Wet food

Status
Not open for further replies.

puddersmom

Member Since 2013
I noticed yesterday and today when I fed my little Pudders he is eating around the dry food and just eating the wet food. Smart little ****. Would you say if he is doing that he is ready to go to just wet food? I still have a lot of his dry left. But I am seeing if a friend will buy it so I am not wasting it. Anyone have thoughts or ideas on this?

Thanks-
Niki and Oreo/Pudders
 
Nothing but wet food sounds good to me as long as you are still testing!

Do you still need help setting up the spreadsheet? Let me know and I will ask Marje to set one up for you.
 
I don't think so. I been sick so I been just writing down his numbers. I am hoping to get caught put this weekend after I get my homework done for school. I will let you know if I need any help. So sorry I am behind.

Thanks-
Niki and Oreo/Pudders
 
I posted in your other condo but if you'll PM me, please, I'll be happy to get your SS and profile set up pronto.

BTW....family website we try to watch the use of "profanity" ;-) Thanks!
 
Hi Niki,
Glad to see a post from you! I'm very happy to read that Pudders has decided she likes wet over dry. I wanted to mention that if the dry is prescription food from your vet, most vets will take it back and refund your money. They'll either get credit for it, or use it at their clinic.
We usually tell people to just say their cat won't eat it, and it sounds like that's what Pudders is telling you.

Sorry to hear you've been sick, and don't worry about being behind in your "paperwork". The spreadsheet is a very valuable tool for you and for us, but just do what you can when you can. And keep us updated, ask for help if you need it. That's why we're here ;-)

Carl
 
Ok tonight when I fed him was the first time I did just wet food. And about a hour after he ate he threw everything up. First he was making really weird meowing sounds. Which isn't him. He is not a talker at all. Unless something is wrong. So I started to watch him. And than he threw everything up. After that he was fine. What do you think he is trying to tell me? He does have a little bit of food left in his dish. Should I take it from him and just give it to him in the morning?

Niki and Oreo/Pudders.

PS. Sorry for the swear word. Sometimes I don't think before I type. I hope I didn't offend anyone.
 
One of my cats, Mullet, makes those sounds just before throwing up. Doesn't happen often, but when it does, he lets me know it's coming.

What flavor/brand was tonight's dinner? Do you have another flavor you can try?


Oh, and don't sweat the "swear word". It was obvious to me that you used it as a term of endearment. ;-) Both my cats hear that from my mouth on occasion!
At this point, you've got more things that are causing you to worry than a slip of the tongue. We understand the sense of being overwhelmed with this "new world" you've discovered.

Carl
 
Yeah just a little over whelmed. And throwing up after he eats isn't him either. It is Fancy Fest I believe it was chicken flavor. He had maybe a little more than a half of a can. But left maybe a fourth in his bowl. Should I try a new flavor in the morning and just throw away the rest? Should I try a smaller amount in the morning? Should I do smaller amounts and just feed him more often? Could it have been to much at once? I just don't like cleaning up the throw up. And he always does it on the carpet. Why can't he do it in the kitchen where its easier to clean. haha.

Niki and Oreo/Pudders.
 
puddersmom said:
And he always does it on the carpet. Why can't he do it in the kitchen where its easier to clean. haha

Because he is a cat....it is an unwritten rule of all cats, that they must throw up on either the carpet or the furniture...we only have one small landing that is still has carpet and you guessed it, that is the one place that all the cats choose to throw up on. :lol: :lol:

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
One thing I am noticing tonight with not giving him the dry food. He is more active. Usually after he eats he goes right to sleep. And tonight he hasn't. Hes been up playing and walking around getting into trouble. Kind of nice to see. I will try putting it on a plate tomorrow morning. And maybe give him a little less and just see how he does. He started the pen last Saturday I think. Would this weekend be to soon to do a curve?

Niki and Oreo/Pudders.
 
This weekend would be a great time for a curve if you're able to do that!
 
I thought I would be able too. But I won't. Forgot that I am going to breakfast with some friends. Oreo last night was in the 300's and this morning was 86. Is it normal for him to drop that fast? I called the vet and asked if I should give him his 4 units this morning and she said no. But he should be able to get his units tonight. I not sure about that. Is it normal for him to drop like that? I wish he could talk to me and tell me what is going on. I can tell he is feeling better though. Almost everything on my night stand was on my floor this morning from him trying to wake me up haha. Just hope everything hes doing is normal.

Niki and Oreo/Pudders.
 
86 is a perfect number. It just showed up at an unexpected time. Definitely no shot on that number.

It's time to try to get his spreadsheet uploaded so we can help make sense of the numbers. Can you take Marje up on her offer to help with that?

Has oreo been getting four units each shot lately? Can you list the numbers and times he has had for the past couple of days?
It could be the 4units is too much.

Happy to hear that it sounds like he's feeling more like his old self :-)

Carl
 
Hello.
You could still get a mini curve after you get back from your breakfast.
It's good to get data no matter when you do it.... any time in the cycle is better than none....

Those numbers are what helps you to know when an increase or a decrease is needed.
Marje is great at setting up spreadsheets... she helped set mine up. :-D
 
Hi Niki, (it's me - Jennifer from DCIN )

I would recommend that you take Marje up on her generous offer to put together a spreadsheet. Perhaps you can PM or email your numbers to her along with the times that you took the tests. Often it's easier to use the plus sign and the number of hours after a morning or evening shot to identify when you tested. Since we're all in different time zones, 8 A.M. won't mean the same thing to me in CT as it would to someone in CA.

So, if I'm telling you my cats numbers I'd say at AM PS (morning preshot) Kiki's BG was 250 (just picking random numbers). I would then say at +2 the BG was 200 (or whatever it was). To me this means at 8AM Kiki was 250 and at 10AM she was 200. But everyone else won't have to try to convert times.

I think the 4 units is way too high at this point. Getting the spreadsheet up will help others help you find a good safe dose.

If you would like help with the PM feature let me know.
 
Niki and I made initial contact but still waiting for some info from her to be able to set up her SS. Once I get it, I'll enter any numbers I can find.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top