be careful about giving any insulin, and probably take him down off that 2U.

When I see a cat going off insulin, I like to recommend a food test. Glucose test at PS, feed, test again 2-3 hours later. If he goes down, and how much he goes down, gives you a good idea how much his pancreas is producing its own insulin.
 
I never shoot below 160 and We have been kinda bouncing between 2U and 1.5U as I have been sick and been messing up on the draw. Hubby is to afraid to do it >.>

I'll keep checking his numbers, going food shopping today so new food for him. If we stay a day without insulin and then need it were going back up the scale from .5U. I never will start at a high dose.

It's just going to be a hard week were packing and getting ready to move on out of this dump :-D.
 
Any move may be stressful for Woden, remember it's HIS dump too ;) Dont be surprised if this temporarily raises his bg's.
Congratulations on the move!
jeanne

edited to correct spelling...geez my spelling has been atro...atro...really awful lately :/
 
For a kitty going off the juice, it is good to feed several smaller meals during the day (and night if possible) to support his pancreas. Just divide whatever you normally feed into meals every few hours.

By the way, GREAT NEWS!
 
allready doing that, he is just gettin goff being very very ill. He allready normaly eats 4 dinners though the day/night

And I know it's going to be stressfull on the whole house but out of a place with black mold into a nice clean house will be better in the long run. Though it will be interesting to see how everyone gets along grandparents thir cat and ours. Got to love moveing in with your work.
 
I am glad the dry food is gone; it may have been a big part of the problem. I think some cats are more sensitive to dry than others; if my Shadoe eats just a small mouthful of dry food, her numbers will hit 400 - I have seen it.

here's hoping you are well on the way to OTJ status!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top