We've made it a week!

Status
Not open for further replies.
We did the 1.5 and as you said, now I can relax.
Like I said before, you folks are all angels.
Thank you SO much.
I'll check in again soon.
Donna
 
I vote for 1.5 units. You've had a tough day and deserve to have a restfull night.

If you get a higher bg in the morning then we can deal with that then.
 
holy frick! Your vet is dangerous!

ok, calming down now... :)

Very glad you are going to 1.5. I would suggest staying there for a bit just in case your cat has been overdosed as the stress hormones this creates can take time to clear.

will watch for your posts tomorrow

Jen
 
Yes Jen, I agree. We discussed hanging out today at 1.5 units too, just to see what happens and to avoid any big dives like yesterday. His bg this morning before food was 374... Which I didn't think was bad since we only gave him 1.5 units last night.

Wanting to give his poor ears a rest after yesterday, I don't want to stick him every two hours but I am thinking it might be helpful to have a +4 or a +6 reading today too.

I know it's early, but any other thoughts out there?

Donna and Asher
 
If you shot the lower dose (1.5) then I think just trying to get a nadir test will be just fine. A +4 won't give you a whole lot of info, but it'll at least tell you if he'd dropping too fast. Give both of you a break! I was told by Nancy & cody to focus my testing after the third cycle on a dose. That's usually when you'll be able to tell if a dose is going to work or not. Spot checks are ALWAYS a good idea, though. But you also need to live life.
 
I think the 1.5 for today is a great idea, especially with that AMPS. If you want to cut back on testing, I'd say at minimum go with a +6, but personally, I'd do a +3 or 4 to see how it's working, then a +6 to check his nadir. You don't really need to give his ears a break, but I understand that testing can be stressful. Mostly it's more stressful for us than it is for them. But keep in mind that with practice, the testing goes smoother. It's not unusual for Sam to purr through his because of all the chin scratches he gets. :smile:
 
Sounds good. Get a few numbers today -especially around nadir. Data, data.....

Why don't you start a new thread for today with your amps number and dose? This one is getting too long.
 
I will do that Sue, thanks for letting me know. I was going to ask today about thread lenghths etc.
You are all so kind and give great info. Thanks for all you do.
I'll be back a little later with new numbers.
Peace,
Donna
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top