Idjit's mom
Very Active Member
He's gorgeous, looks like he's enjoying life right now. He's been a good boy and we loves the little fuzzy knickers too!Just one more photo... I’m so proud of my little guy. <3
He's gorgeous, looks like he's enjoying life right now. He's been a good boy and we loves the little fuzzy knickers too!Just one more photo... I’m so proud of my little guy. <3
Hehe, thanks. Give Idjit another huggle from me.He's gorgeous, looks like he's enjoying life right now. He's been a good boy and we loves the little fuzzy knickers too!
I need a soft velvety center pic fix Jeff, please. It's been awhile and I miss the family pics very much.Love the photos - he is photogenic indeed. And looking very well for a kitteh who just had a week of traumatic driving and vet experiences. Watching bugs outside can be a full time job for most cats.
LD is snuggled into bed with his Mom and the little doglets tonight. A nice regular habit that he has continued for the past month.
Thanks.Love the photos - he is photogenic indeed. And looking very well for a kitteh who just had a week of traumatic driving and vet experiences. Watching bugs outside can be a full time job for most cats.
LD is snuggled into bed with his Mom and the little doglets tonight. A nice regular habit that he has continued for the past month.
So good to hear Rocket is feeling betterHe was snuggly again this morningand he seems alert and happy, as much as any cat on a hot day, hehe. His numbers are still high, so I raised his dose to 9U this morning (we didn't make any adjustments during his treatment week). But overall he seems like he feels better, so that's a good thing. Thank you for asking.
![]()
All the hugs to you (and Cricket!) too. Thank you.Sounds like Rocket handled the SRT like a champ!
Also, he's sooooo pretty!!!!
All the hugs![]()
Do we need an intervention on you using the AT meter?![]()
Do we need an intervention on you using the AT meter?
Did the vet talk about any follow up plan after SRT? It is suggested to keep an eye on the T4 for a year after SRT. I did once a quarter as per CSU suggestion. A small number of kitties become hypothyroid after SRT treatment, it is easily managed with a pill if that happens,
Oh boy on the specialist you saw! That was a “smile and nod” moment for sure.![]()
Ditto that. I worked with the IM specialists here and we even sent blood to MI State several times for a comprehensive thyroid panel to determine whether Tubby had become hypoT. His results were questionable and even the experts didn't agree on the interpretation.It is suggested to keep an eye on the T4 for a year after SRT. I did once a quarter as per CSU suggestion. A small number of kitties become hypothyroid after SRT treatment, it is easily managed with a pill if that happens,
Me too!!! ThanksFeel free to make another appointment with that specialist and flick them on the ear for me too!
I got lucky. Our primary cat-only vet had personal diabetic cats, and experience with a lot of diabetic patient cats. Then an internal-only specialist we consulted with, pre-SRT, immediately recognized that Leo had Acro from his features. The specialist also gave us good advice. So we got lucky with 2 vets in Austin.
I am glad to see those nice blue nadirs for Rocket, after months of struggling to get there. And meters - it seems like most of the FDMB members are using human meters. I used AT for Leo, but got the Freestyle strips from Ebay. The human meters are fine too.
Did you know JanetNJ did a informal study of AT2 with Alphatrak strips vs Insulinx strips? It's on CC's spreadsheet under the Insulinx tab. (CC link here) (Hi Janet!)
You know what is missing from your posts - there are no big issues from Rocket after SRT yet! I hope it stays that way too!![]()
This helps too. I'm making a list of things to follow up on. Thank you.Ditto that. I worked with the IM specialists here and we even sent blood to MI State several times for a comprehensive thyroid panel to determine whether Tubby had become hypoT. His results were questionable and even the experts didn't agree on the interpretation.
I'd also monitor kidney values closely (including a baseline SDMA).
I've been following along quietly, btw. Good luck!
This helps too. I'm making a list of things to follow up on. Thank you.![]()
Yeah the chart is part of my spreadsheet. Here's a a screenshot. I wish screenshot posted clearer. Anyway it's in ccs spreadsheet link under the insulinx tab. The insulinx strips are usually very good... I even use ones that are expired by less then six months and they have worked fine. I get them on eBay. I wait for a good deal. I haven't had to buy any in about 6 months because I still have about 20 50 strip vials. When I get down to 10 I'll start looking again.Me too!!! ThanksAnd I had seen Janet's chart before, but I was looking for it a couple days ago and couldn't find it. Thanks for the link.
![]()
Thanks!Nice numbers!
Acro kitties sure like to keep us on our toes.Delay is good. See if he’s rising or still dropping. This was always the hardest part with Colin and I didn’t have SRT to factor in!
And they are tough cookies for sure!Acro kitties sure like to keep us on our toes.![]()
Ok, I'm really not liking Rocket's spreadsheet last few days. After looking like something good was starting to happen, he's been high and flat-ish since the evening of the 24th. This morning was his 3rd shot at 9.0U - should we increase early, or still hold for 6 cycles before increasing? And at this point, increase to 9.5, or maybe 10?Hopefully in those couple weeks you'll see enough good numbers to get a feel for when Rocket needs extra monitoring or food. If not, you can always be extra cautious about reductions until you can monitor more on weekends.
Ok, so Rocket has been on 11u for 8 cycles now. Yesterday we finally had a breakthrough - he was in blues from the early morning thru the afternoon. Yay! And then... the inevitable bounce. Last night he hit 426 at his PMPS, and is at 378 right now. His AM shot is in 2.5 hrs... do I hold the dose and wait for the bounce to clear? Or increase today? If we hold at 11u and he stays high, how many days til increasing? Still unsure how to handle bounces (obviously). Rocket just loves those high numbers. I’m assuming the acro makes this much more complicated.You are being impatient and increasing after five cycles. Give it six so the depot has time to fill. Rocket will find his good numbers soon enough.![]()
Thank you Wendy. I saw your post right before shot time, so he's now at 12u. Fingers crossed for a good couple of days. Should I post these kinds of questions in a separate post, and not in Rocket's general SRT thread?Mostly ignore the bounces. Just try to avoid the increase on a cycle they are breaking the bounce because there can be extra downward momentum. You are fine to increase today. You have seen what 11 units can do, and it’s better, but not quite enough.
Those blues were lovely, maybe a little more juice will bring down the highs and make the blues last longer. That’s the only way he’ll get used to them and stop bouncing as much. Being acro doesn’t make much difference to bouncing, just can take a higher dose to get to the point where they get used to normal numbers again.
Looking forward to the vet visit report.
You could be the first!Have any of the SRT kitties gone back to an in-and-out insulin like ProZinc once they started responding to treatment?